We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,262)
Filter reviews
4,262 results
Traveler rating
2,156
1,293
525
182
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,156
1,293
525
182
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family vacation main buffet nice beach conference area exclusive beach kids activities tapioca perfect place to be buenos aires pool bar many options peak season ocean view pools vitoria apartment pescador
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 4,262 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2016

One of the worst stays we have ever experienced. The hotel charges luxury hotel prices and falls extremely short of delivering.

To give a bit of background, we are a well-travelled family (with one child, 2.5 years old) who flew in from London, England, to spend a few days on the beach. We didn’t want to go to the North East given the Zika virus situation, so opted for Florianopolis instead. This particular hotel is well-known to Brazilians (probably due to the fact that it’s very large and been around 25 years), so when we planned our trip to Florianopolis, various people recommended it.

We arrived at 8pm, and were given a room in the ‘Hotel International’ (the more upscale rooms of the hotel). The design of this building is strange in the sense that there are various entrances from the car park directly into the lifts (or if you are closer to the main entrance you enter the lift from a dark alley after passing staff entrances – not really how you expect to get to your room). The lift of our particular entrance was out of order, so we had to climb two flights of stairs climbing over puddles and going past cleaning products/ dripping mops, etc. (it looked like there had been a leak that broke the lift). Finally in the room, they had not made up the bed for our son, and the room smelled badly (we couldn’t decipher the smell – sewage? They must have pipe issues as you are not allowed to put paper in the toilets). We called to complain and they said they would send someone to bring keys for a new room (the lobby is a drive uphill away). After two additional phone calls and 25minutes later (this is with a hungry and tired toddler, approaching 9pm) someone came, we had to walk back down and take a different lift to our new room. This second room was ok, and I don’t understand why they didn’t put us there in the first place (even the bed for our son was made).

The hotel is all-inclusive, and prides itself in having plenty of restaurants to choose from. However, as the hotel was not full while we were there (just after Easter), there were only one or two restaurant options each day. This was not communicated to us beforehand, and hugely impacted our stay.

For breakfast we had to walk +10 minutes (again with a toddler) to the other side of the resort to the buffet-style restaurant. Unfortunately the food was extremely unappetising, the bread was stale, the coffee was a disgusting broth, there was no ‘hot food station’ (omelettes, etc.) which you would expect for a hotel this size, the fruit (& fruit juice selection) was extremely limited… I could go on.

For dinner we had the option of booking a table in one of the themed restaurants (i.e. Italian, Japanese, meats, etc.) or go to the buffet restaurant (canteen food and ambiance).
The problem with the themed restaurants was that it was a set menu with no choice at all, so you were forced to eat whatever was on the menu. Which is fine for one night, but felt very restrictive if you don’t like something (or are vegetarian). And to top it off the food was just average (and in small portions).

We booked for four nights, and ended up leaving after three. They wouldn’t even refund us the extra night, and said we should spend it in the hotel (given this is an all-inclusive hotel, it’s a bit difficult to spend this amount anywhere other than the boutique!).

All in all, if this had been one of those package holidays purchased at a discount, it would have been perfectly fine. Instead, we were charged premium luxury prices and left the hotel hungry.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sthann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSTAORESORT, Customer Service at Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Hello!
We thank you for your review and for your time to detail your views on our services.
We’ll go on with our work for a continuous improvement, aiming at always providing a positive experience to all our guests.

Best regards,
Team Costão do Santinho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

The hotel has a really big structure and the staff is amazing. There is food and drinks available in a lot of places there and if you prefer to stay at the beach, is very easy. The beach in front the hotel is amazing. Very clean and the hotel provides all structure for guests. It's very nice to go with families. The ambience is very nice.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSTAORESORT, Customer Service at Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Hi Ana!
Thank you for your comments and for sharing with us your experience.
It's good to hear you enjoyed our beach, our structure and our cuisine. It’ll be a great pleasure to welcome you and your family again.

Best regards,
Team Costão do Santinho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

I was absolutely shocked with the service provided by the hotel, unprepared waiters and terrible food. Hotel rooms smelled mold and I hand to it change three times - I had never had such poor experience before, in a hotel supposed to be at international level. I was planning to come back with my family, which will never happen!!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Guilhermedacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSTAORESORT, Customer Service at Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Hello Guilherme!
Thank you for your comments and for the important information you brought us.
They’ll make us always offer the best services to all our guests.

Best regards,
Team Costão do Santinho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Fancy a quiet relaxing weekend in the middle of a busy bus station? This is the place. A really lovely beach and natural setting and generally friendly staff, but nothing can make up for the fact that the place, when full, is clearly oversubscribed. We spent most of the weekend avoiding noise and queues. Most of the problem lies with the people - the kind of locust tourists that frequents such places, and thinks they're the only people there (or perhaps, the planet).

Date of stay: March 2016
2  Thank iainwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSTAORESORT, Customer Service at Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Hello, thank you for your time and your information about our services.
They’ll help us to always provide great experiences to all our guests.

Best regards,
Team Costão do Santinho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Before arriving, we weren't very impressed. While the resort advertises transportation from the airport, what they actually do is give you the phone number of a company that can take you - false advertising. As the trip was for my mother-in-law's birthday, we arranged to have a cake delivered to the resort and asked that they could arrange for two (number) balloons that we had bought be inflated and left in in the room. After several messages back and forth, including being given the incorrect e-mail address, it transpired that they could not fill the balloons and would give the names of two people that could receive the cake. Given the cost of the resort, they are not very flexible.

When we arrived (3:10pm) the room was not ready, as they had a large checkout (not exactly our problem that they did not plan sufficient staff as surely they new how many people would be checking out?) The room was still not available by 6pm, so we were given a different room and allowed a late checkout at 3pm to compensate.

The resort itself was nice with easy access to the beach, a good selection of pools and restaurants. Other activities available were gym, football, golf and hiking (as far as I could tell.) A spa menu was available, but we were told we had to phone for prices (which I would have expected to be part of "all-inclusive"). Also, according to the room card, in-room wifi was available for R$20 per day, though I couldn't even connect to it.

The fine dining restaurants are reservation only and two nights gets you one reservation. We ate at the Japanese restaurant which served excellent food in a peaceful atmosphere. Meals in the main restaurant were also good, but considerably noisy being one of few dining options that did not need a reservation.

The main pool area had loud music playing most of the day and night, which didn't make for a very relaxing environment, though the pool by the international hotel was much quieter and more relaxing. More consideration could be given to the noise at night though, especially as the welcome card requested that noise be kept to a minimum after 11pm (my main purpose of the trip was to enjoy the beach during the day rather than stay up late partying.)

After the initial problems with check in (which was handled well in the end) we enjoyed our stay on the whole, but I expected a lot more for the price

Room tip: apartments are either near to the facilities, but noisy, or further away and quieter - you need to decide which is your priority!
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sussex_sometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSTAORESORT, Customer Service at Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Hello!
Thanks for your review about our resort.
We are pleased you enjoyed our cuisine and our leisure activities. We apologize for the incorrect information about the transfer service: It’s carried out by a partner tour company, a safe and reliable option for our guests. We thank you for your stay with us and your collaboration.

Best regards,
Team Costão do Santinho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews