We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for young partygoers”
Review of Sunset Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Backpackers
Drammen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only for young partygoers”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Within walking distance from the famous Praia Mole and with easy bus access to Lagoa Conceicao. Very friendly staff and a great view to the lake.

We had a double room with seaview, apparently their best. Wonderful view from the veranda. Most of the other beds are dormitorys. No A/C, only a fan. Room was very small and extremely basic. The shared bathroom was frequently occupied and dirty. The internet only worked in the central areas.

They were always out of something: soap, toilet paper, bread for breakfast, coffee, seatings, hand tissues, knifes, meals on the menu, drinking water ...

You were not alloved to bring alcohol from outside, obviously to sell more alcohol in their own bar. We were not informed about this before arrival.

If you want to mingle and party with other young and beautiful people and don´t care too much about the facilities this it the place to stay. Otherways there are better options.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norwaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    111
    36
    13
    26
See reviews for
3
37
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great place, the view is great, close to the beach, great staff and 1 free caipirinha. Rooms are big and clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patatoufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianópolis, SC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I've been here many times and I can say it is one of the best places I ever stayed. If you wanna party and enjoy one of the most beautiful views of the Magic Island (Florianópolis) you should stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreBT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hi guys, I'm not the tourist that genrally likes to give poor reviews. However, based on my experience with this hostel, i feel a review was totally in order. The place is nice, but the staff were rude, unfriendly and just plain old useless. Over-charged for any service they provided, and performed poorly at tasks that were expected, Location is too far away from the main town and they don't provide assistance with directions.
Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I'm not the biggest fans of hostels, but Sunset made me feel like part of the family. Part of the reasons is because they organize many activities to bring the travelers together and 'get involved'. The facilities are fantastic and location is wonderful, especially if you like surf and beach! One of the most amazing staffs at any hostel I've been to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmckenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

great hostel! the location and the hostel building itself are great, good atmosphere, friendly staff... what more can I ask for??!
One of the best places where to stay in Florianopolis location wise as far as I am concerned

Room Tip: they have dormitories in one of the buildings that are not inside rooms. make sure you ask to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guyju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Well starting from the view, the place stays in the top of the hill so everywhere you are on the hostel you could see an amazing view of Lagon and a awesome Sunset, the staffs were really friendly and helpfull, great meals every night and diferrents menu, specially the barbecue that they made, so yummie, Brazilian style. I love Florianopolis, the location is perfect satys 5 minutes walking from one of the most beatifull surfing beach on the island and also I visited a lot of diferrents places on the island with teir American school bus, as beaches on the south and north, tracks around the hostel. Tha facilitie were over the expectations, nice metress, clean toilets and nice swimming pool, just need some more beach toys. I like the pub, every night soo much fun and parties after and all the time a lot of people, we have some much fun as we went there alone, I came to stay 1 week and stay 2 months. Definelly stay there again, Hope go there soon

Room Tip: Get the double room with lake view, top rated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luciano_Ozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
12.7 mi away
Belluno Apart Hotel
Belluno Apart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cachoeira do Bom Jesus
328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hostel Da Terra
Hostel Da Terra
#5 of 529 in Florianopolis
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Geckos Hostel
Geckos Hostel
#6 of 529 in Florianopolis
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The View Hostel
The View Hostel
#23 of 529 in Florianopolis
60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 17 in Barra da Lagoa
141 reviews
1.6 mi away
in Hostels
in Hostels
#2 of 9 in Lagoa da Conceicao
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Backpackers

Property: Sunset Backpackers
Address: Rodovia Jornalista Manoel de Menezes 631 | Mole Beach, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88061-700, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 529 Specialty Lodging in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunset Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a privileged spot to become a guest, surrounded by exuberant nature, a dazzling view, the Sunset Backpackers offers complete and innovative services , making your stay more comfortable, attractive with lots of fun. We are strategically located at the top of Praia do Mole (Mole's beach) hill, with panoramic view of Lagoa da Conceicao (Conceicao Lagoon), where you can enjoy a beautiful scenery and a breathtaking sunset, just at a 5 minutes walk to Floripa's best beach. We are located in a 3.000m2 area, in contact with nature and with more than 100 different species of native flowers and trees. The structure offers spacious leisure opened and closed areas, pool, hammocks for resting, fire area for special moments around the fireplace, barbecue area, bar with panoramic view of the island's east side and a young and enthusiastic staff to help you with any doubt and information regarding the Santa Catarina island. Besides, we have our own restaurant and bar, the Sunset Resto Pub located at the top of all structure, in a privileged place with an incredible view and climatized environment. The Backpacker's Party Bus, is an American school bus customized, that apart from offering the guests the option to get to know Florianopolis, through tours, offers adventure and fun, like the night life , and discounts in the best parties. A schedule of activities involving sports, ecology, culture and entertainment, with lots of music and fun. The Sunset Backpackers is 100m and 15 minutes walk from the most famous beaches worldwide known as surf spots such as Joaquina and Praia do Mole . Two sceneries among many others, that unite sports, thrill and lots of beautiful people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Sunset Hotel Florianopolis
Sunset Backpackers Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing