We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Certificate of Excellence
Aguas Dulces, Uruguay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, great staff!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Three day trip to Porto Alegre. Had so much fun stayed for another day. The hotel is a very nice property. A converted and expanded mansion. The staff is what really sets this place apart. Extremely friendly and helpful! My Spanish is pretty basic and my Portuguese is worse. It seemed that there was always someone at the desk with good English and most everyone spoke a little and were anxious to practice. We all had fun at the desk.

Breakfast in the morning was as in most Brazilian hotels great. This was better than most, truly a nice way to start the day!

I will definitely stay there again the next time we visit for business or pleasure!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAlaskanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laghetto H, Hospitality Manager at Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. Thank you very much for evaluating our property. Your comments are very important so we can keep improving the quality of our services and motivate our staff.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel, because this is our goal.

It will be an honor hosting you again!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Flaviana M Chioquetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    492
    119
    23
    25
See reviews for
264
259
68
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Good location in Moinhos neighbourhood. The public areas of this hotel occupy a 1940's mansion at the front part of the complex. The rooms are in the modern building behind it. The two are linked by a stylish corridor/ramp in glass with views to the vertical gardens outside. Breakfast is very good and diverse. Reception is very attentive and available to help. Rooms are small but well fitted, although the a/c unit above the bed is not comfortable- too cold and too noisy to let you sleep. The pool area is bare with no shade or plants, chairs, loungers. With the heat of 42 degress of mid January it was not a pleasant experience. Early days and lots of maintenance problems, specially the bathrooms. One tip to the hotelier is to add hooks behind the doors for towels. There is nowhere to hang them once you had a shower.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the left side of the buiding. Quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Marceloglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laghetto H, Gestora de Hospedagem at Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Marcelo,

Thank you for your time for evaluating our hotel. Your comments are very important so we can keep improving our services.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and you found our breakfast very good. We are really sorry about the problem you faced with the AC in your room as well as the maintenance problems we had during your stay Our staff is already working on solutions for problems like the ones you faced do not happen again.
It will be an honor hosting you again!

Kind Regards,

Flaviana M Chioquetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week at this hotel some 2 or 3 months after its opening.

The premisses are great and the hotel is located in a up-scale area of Porto Alegre, called "Moinhos de Ventos", some 5 minutes walk from a nice shopping mall of the same name and lots of the most charming cafes and restaurants of the city.

The hotel has a charming well renovated villa where the restaurant, one of the lobbies, the bar and the reception are located. The rooms are located behind in a new building with a nice hoof top with a swimming pool. the new building is beautiful, but if you look in detail its possible to recognise that materials are not of high quality as it seems. Windows and elevators lack cleanliness and in our room there was a whole in the ceiling, missing a lamp or something like that.

So it was possible to see that they are still running to have thinks done, but the cleanliness is not justified in my views.

The staff is friendly and some try hard to solve the problems, but there are many on administration yet to be learned. To start with my husband reserved a couple's bed and they put us in a 2 bed's room.When asking to change, we have to wait almost half a hour for having a new room, after having had a 28 hours trip. The reception couldn't find a solution, although there were no other people arriving beside us at that time.

The restaurant has few options in its menu. The breakfast is good. At the swimming pool there is a locked kind of vendor machine with drinks, but rarely somebody to open it. When asking for a drink, the employee that might be around, goes to the bar or restaurant to bring it. It makes no sense.

For the laundry they had no form to take note and no prices to inform. I kept 2 days asking in order to have some information on that. Again, very good will from employees, but with few results.

I really hope that the hotel would improve the service, since it has premisses and location on its favour.

Room Tip: Rooms from second floor up have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laghetto H, Gestora de Hospedagem at Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and time to evaluate our hotel. Your opinion is very important so we can keep improving our services.

I am very sorry to know that we did not meet your expectations, however we are working hard for problems like the ones you faced during your stay do not happen again.

We truly hope to see you again and overcome your expectations,

Kind Regards,

Flaviana M Chioquetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel was absolutely stunning!! In a converted villa, but done very tastefully and in a modern style. Good strong air conditioning and fast free wifi. The rooftop pool area was a dream!! Small pool, but great relaxation area with a small bar serving great caipirinhas. The room was small, but very comfortable. Front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel is not exactly in the city centre, requiring a 20 minute walk to the historic part. There were few restaurants nearby, but a good supermarket 2 blocks away. Would definitely stay again, just for the pool!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toandfromtheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laghetto H, Gestora de Hospedagem at Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are very important to us so we can keep improving our services and motivating our staff.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the help provided by the staff.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in one of our hotels again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for nearly three weeks during its 'soft' opening. We did expect some minor problems but there were lots of problems and several of them were very big ones.
Staff tried hard but obviously were not experienced to the standards expected at a hotel of this cost. Towels not replaced, room not serviced, no soap replacement for several days and other small matters that simply were annoying. Breakfast was good and service staff were pleasant.
Dinner was a restricted menu but the quality of the food was very good, although the service was slow. This hotel is near to excellent shopping and lots of good restaurants - and a great Irish pub.
Be warned though parking is near impossible and traffic in this area is heavy, although bus service nearby is adequate.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a reasonable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laghetto H, Gestora de Hospedagem at Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Stanley,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important so we can improve our services.

I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our staff is already working on solutions for problems like the ones you faced at our property do not happen again.

We hope to see you again in one of our properties and meet your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Flaviana M Chioquetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
Bela Vista
Radisson Porto Alegre
Radisson Porto Alegre
#5 of 78 in Porto Alegre
725 reviews
Moinhos de Vento
Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel
Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel
#6 of 78 in Porto Alegre
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Porto Alegre Centro
#2 of 78 in Porto Alegre
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos

Property: Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos
Address: Rua Dr. Vale, 579, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90560-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laghetto Viverone Moinhos Porto Alegre, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing