We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in Brazil so far”
Review of Forneria Catarina

Forneria Catarina
Ranked #22 of 4,130 Restaurants in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Center
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Brazil so far”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've been very disappointed with pizza in Brazil because, for my tastes, it has too much of a cracker-tasting crust, no sauce, and way too much cheese. Forneria Catarina claims to make authentic pizzas, and it's definitely much closer. Still not enough sauce and a bit too much cheese, but the crust is outstanding and made in a wood-fired oven. It's also got a nice atmosphere and attentive service. The prices are a bit high for what it is, but if you love pizza and have been disappointed before on your trip, it's worth every penny!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bnnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    189
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Florianópolis!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Such a great place, and cozy atmosphere. Service is great, and the pizza is definitely one of the best i ever tried. A+++

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC, USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service, pizza and atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My fiancee and I went there last night and from the moment we arrived we were amazed with the great service, the place is amazing, and the food spectacular!!
If we came back again to this beautiful island for sure we will came back to Forneria Catarina!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great service and delicious food”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a great option for pizza in Jurere Internacional, with a very beautiful and nice atmosphere, great service and delicious food!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Huge pizzas full of flavour”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I loved this pizza restaurant. The room itself is contemporary and very comfortable, especially as we witnessed a torrential downpour minutes after being seated.

The pizzas themselves were delicious and very large. It is possible to order half/half, so it is possible to try some of the different combinations. We tried the Portuguesa and the Rústica and I loved both.

The only criticism comes from the poor service in getting the bill, though I had such an enjoyable meal I will forgive them.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forneria Catarina also viewed

 

Been to Forneria Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing