We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playground” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sao Sebastiao da Praia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sao Sebastiao da Praia to your Saves list
Sao Sebastiao da Praia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Campeche 1373 | Praia do Campeche, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88063300, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Florianopolis
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Playground”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to be in a peaceful place and relax, don"t go here, priority is given to children. It seems that they do not take your requests for serious. Having requested a room far away from any possible noise ( in special children) they have given us always neighbours with children even though he have moved to different places in the hotel structure.
This hotel has to improve his organisation to put guests with different needs separated, in a way that everybody is satisfied.
I don"t recommend this hotel for people that enjoy peaceful places.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 992GiovanniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for business in November 2012. Staff were amazing and room was spacious with fantastic air con. One particular waitress - i forgot her name :( - took the time to talk to me most days, offering her local knowledge and advice and even taught me some local language to assist me. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamT_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia_hssp, Gerente geral at Sao Sebastiao da Praia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello AdamT_85,

Our mission is to evolve in all aspects and provide to our guests a wonderful experience.
For this reason, we appreciate your review of our Hotel.
We hope to see you as soon as it's possible.
Thank you again for your attention and evaluation.

Hotel São Sebastião da Praia's team
In case of any questions, please contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is very well maintain, I stayed in one of the cabins. Very well build, high ceilling, air conditioning. The cabin is big enough for 4 people, has a bedroom, a kind of livind room, a smal room with sink and a smal fridge. The living room has a kind of sofa bed a table and 4 chairs, plus a coffee table and 2 wicker chairs. Very private, not to far from the beach (which I didn't go because I had 3 days of rain in Florianopolis). Also the location of the hotel makes easier to move around in the island, It is not too far far from Joaquina Beach, Lagoa da Conceicao, Barra, and the south part of the island.

Room Tip: The cabins are awesome. Lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia_hssp, Gerente at Sao Sebastiao da Praia, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Jose P,

Our mission is to evolve in all aspects and provide to our guests a wonderful experience.
For this reason, we appreciate your review of our Hotel.
Criticisms and suggestions represent growth opportunities for us, and we always strive to improve our services.
We reiterate our contentment in being able to serve you, and we hope to see you as soon as it's possible.
Thank you again for your attention and evaluation.

Hotel São Sebastião da Praia's team
In case of any questions, please contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in Feb 2013. I chose the hotel based on the size, it's not too big but small enough to be quaint and have a more charming appeal. We stayed in the cabin's, which offer dual balconies, and a more secluded feel. Our room was simply furnished but had high ceilings, air conditioning and even a small fridge, spare room with spare bed and table and chairs. The hotel had amazing greenery, tropical birds, and little monkies climing the trees near the centre gardens. The security at the gate offered peace of mind as we worried about travelling in Brazil based on what we had read, but we never encountered any issues. The staff (with the exeption of Allencar) speak limited english so be prepared to make do. The breakfast buffet was typically brazilian and boutiful. There was a nice pool area, games room and chairs/umbrellas were avaiable to trek to the nearby beach, a 10 minute walk down a sandy path to the not so crowded area of Campeche. The waves in this area are amazing.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor cabin. High ceilings, and lush quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barb r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia_hssp, Gerente at Sao Sebastiao da Praia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Google Translation
Bom dia barb r,

Foi uma enorme alegria poder lhe atender e servir durante sua permanência em
Florianópolis.
Esperamos encontrar-lhe novamente, em sua próxima vinda a Ilha da Magia!!!

Um grande abraço da Equipe do Hotel São Sebastião da Praia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed two weeks in this hotel. The rooms are more like little apartments with a bedroom, living room, bathroom and a sort of kitchen but without stove. Ours had 2 balconies (one on each side) from were we could see the wonderful job they have done with the garden. A lot of species, very well taken care of and very cute tinny monkeys, hummingbirds, flowers, bananas and so on.
Inside the room: no luxuries, very simple rooms but in general clean. The air conditioner worked well.
The bathroom could be a little cleaner for my taste but I must say I am kinda picky in that department.
The beds were rather uncomfortable (I could feel the springs in the mattress) but very clean with lots of extra pillows and a duvet in the closet.
The breakfast buffet was good, every morning fresh fruit, juices, eggs, breads and cakes. Also a few salty, local specialties.
The hotel restaurant turned out to be quite ok, we ate there a few times and was one of the better ones from the nearby places.

The service was really friendly. All the girls really made an effort but I must warn that nobody spoke any English. Some of them spoke a few words of Spanish and that is how we got around.
Also in the reception there was no one speaking English or Spanish.
Not that it mattered much but some people might mind.

The beach is a short walk from the hotel (like 5 minutes). One goes on a path trough a sort of wild patch of land. Its a nice walk, I didn't mind it. There was a horse just standing there.
A lot of people seemed to have horses on their front yards in Florianopolis.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
Mercure Florianopolis Convention
#22 of 90 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#7 of 90 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Morro Das Pedras Praia Hotel
#55 of 90 in Florianopolis
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Oceanomare
#24 of 90 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Sebastiao da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Sebastiao da Praia

Address: Av. Campeche 1373 | Praia do Campeche, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88063300, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sao Sebastiao da Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A natural refugee in the middle of the metropolis. That is how we can define São Sebastião da praia Hotel in Florianópolis. In this place just a walk through the gardens is enough to enjoy the beauty that the nature can provide.The contact with the Atlantic Forest is very close in this hotel. It has proximally 13,000 m² for the gests enjoy the sound of the ocean, the fresh air, the exotic flowers, the local birds, among other charming thinks that only a hotel in the middle of the nature can offer.Besides the spectacle provided by the natural beauty, the Hotel has excellence to provide several services, such as attendance, lodging, gastronomy and leisure. There is a great staff in the hotel prepared to help you. Everything is idealized and thought in specific details so your staying in São Sebastião da Praia is unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sao Sebastiao da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Sebastiao Da Praia Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing