We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in downtown Flori”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Florianopolis Centro
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Florianopolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in downtown Flori”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good place to stay. Close to lots of bars, clubs, and restaurants downtown Flori. There is plenty to do in this area, markets, shopping, plenty to eat and places to party, you will need to take a cab to any beaches though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    391
    198
    65
    35
See reviews for
299
173
64
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights on a business trip in June 2012. First time in Florianopolis but the location seemed great.

The front desk stood out for the friendly and helpful way that they handled every request and query. Breakfast on the top floor provided a good choice of Brasilian fruits etc. but the highlight was the view over the rooftops to coastline, bridges and mainland.

The room layout was really well designed for a working trip, with a proper desk with good lighting, internet and power supply.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeBee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall the hotel is a good value for your money. The daily breakfast buffet is very good – you can choose an enormous variety of fresh fruits and hot dishes. The hotel is very clean, and that reflects in the rooms – comfy, equipped with plasma TVs, microwaves etc. The gym is poorly equipped, but enough for 01 or 02 days of training. Important: Mercure Convention is dedicated to the business traveller, and located in mid-island - not on a beach and 15 minutes away by car to the nearest one. But that in Florianopolis is not really a big problem if you want to vary the beaches – Mercure makes an ideal base for exploring the island and coast’s beaches – from Camboriu to Praia do Rosas. And do not forget – once in Florianopolis, wherever you host, it is worth renting a car. The distances are large and the taxis scarce.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The rooms are big, there is a kitchen, and a separate living room, so it is interesting in case you have young children, they can stay in this area (there is a sofa bed).
I didn't like the furniture, and the bathroom is a little old. They also need to improve the lobby. The breakfast is very good. The hotel is far from the beaches.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Firstly the check in and check out service was terrible!!!
When I checked in the girl from the Ibis hotel was at the front desk as all Mecure staff were out. She failed to acknowledge my online booking via the Accor website and did not know how to use the system at all.
Furthermore she gave us a back room. Overlooking a noisy construction site - which I complained and got moved to a front room after threatening to leave the hotel. Until then she said she had no rooms available.
We had 3 lights broken in our room which I reported 3 times. One light got fixed for a day and then the fuse blew again.
The breakfast system was confusing for guests and even more confusing for staff! I booked and added in the breakfast option on the Accor website but everyone acknowledged we had it in our reservation and there should not be a problem on check out. Boy were they wrong.
Check out again was chaos - and again the reservation system gave us a bill that neither the staff could explain or we could understand. Having room service only twice and used the front Internet once they wNted to charge us 1800. After 30 minutes waiting I got inpatient and asked to speak to the manager, only at that stage the nervous front desk clerk finalised our bill to match only the services we used! The paperwork printout still read 570 for our 70 service so we never received a receipt for our checkout.
The Internet connection w slow and kept throwing is off, so we had to once use the business centre pc and other times log onto nearby neighbours wifi
The overall experience was a faulty towers experience and very shoddy service.
WHile we were using the business centre PC we witnessed other guests with similar check in problems and I can assure you we were not alone reporting this bad service. An Australian guest even called his travel agent from the front desk to find another hotel as he was given the wrong room type

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100CountryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florianopolis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
#19 of 97 in Florianopolis
2,140 reviews
Mercure Florianopolis Convention
#15 of 97 in Florianopolis
1,174 reviews
City Center
Faial Prime Suites
Faial Prime Suites
#9 of 97 in Florianopolis
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
#10 of 97 in Florianopolis
783 reviews
City Center
Novotel Florianopolis
Novotel Florianopolis
#13 of 97 in Florianopolis
1,194 reviews
City Center
Castelmar Hotel
Castelmar Hotel
#40 of 97 in Florianopolis
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Florianopolis Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Florianopolis Centro

Property: Mercure Florianopolis Centro
Address: Rua Felipe Schmidt 1102 | Centro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88010-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florianopolis
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Florianopolis Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Florianópolis Centro features 88 apartments and is located near the international airport, the financial district and the Hercilio Luz Bridge. It offers easy access to Florianópolis beaches, apartments with city views, parking, swimming pool,restaurant and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Florianopolis Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Florianopolis Centro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing