We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada Vila Tamarindo
Ranked #5 of 262 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Tamarindo is a nice place to stay in Florianopolis. Many people recommended staying towards the North of the island, but I disagree! Our location in Campeche beach was the best, because it was a short trip to either end (north or south) of the island, close to the airport, and near to Downtown. With that said, you HAVE to rent a car. The trip would be impossible with a car, as everything is like 20 minutes away. The pousada is clean, the rooms are nice, and the grounds are safe. The staff as helpful and obliging. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

The south of Florianopolis used to be less developed, but unfortunately around this pousada they are building quite a few apartment blocks, so the ocean view will soon be gone. The pousada itself is nice with a very nice garden. There is a bus stop in front of the pousada, a supermarket nearby and a 5 minute walk to the lonely beach. For dining you have to go by car or bus, there is not much around. Some of the staff speak English, all are very helpful and friendly. They even made us breakfast early because we had to catch an early plane.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmenom, Owner at Pousada Vila Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Hi ! Nice that you like Pousada Vila Tamarindo eco Lodge. Don´t worry about the ocean view. I know the owner of the green land that souround the pousada. He will not construct anything for at least the next couple of years. So you can come again and enjoy the ocean view. Thanks for the visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

it was the perfect place for our vacation. just as we imagined. very freindly staff, delicious breakfast, very comfortable apartments, beautiful garden and close enough to walk to the beach. For us important: far away from all the crowds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaviomarau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We arrived to the middle of a highway, far from any services, to a hotel being overshadowed by the constant sound of construction. It may have been bearable if there were somewhere to go for reprieve, but you had to take a car to even get the the beach.

The AC in the rooms did not work, and the fans hardly did an adequate job. I would stay far away from this resort, and stick to something a little more honest and civilized.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zeke4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmenom, Owner at Pousada Vila Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Undoubtedly, each part has its own viewpoint which we cannot disaccord. I entirely agree that the construction next to the inn, which is a set of deluxe residential buildings, may have caused some nuisance. Anyway, it has already been finished. Regarding the necessity of using a car to go to the beach, which is found within 10 minutes walking in the nature with no roads to cross, what can I say? The inn is spotted in a privileged location in the island, basically in the middle of it which means a strategic position for such a big island as Florianopolis. We are situated at Avenida Campeche, the main avenue in Campeche beach that borders the ocean. There is a bus stop right in front of the inn and we are 10 minutes by car far from the best bars and restaurants of the island. The service infrastructure next to the inn is still precarious but there is a supermarket, a pharmacy and a snack bar just few steps from here. In reference to the air conditioning that did not work and the ceiling fans that did not provide adequate ventilation, I have nothing to say except that this comment does not correspond to the inn features. This comment is also very strange, because the rooms which offer A/C do not offer fans and vice versa. The flats have always been refurbished and their air-conditionings are the ‘split’ type; they are very silent and we have never had one defective device as well as the ceiling fans which I do guarantee that they do a good job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed at this pousdaa in March for a 3 days. I was considering renting an apartment but decided to go against it, since all apartments I found looked either in bad condition or were located all the way in the busy north.
I loved the location, since it's close to the airport (about a 15min ride) and right next to campeche beach (walking distance) which is a large and quiet beach which is great for surfing. It also gives you fast access to the south side of the island which is the more quieter (and in my opinion prettier) side of the island (unless you want to go and party all night in which case the north is more suited).
The staff is phenomenal and will do whatever they can to help you. Chica and Alexandre are both great - look out for them if you need any favors or if you have any requests or questions. The breakfast was yummy and felt very "home made".
Overall a nice and quiet destination if you need to get a few days rest.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johanpfirsching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The good news: friendly staff, lovely garden, short walk to the beach, quiet surroundings
The bad news: WAY overpriced during high season, a real rip off since they only told us about the extra price after we had confirmed and the rest of the island was full!
Extra charges for every little thing, massive condo complex going up about 2 feed from the rooms makes the idea that it is eco-friendly a joke and it will soon no longer be quiet! Staff did not know much about other options for activities on the island. No phone in room or simple items like a glass to drink from. Room clean but very basic, which would have been fine if the price had matched.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NDCGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmenom, Owner at Pousada Vila Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Let´s start with the bad news:
We are an Eco Lodge - It means that the pousada has as it basis, the sustainability concept for it’s activities development.
To understand the real meaning of the place you want to stay, before you choose it, is very important.
On this context, we allow those who stay here to have the opportunity to live by this concept, stimulating, in a rational way. So, that´s why extra charges are considered for things that are not essential.It´s up to you to go or not for it.
We remember you, that we are a CARBON FREE hotel and all this litlle extra things produces CO2.
On high season Florianopolis can be expensive, as you can see in this review, there were no more places to stay, every thing full. I just do not agree when it´s told in the rewiew "a real rip off since they only told us about the extra price after we had confirmed" - Confirmation can only be done AFTER payment; so I believe in a misunderstood on this commentary.
About phone in the room - is part of our sustainability concept
About glass in the room - we probably forgot; why did you not ask it for ?
Constructions around: That´s the Island right now - the world have discovered it.
Room very basic – That´s garden suite. Go for Ocean or Master Suites for more sophisticate rooms.
I suggest to see carefully our web site before you choose us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The staff at Tamarindo are awesome. Alex and Alexandre are very nice and accomodating and speak english. The location is great if you like tranquility. It is within walking distance to Compeche Beach which is one of the most tranquil beaches on the island. It is also close to the Rio Tavares bus terminal which is the terminal you need to go to get to all of the eastern island beaches. If you go make SURE you get an upstairs room. They are much better, have air conditioning and a hammock on the balcony and are very nice. I don't recommend the garden suites. They are not worth the money at all. If you go also make sure you ask if there is any construction going on ANYWHERE near the building. While it is not the staff's fault that major construction was going on right next door to the Pousada, it was quite annoying waking up with band saws and jack hammers every morning. Aside from the construction, it is a great place to stay with a staff that will do anything to make you more comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boosh_Osorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Sao Sebastiao da Praia Hotel
Sao Sebastiao da Praia Hotel
#44 of 97 in Florianopolis
312 reviews
17.6 mi away
Costa Norte Ingleses Hotel
16.2 mi away
Pousada dos Sonhos
Pousada dos Sonhos
#1 of 2 in Jurere
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Pousada Oceanomare
Pousada Oceanomare
#41 of 97 in Florianopolis
342 reviews
15.7 mi away
Pousada dos Artistas
Pousada dos Artistas
#3 of 97 in Florianopolis
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pousada Ilha Faceira
Pousada Ilha Faceira
#1 of 6 in Campeche
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Vila Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vila Tamarindo

Address: Avenida Campeche 1836 | Praia do Campeche, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88063-300, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range: $73 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Vila Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered by Guia 4 Rodas 2010 (the most important Brazilian travel guide) as one of the 5 best options for accommodation in a natural setting in Florianópolis.It is located on Campeche Beach, which is 10 minutes from Lagoa da Conceição, the Airport and the Center.It was considered by Revista Gol in 2009 as one of the 14 best environmentally friendly lodges in Brazil, and received the Carbon Free seal of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Vila Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Vila Tamarindo Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing