We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst valet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Florianopolis
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Florianopolis
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    474
    195
    62
    37
See reviews for
227
419
107
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

After reading a book by the founder of http://www.jdvhotels.com/ and hearing what is possible with a hotel, this one is sub-par.

Hotel: The pool has a nice view but such a weird metal frame, it's completely at odds with the beautiful nature it looks out on. The water was way too cold to use, and there was a couple in the hot tub. Judging from breakfast (8 people total) the hotel is mostly empty during the winter. The workout room is cramped to say the least. How about the pull up bar in a room with a ceiling so low that the crack in it where someone hit their head is probably eternally being fixed. Just stupid and shoddy. It's another sign that the hotel was hastily put together. I was looking for the "Bubble Cafe" having some expectations after staying at a competing hotel, but really it was just the lounge bar. The restaurant really set itself apart with a view of a Japanese window well garden. Sorry, I'm being sarcastic. I was underwhelmed, and honestly surprised at the superficiality of the 'quality'. No other amenities really. This is a solid 3 star hotel in the states. But there is the view from my room.

Room. Compared with the US you can find the same furniture in most 3 star hotels. Plus some were well scuffed / used. There were stains on the floor and blankets of the bed. There were several luxurious features such as the closets and lights, but they were hard to use (not labeled) and clearly wired with no logic in mind as to placement / order. The overall room was a bit claustrophobic. A smaller TV stand and moving the fridge would make a lot more sense. And an automated descending television would be ideal so that it doesn't obscure the view. Overall, the room had a better view the the exact same price of The Majestic Palace hotel. However, their room was twice the size and the view wasn't that much better. The view is really the hotel's only redeeming quality. If it weren't for the that, this hotel is no different than any of it's class. It was a beautiful sunset with rolling clouds over the hills. I was lucky really, otherwise I'd have a different feel completely. Internet was good, which is saying a lot.

Staff: I have nothing against the staff. No one did anything wrong. They were faster than the competing Palace hotel down the street. But they didn't say anything to me besides what was necessary so warmth is furthest from the truth. Of course they weren't cold. Indifferent is the feeling I'd got. Not in an apathetic way, just that they've never been trained. At Joie de Vive I guess they train the staff to do research on the person, ask questions, find ways to remember their name and if it all possible try to surprise them. I got the feeling people just try not to be in the way, which I also appreciated relative to lax nature of the culture.

Food:
The club sandwich was pretty good. Much better than the Palace's. The salad was not a salad, but literally lettuce. The cappuccino was alright and the mini bar was stocked with the same as the Palace. The breakfast was sub-par. It felt like a continental breakfast at a 3 star hotel and I immediately regretted purchasing it. I didn't really enjoy anything I ate except bread, butter and the eggs. Everything is self serve (including drinks) and the staff just stands around and almost awkwardly stares at you to wait to take your plate. Basically nothing is cooked. The meal is whatever you prepare. How about some dishes with a recipe?

Room Tip: Check the weather. If you are going to have good weather, get a front facing room. If not, stay at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisshawyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo s, Gerente geral at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour.Obrigado por seu comentário sobre o Sofitel Florianópolis. Ficamos satisfeitos com seu feedback em relação à nosso atendimento. Tenha certeza de que compartilharemos sua opinião com nossos colaboradores. Lamentamos que sua estadia não tenha se passado conforme suas expectativas.Por isto permita-me apresentar-lhe nossas desculpas. No aguardo de recebê-los novamente num futuro próximo.
Cordialmente,
Danilo Scheibler, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was really looking forward to spending 3 nights in a 5 star Non-Starwood property. The room we got was very expensive and quite small, bed spread was stained (somehow I dont like to be reminded that others have been in the room before, I know this sounds silly, but when I see bed stains, its a reminder of this). The small chair in the corner was also copmpleteley stained.

The bathroom was a good size and the water pressure also was adequate. The bed was also quite comfortable.

The problem is with their billing system. We sign these 2 copy couchers, but without knowing the $ value. When you check out...surprise. I was looking for ice on my floor and was not able to, so I called and they informed me that there is no ice machine, that they will bring some up for me. Once at the door, the gentlemen asked me to sign the voucher to attest that I received the ice.
Upon checking out, I had a nice 10$ on my bill. For ice? i asked the clerk to remove it and he said he had no authority to do this. How can they have 1 person attending the reception for checkout and he has no authority but to check you out as it is. I had no choice but to pay the bill. This was a frustrating experience.

There is also no complimentary water in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo s, Gerente geral at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Bonjour,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis.
We hope we will have the opportunity to satisfy you more on a next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis.
Kind Regards
Danilo Scheibler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Would stay here again. Lovely breakfast, very pleasant rooms. A bit pricey but that seems to be a feature of all the hotel choices I looked at in Florianopolis. Staff were good - helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo s, Gerente geral at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Bonjour.
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about your stay with us. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis.
Kind Regards,
Danilo Scheibler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Being an Accor Platinum Le Club Member I actually would have expected more.....i had actually to book a more expensive room just in order to be eligible for a suite upgrade....never ever heard of this...not in beverly hills,not in bangkok not even in sydney....but in overpriiced absurdous brazil of course. No executive lounge ,just a bad welcome cocktail, smallllllll rooms, yes,the suite was small and smelt of cold smoke. So i changed and it did not help. This is at its best an adagio hotel,never ever a sofitel. 200 us is an assault. 2 nd and very last time in this hotel.
Nice seaviews,windows were soundproofed,floors were scratched. Does it cost so much to polish them? Not as big of a rip off as rio de janeiro but still a rip off.
By the way the girl at the reception was very helpful and the bellboy showed initiative (never seen in brazil,lol)
Resuming....nice views,centrally loated on a 7 lane motorway slash seafront promenade
Too expensive..no need to come back ever
Forgeddaboudidddd

Room Tip: Get a suite and oceanview......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo s, Gerente geral at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Bonjour,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis.
We were truly pleased to welcome you and hope we will have the opportunity to satisfy you more on a next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis.
Kind Regards,
Danilo Scheibler,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I joined an event here and it was very good since the nice bedroom unt the restaurant and all support from hotel responsables.
Just one point: Florianopolis suffer from lack of taxis. Take care when you go out (hotel finds to you) because to come back maybe will not be easy to find another.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo s, Gerente geral at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Bonjour,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis.
We were truly pleased to welcome you and hope we will have the opportunity to satisfy you more on a next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis.
Kind Regards, Danilo Scheibler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
#10 of 96 in Florianopolis
771 reviews
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 96 in Florianopolis
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Faial Prime Suites
Faial Prime Suites
#9 of 96 in Florianopolis
452 reviews
City Center
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
#19 of 96 in Florianopolis
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Florianopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Florianopolis

Property: Novotel Florianopolis
Address: Avenida Jorn. Rubens de Arruda Ramos 2034, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88015-701, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Florianopolis)
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florianopolis
#3 Spa Hotel in Florianopolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florianopolis
#7 Family Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Florianopolis 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Florianopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Florianopolis Hotel Florianopolis
Florianopolis Sofitel
Novotel Florianopolis Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing