We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff extremely dedicated !”
Review of Pousada da Vigia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada da Vigia
Ranked #50 of 256 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Staff extremely dedicated !”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pousada da Vigia was a great stay in Floripa. The pousada is very well located, in the north edge of the island, the room is nice, the balcony view to the Lagoinha beach is amazing.
The staff was amazing, always trying to make you comfortable and also giving local advices.
Lagoinha is a calm beach and not so crowded, with nice restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view to the Lagoinha beach are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad-CWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    26
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The Pousada da Vigia is a must to anyone traveling down to Floripa. What a place! Everything was perfect, to the last detail.
The staff really make you feel at home, the food is superb and you really get the best bang for your back. Need a car? Worry not, the manager (who is awesome btw) will talk straight with the rental guys and bring you one. Wanna do some sightseeing? They now the island front to back and have maps on hand. Whatever you want, this guys can provide, on the cheap.
The breakfast is really something; I've gone from Thailand to NY and never had one so good, partly because the food was awesome and instantly made to order, and also because the sights from the restaurant are simply out of this world.

Don't think twice, this is the place where you wanna stay. You'll be glad you trusted me!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galtrés
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed 05 nights in this beautifull place, the breakfast was full of fruits and delicious things to eat, the service was very good with kind people ready to serve us.
The place is an old mansion, knowed as the governor house, with charming areas, nice rooms and an incredible view of the Lagoinha beach. We really enjoy it and everybody are expecting to return the next vacation time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We had a fantastic 4-night stay at the pousada, it's a very special place. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Our room was great (you get to pick your room when you book and we chose #5 and highly recommend it - quite possibly the most comfortable bed ever, and on the end of the building so it's private, with a gorgeous sea view), small but everything you needed with very nice linens. It was impossible not to relax at the pousada, with the beautiful views and sounds of the waves crashing. Drawbacks would be that it is a bit far from towns/amenities/the airport (about a R$100 cab ride from the airport). Frankly, if you are just looking to relax though, there is no reason to leave. The restaurant on site is quite good and VERY reasonable. Massages are available on-site and they even have a BBQ area in case you want to make dinner for yourself. The beach is just beautiful and the water is very calm and easy to swim in, great for families. Wireless internet throughout the property.

An interesting note - pretty much all of the staff speaks a bit of English (some are fluent) but they don't let on that they do, if you speak Portuguese with them.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The pousada da vigia is located on the northern tip of the island of Florianopolis. It is the old house of a state governor. It has since been completely revamped for the hotel.

The settings is amongst in Floripa and the service is superb. My advice would be to try to stay in one of the "luxury suites" which are a step above in comfort for a reasonably higher price. Luxury suites have private roof top, sauna, tv room.

Overall its a great place for couples. Strongly recommended.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gregghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

It's a beautiful house, very nice common space, but the rooms are really bad.

My wife and I are seasoned travelers, we don't mind simple, as long as it is charming. We selected this hotel looking at its website. Very deceiving !! The common areas and the view are really nice, but the rooms look like they belong to a totally different hotel. Really simple, small, no place to put your luggage, noisy a/c, bad linen, bad bathroom. Overall pretty bad.

The location is very good if you want to hang out by the hotel and attend to the local beach. Which is nice, family oriented.

The beach is within very easy access from from the hotel.

The pool area of the hotel is small but charming. It overlooks the ocean.

Breakfast was good. Not great.

Service was good.

Overall we enjoyed our stay there, but expected much more from the "charming" pousada portrayed in their website and also due to belonging to the "Roteiro do Charme" a hotel family like that sells itself as "charming".

  • Liked — nice common areas
  • Disliked — bad, small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the Pousada da Vigia during our trip to Florianopolis. The staff and service were superb. We stayed in room #8, a small but lovely room with a view of the beach. The room had a/c and a ceiling fan.
When we got settled into the room, to our delight, a complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered.
The pousada has a common area with large screen TV and lots of movies, a small pool, a sundeck with jacuzzi, and a wonderful staff. While we were sitting out on the deck, someone came by to ask if there was anything we wanted. We were brought juice and later, towels for our dip in the jacuzzi.
The beach itself (Lagoinha), accessible from the pousada, is a small, calm lagoon beach - great for children. There are a couple of restaurants right on the beach.
Breakfast (included) was very good. They offered cakes, breads, cereal, yogurt, juice, and delicious eggs, cooked to order. In the evening, the breakfast terrace is turned into a bistro, and dinner is served. We ate in one night and had a good meal. Again, service (Gilberto, our waiter) was fantastic .
When we were unable to extend our stay because they were fully booked, the staff (Ronaldo) helped us find a place by calling around to other pousadas on the island. He even called the rental car agency to extend our rental for us without a second thought.
I would wholeheartedly recommend the Pousada da Vigia, especially for the excellent service.

  • Liked — attentive service
  • Disliked — room was small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsktsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
3.1 mi away
Costa Norte Ingleses Hotel
1.0 mi away
Costa Norte Ponta Das Canas Hotel Florianopolis
5.3 mi away
Pousada dos Sonhos
Pousada dos Sonhos
#1 of 2 in Jurere
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Pousada dos Artistas
Pousada dos Artistas
#3 of 97 in Florianopolis
324 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Quinta das Videiras
Hotel Boutique Quinta das Videir...
#1 of 3 in Lagoa da Conceicao
215 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pousada Oceanomare
Pousada Oceanomare
#40 of 97 in Florianopolis
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada da Vigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada da Vigia

Property: Pousada da Vigia
Address: Rua Conego Walmor Castro 291 | Lagoinha, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88056-770, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada da Vigia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada da Vigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Vigia Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing