We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Home Away From Home”
Review of Pousada Penareia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Penareia
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Home Away From Home”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quiet spot for the weekend and this place was perfect. The owner, Klaus, speaks English which was very helpful and can be hard to come by in Florianopolis. Klaus and his workers were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The rooms are decent sized with a fridge, safe, good shower pressure, etc. The location is right on the beach, and one of the more beautiful, quiet beaches at that. You are also close to Lagoinha de Leste and Campeche Island, 2 of the most beautiful spots in Florianopolis. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back sometime soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
79
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Backing right onto Armacao Beach, this pousada was a pleasant surprise. The owner Klaus makes you feel welcome like you're staying in his house (which I guess you are ;-). The rooms are clean and functional, definitely worth paying the extra 20 realos for an upstairs room with aircon. There was a great lounge area too, our only gripe was being pestered by mosquitos. Good complimentary breakfast, bikes and surfboards free to rent. Don't miss going to Nutri Lanches a couple of hundred meters North on the main road for their great value, healthy lunch buffet (12-3pm).

Room Tip: Go for an aircon room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautytravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The pousada was really perfect. Quiet, clean, friendly staff, great location. There is a hammock on the balcony/patio in each room, great complimentary breakfast with fresh fruits and homemade breads/cakes. The beach is right out of the back gate - really gorgeous, natural beach!

Really, my only complaint was the lack of air conditioning, which of course I expected. It was just so humid, which kept my wet clothes from drying, even with the ceiling fan on.

Anyway, highly recommended!! I would certainly return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location, a simple and peaceful place were all we wanted come thru...
The beach is great and relax oposite from the confusion on the north and you can get some good surfing.....
Do not miss Matadeiro beach next door and the wonderfull walking around the mountains with the green and the blue sea side by side.
The owner Klaus makes the diference with his local tips. Dont be afraid to ask he awalys manage to went beyond our expectations.
The last but the best the morning breakfast with fantastic bread, fresh fruits and home made cake and juice, etc...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great location on a quite undeveloped beach with nearby fishing village. Rooms clean and basic (we stayed in the basic one). I liked the finishing touches - a sun umbrella, folding chairs, and a paddle ball set - perfect for the beach. Owner was great. Stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 100-Countries-To-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stumbled upon Pousada Penareia entirely by accident and it was one of the best accidents of our entire trip. As two backpackers having rolled into Florianopolis after the chaos of Carnival in Rio, we were searching for a getaway, and avoided at all costs the touristy hotels for Floripa being flogged to us before we had barely set foot off the bus. Having the small sea-side town of Amacao in mind and guide book in hand, we navigated the local buses - a surprisingly short and convenient bus ride out of Floripa for such a rural small-town feel about the place. We wandered up and down the streets and saw Penareia's sign - once we taken in it was love at first sight. While normally out of price range on a budget back-packing trip, we decided to splash out for some solitude and quality. Markus was incredibly friendly and helpful, and speaks perfect English, and everything about this place was superb; I've never felt more at home and so regretful to leave a place in my life. Rooms are spacious and clean, and come with hammocks and sports equipment to use on the beach. The Pousada has a loft with a big flat screen TV with cable, pool table, games and books. Almost right on the beach, you can leave your room and be on the sand in about 10 seconds. The beach is beautiful and we had it largely to ourselves, but if you want more liveliness the next beach over has huts selling drinks and a few more people around. The most gorgeous views surround the Pousada and we borrowed some bikes for the day and rode to nearby fishing villages and to the lagoon. The people we encountered were friendly despite our lack of Portuguese.

The only room for improvement would perhaps be cooking facilities - as we had no transport we had to walk out to find dinner every night, which is a bit of a problem when it's monsooning! There was a power failure and the electric front gates would not open for us when we returned, so we had to find another way in from the beach, which wasn't great when it was pitch black and slamming it down. However, the weather is not the fault of Pousada Penareia and the storm had passed by morning. The breakfasts were excellent with all sorts of fruits and meats and cheeses and freshly cooked waffles. Far away from the tourist crowds, everything about this place was beautiful - it soothes the soul.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KsquaredK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We wanted to get away from it all for a few days, to somewhere with an attractive setting, deserted beaches and a couple of moderately strenuous walks. Four days at the Pousada Penareia was perfect. We didn't hire a car so we did a bit of walking to get around - it's 10-15 minutes along the beach to Armacao's main square - but that wasn't a problem for us.

Klaus was the perfect host. He speaks very good English, and was friendly, obliging and helpful. We had the "luxury" room, which is very good value. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the shower was warm (although you have to run it for a while), and the breakfast buffet was great. On our last night we were the only guests there but they still gave us the full breakfast spread, far more than we could eat. This was our first stop on our first visit to Brazil, but Klaus did a lot to make it easy.

An unexpected bonus was that we arrived the day after the first whales of the season, a mother and calf pair of humpbacks who were loitering around a headland about 1 km away from the Pousada. They regularly came in to about 30 m from shore, making them easy to see, while also sometimes going further out to play. By the time we left they had been joined by two other pairs.

One thing to mention is that August is out-of-season in Armacao and the surrounding villages, which meant the beaches were almost deserted (good!) but the beachfront bars and many of the restaurants in Armacao were closed (not so good). There were still a couple of eating options in Armacao, but (as Klaus will tell you) if you take the bus for 10 minutes to the next village there's a beachfront strip of restaurants that does stay open all year. Take the bus in daylight the first time you do it, as the bus stops aren't well marked and you don't get much warning of when to get off.

Room Tip: The "luxury" room is excellent value for the price, based on what we would pay for somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malchalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
19.1 mi away
Pousada Oceanomare
Pousada Oceanomare
#38 of 96 in Florianopolis
338 reviews
22.8 mi away
Costa Norte Ingleses Hotel
2.1 mi away
Morro Das Pedras Praia Hotel
Morro Das Pedras Praia Hotel
#46 of 96 in Florianopolis
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Pousada dos Artistas
Pousada dos Artistas
#3 of 96 in Florianopolis
321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aruna Eco Spa
Aruna Eco Spa
#61 of 96 in Florianopolis
15 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pousada Pe na Areia
Pousada Pe na Areia
#53 of 253 in Florianopolis
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Penareia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Penareia

Property: Pousada Penareia
Address: Rua Hermes Guedes da Fonseca 207 | Praia da Armação, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88066-300, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florianopolis
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream turn into reality, the Pénareia Lodge represents the passion of a surfer and architect, for the natural beauties found on the south side of Florianópolis Island. Built in a quiet, secluded oceanfront stretch of Armação Beach (Praia da Armação), our Lodge is the ideal location for those who wish to enjoy the peaceful, tranquil, nearly untouched surrounding nature, or for anyone who wishes to experience adventure sports in one of the most idyllic places of Florianópolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Penareia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Penareia Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing