We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A good place to stay close to the main bus station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valerim Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Valerim Plaza
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Florianopolis
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good place to stay close to the main bus station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is neat and clean with a friendly and helpful staff. The April rate was reasonable in an otherwise expensive town. It's within an easy walk of the main bus station and tha market and 15 minutes from the Beira Mar boulevard. On the other hand, if you're in Floripá for the beaches, you may want to stay closer to them. If you rent a car, the beaches ar easily reachable, but beware of the beastly return traffic in the early evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Memo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    187
    81
    16
    10
See reviews for
67
81
18
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Centrally located, nice breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Beds need some improvent. Air conditioning a bit noisy. Walking distance from the bus depot and the municipal market. One of the elevators broke down while I was there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanBsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

despite being quite pleased by how it looked on first arriving, this turned out to be a fairly standard business type hotel. To be fair,the breakfast was fantastic, but that's about all. The guy who checked us in was curt, he failed to activate the Wi-Fi connection for us, and the next day when I reported to him that there were tiny ant like creatures crawling around the room and bathroom that had clearly bitten me, he just shrugged his shouldered and said 'allergy'! The price was pretty good, as was the location, so I'm sure people will carry on choosing it - just don't expect too much if thou do. It's okay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHHwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the bed was large. The buffet breakfast was extensive, including fresh fruit, eggs and cake. Compared with other locations on our travels the hotel was expensive, but we were pleased with the comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of the long-distance bus station with your luggage and a short walk to the Mercado Central and the local bus station. We were surprised there were no bars or restaurants near the hotel, but found some within 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

i stayed in this hotel only one night (fortunately!) for 136 real.
rooms are freezing: i asked if i could have a warmer room, and they had no heating!i had to sleep with the sweater on.
Water in the room was cold, staff not kind and helpful at all, rooms are old fashioned and blankets have stains.
i found in brazil much nicer places for less than 136 real! I wouldn't suggest it to anybody.
Only breakfast and location (near the omnibus station) are ok.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol83Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza705, Manager at Hotel Valerim Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest, We’d like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
But in order to improve our rooms and our service, we’d like to know if you could contact us to find out which room you stayed so we can improve the room facilities and solve the problems you encountered.
It is very disappointing to us that you had this trouble during your stay with us, but we can assure you that measures have been taking in relation to the customer service.
We are really looking forward to hearing from you, so we can take some actions in relation to the bedroom too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Used the hotel for three nights as a base for planning an extended stay in Floriaopolis. The room was fairly basic and somewhat noisy, but clean and functional. Staff was quick and attentive, readily available to help out with directions and information on the city. Breakfast was very tasty with a good variety.
Location is great for anything in the city center, within walking distance from most points of interest. Especially with the weekend discounts available, this hotel us a good value-for-money option in Florianopolis.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucasjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel is situated in the center of town, although the hotel is very affordable, the room can be described as basic at best and not isolated from the outside noise, sleeping ith earplugs only!
The rest is very basic and minimal. Recommended only if you are short for cash and a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talegagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
#21 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#4 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
City Center
Intercity Florianopolis
Intercity Florianopolis
#19 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Faial Prime Suites
Faial Prime Suites
#11 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Trindade
Slaviero Executive Florianopolis
Slaviero Executive Florianopolis
#25 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Plaza Florianopolis Hotel
#38 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valerim Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valerim Plaza

Property: Hotel Valerim Plaza
Address: Rua Felipe Schmidt 705 | Centro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88010-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valerim Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Valerim Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valerim Plaza Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing