We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely have to watch the sunset here - best place to stay in Floripa”
Review of Sunset Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Backpackers
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Everyone we met along our travels reccommended Sunset and they were right. Junior and the team make an awesome time. Good facilities clean and comfortable place to sleep. Awesome bar and always taking care of the guests! Reasonable price too! THE BEST!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed 4 nights at this relaxing hostel.

My girlfriend and I took a double room which had a great view over the sea, really nice to wake up to. Each day we'd go up the nice bar terrace for fresh breakfast (fruit/toasties/tea/coffee/juice) then work out what to do - beach 5 min walk (for relaxing), beach 10 min bus (for surfing/footy), south island excursion.. and there were loads of things we didnt do. The hostel also organised evening events and food which was pretty decent.

All the staff were really nice and helpful, was good fun to be around them, but they would do well to remember to fill up the camper van with fuel : ) !

Would definately stay here again as there is loads more of Floripa I'd like to see and it would be a pleasure to base from Sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

What more can i say! We stayed here for 8 days and never wanted to leave. I went with my husband and a friend we had met travelling. This place is a hidden gem. A party hostel with things goin on every day. Had only heard of it through another hostel and has been the best part of our year long travels so far. Junior (hostel manager) is lovely and willing to help with anything that you need. A down to earth bloke who I now consider a good friend. All the staff are so friendly and up for a laugh, which is obviously contagious around the hostel cos' everyone that stays there seems to be the same. Loads of activities organised both day and night so you will never be bored and all quite reasonable too. Just can't say enough about the place really. Has the most amazing views and sunsets you will see, close to beaches and shops/restuarants/watersports/sandboarding etc. We are trying to find anyway to get back there asap and would stay for as long as possible.
Be carefull though as you may never want to leave!

PS Try the Mole Beach cocktails, they are gorge!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anotherholidayplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I wanted to stay at backpackers sunset, had a reservation and was just inquiring if there is a possibilty to change my arrival date. Instead, Backpackers just cancelled my entire stay without telling me and even wanted to charge the first night. Very rude, very unorganised. Just go to other places in Florianopolis, there are a lot - where you will experience much more kindness.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
8  Thank Tourdeglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

It is not the magnificent position that makes this hostel outstanding, nor is it the fantastic free breakfast. It is not even the excellent facilities, or spotless rooms. It is the staff. They are rich with information, ideas, suggestions and fun.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillenbrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

The sister hostel of Backpackers Sharehouse further down the road (http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g303576-d1063851-Reviews-Backpackers_Sharehouse-Florianopolis_State_of_Santa_Catarina.html) this was opened 5 years after that one (and has been open for one year at the time of writing) and is a bit closer to Florianapolis centre.

We stayed there in August 2009 during their anniversary week and had a complete blast. The staff are super friendly and, at least during that week, were super generous with the drinks and hostel rates. The organise events most nights, often in conjunction with the other hostel, if you want a bit of a party but demand quiet after 11pm and the rooms are a reasonable distance from the bar so you aren't too disturbed if you want a quiet night. They're usually direct you, or often even drive you, to a club if you wanna continue the party after 11pm.

Florianopolis is quite spread out from the centre (where long distance buses arrive), to the island where the beaches and this hostel is. To be honest I'd say it was a seperate town and I was quite surpriosed how far out it was but, at the same time, they gave excellent directions to get their by two local buses and it was 5 minutes walk away from a nice beach which you wouldn't have got in town so the island is definitely the place to stay. There is also a little villiage/town a short bus ride or a long walk away with restaurants and stuff as well.

The hostel itself is fairly new with good dorms and a few average private rooms. Bathrooms could be better and internet was painfully slow when were there but the staff and friendliness more than make up for those minor niggles.

The only other thing is how difficult it is to check out with them persuading you to stay day after day after day ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazzaDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank CarlaLadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
11.9 mi away
Hotel Geranius
Hotel Geranius
#46 of 97 in Florianopolis
351 reviews
1.5 mi away
Geckos Hostel
Geckos Hostel
#4 of 555 in Florianopolis
143 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hostel Da Terra
Hostel Da Terra
#6 of 555 in Florianopolis
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Strip Eco Hostel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
in Hostels
in Hostels
#1 of 9 in Lagoa da Conceicao
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 17 in Barra da Lagoa
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Backpackers

Address: Rodovia Jornalista Manoel de Menezes 631 | Mole Beach, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88061-700, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 555 Specialty Lodging in Florianopolis
Price Range: $11 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunset Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a privileged spot to become a guest, surrounded by exuberant nature, a dazzling view, the Sunset Backpackers offers complete and innovative services , making your stay more comfortable, attractive with lots of fun. We are strategically located at the top of Praia do Mole (Mole's beach) hill, with panoramic view of Lagoa da Conceicao (Conceicao Lagoon), where you can enjoy a beautiful scenery and a breathtaking sunset, just at a 5 minutes walk to Floripa's best beach. We are located in a 3.000m2 area, in contact with nature and with more than 100 different species of native flowers and trees. The structure offers spacious leisure opened and closed areas, pool, hammocks for resting, fire area for special moments around the fireplace, barbecue area, bar with panoramic view of the island's east side and a young and enthusiastic staff to help you with any doubt and information regarding the Santa Catarina island. Besides, we have our own restaurant and bar, the Sunset Resto Pub located at the top of all structure, in a privileged place with an incredible view and climatized environment. The Backpacker's Party Bus, is an American school bus customized, that apart from offering the guests the option to get to know Florianopolis, through tours, offers adventure and fun, like the night life , and discounts in the best parties. A schedule of activities involving sports, ecology, culture and entertainment, with lots of music and fun. The Sunset Backpackers is 100m and 15 minutes walk from the most famous beaches worldwide known as surf spots such as Joaquina and Praia do Mole . Two sceneries among many others, that unite sports, thrill and lots of beautiful people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Sunset Hotel Florianopolis
Sunset Backpackers Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing