We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No it's not a European Sofitel but not bad for Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Florianopolis
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Florianopolis
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Indeed this is not a 5 star Sofitel in other parts of the world but for an area like Florianopolis it is not bad. If you are looking for a beach resort this is not it, it is a classic apt type hotel. There are some nice restaurants within walking distance, the Mexican place next door was entertaining and the food was pretty good! The b'fast buffet could be better and the carpet needs to be replaced

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeke7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

We are pleased to know your feedback over your experience. Its based on your rewies that we work hard to reach the excelence in our services.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We do know a lot sofitel hotels around the world but this one is not the hotel we expected.
There were dark brown chocolate stains on the carpet. Dust everywhere.
we had breakfast and wanted to drink black tea. there was none at the tea desk.
When we asked filing it up we were told the black tea is out of stock.
When I asked for cafe latte we were told that this will be charged extra.
No fresh fried egg corner no fresh juices. We are talking about a 5 star hotel.
When we complained about the breakfast quality
the receptionist explained us that the breakfast is separately offered so cheap
that they cannot offer the normal quality. How can we know before when we
booked the room together with the magnificent breakfast (that is how sofitel named
the breakfast ).
Next thing was that time changed during our stay in Florianopolis.
We came down for breakfast much too early and looked a bit
confused asking the receptionist why the buffet is not open.
The answer: everybody knows that the time changed tonight it was on tv and in every newspaper. Thank you so much for this answer. As foreigners we were not
able to watch brasilian tv or read brasilian newspapers. just a little note
in the room or at the reception would help a lot.
All in all we would say that this hotel not at all matches the criterias of a sofitel.
They should change there name into a premium mercure hotel
so everybody kmows exactly what he has to expect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dompetBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Being Floripa, you aren't going to find a lot of 5 star luxury or American brand hotels. This and the Magestic are the two "nicest" American style/quality/luxury hotels in Floripa. I checked out both and in the end chose Sofitel.

I'm glad I did. I had friends at Magestic, and while it is larger and it's lobby grander, it's rooms are of the Brazil basic decor and bare necessity variety unless you are in one of the top suites.

In contrast, the Sofitel is smaller, but the rooms are decorated beautifully and contemporary and modern, very clean, and seem to have been recently re-done, although the hallways are musty and have dirty carpets, the rooms are not this way.

I would stay here again, and recommend it if you're looking for a hotel that gives you the room quality and service of an American hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettHenrichsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Close to downtown and probably better for business trips. The staff, room and breakfast according to expectations. Really nice pool (amazing view).
Too far from the beaches so if you are on vacations, better stay around your favorite beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's been nearly 5 months from my latest review/stay at this hotel and the room was in better shape at this time. The Sofitel ranks better in my present review for the sole fact that our room (although not perfect), was a better. The hotel smells great (lemon I believe) and the location is nice -- far from the beach, but close to good restaurants, cafes and the mall. The pool in the rooftop is small, but the view pays off! The hotel shall start coaching its employees for a little more kindness towards the guests! We can't say they are rude, but they are far from being kind and polite. All and all, still think that the Sofitel is the best option for those who want to stay downtown and not in the beaches.

Room Tip: The front rooms (although more expensive) are very nice. However, at this time we stayed in a side v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitsumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Something terrible happened here. At lunch, I ordered a file with fried egg and received a file with boiled potatoes. The wrong plate arrived after more than 20 minutes. When I complanied, They provided the exchange. The egg was burnt and the meat was dry and hard as a shoe sole. After the unforgettable experience in the restaurant, I went up to the apartment. What I find there? A cleaning cloth on the TV table. Never seen before. Took a picture.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eoinegue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

We are pleased to know your feedback over your experience. It based on your rewies that we work hard to reach the excelence in our services.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, good food, very nice pool and sauna that looks over the shoreline.
It just misses 5 stars from me because the towels were a bit tired, and the pool area closes at 10:30.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ShaneH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
#10 of 97 in Florianopolis
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 97 in Florianopolis
1,227 reviews
City Center
Faial Prime Suites
Faial Prime Suites
#11 of 97 in Florianopolis
480 reviews
City Center
Hotel ibis Florianopolis
Hotel ibis Florianopolis
#19 of 97 in Florianopolis
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Florianopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Florianopolis

Address: Avenida Jorn. Rubens de Arruda Ramos 2034, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88015-701, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Florianopolis)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florianopolis
#3 Spa Hotel in Florianopolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florianopolis
#7 Family Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range: $74 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Florianopolis 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Novotel Florianopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Florianopolis Hotel Florianopolis
Florianopolis Sofitel
Novotel Florianopolis Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing