We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service not good, terrible dining room food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Hotel Regent Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Regent Suites
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Customer Service not good, terrible dining room food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is well-located with clean, spacious, tastefully-decorated rooms, comfortable beds and good coffee, however, services were lacking. After using the gym the first night I asked to keep the key in my room as I planned to work out early the next morning, but was told no, if I called the front desk in the morning, they would bring it up to me. The next morning there was no info on what to dial to reach the front desk, neither 0 or 9 worked, went down to get the key, was told the front desk phone code was 99 (guests are supposed to just know this??), and that the gym was open. I went to the gym which is at the top of the hotel, then up two flights of stairs; it was locked, no one there. I went back down to reception, the key was there, it appears they only have one key (why is it even locked?) and one has to run all over to track it down. During this episode only one elevator appeared to be working and it was going up and down, stopping at many floors. I finally had my workout, but be advised that the room has full sun with no blinds, curtains or air-conditioning and only one window of the two opens, so by 8 in the morning it was quite hot in there, and there is no bathroom.
The breakfast buffet has a good variety of the usual cold food items, hot choices were somewhat watery scrambled eggs and chopped wieners in a tomato sauce. Dinner was terrible, please be advised, don't spend your money here, it is expensive and not worth it. When I arrived, the dining room was deserted, the waiter cordial and attentive. I asked if the pea soup was cup size, the waiter said yes, it arrived in a large cereal bowl, at least two full cups!! But it was delicious and filling, which served to fill the serious gap left by the chicken dinner that followed. It was billed as milanese, but was a chunk of dry, hard, overcooked meat, barely chewable and accompanied by salad, cold cooked broccoli and cauliflower, topped off with chunks of dill pickle, and presented with a basket of dried, toasted chunks of bread, similar to croutons, but bigger (breakfast's leftovers?). Unappetizing, but I ate the meal as it was late, there was nowhere else to go and the streets were deserted on a Saturday night. Oh for the delicious milanese chicken with fragrant black beans and warm corn tortillas of Mexico!!
I ordered bottled water, the waiter poured over half a glass, then decided that the glass was dirty, poured it out, replaced and refilled the glass, then charged me for a full bottle. When I asked for a discount on the water, he said no, he could only give me a complimentary coffee or dessert - no thanks, please no more unappetizing food and caffeine at night keeps me awake.

At checkout, be sure to check your bill, they tried to charge me for an item from the mini bar which I hadn't consumed. I asked the front desk if the Praia de Belas mall was open on Sunday, he said yes and called me a cab, but when I arrived at the deserted mall at 11am the security guard told me it wasn't open until 2 pm.....the hotel clerk didn't know this? Not likely.
This was the first of many trips to Porto Alegre, which I enjoyed, but I won't be staying here again, it's poor value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xena888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    155
    80
    16
    2
See reviews for
84
57
35
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

É o típico hotel executivo. A localização não é das melhores, mas fica próximo do antigo centro da cidade. Garagem com diária, quartos amplos, cama king size, ar condicionado silencioso, microondas, cafeteira, uma mini-cozinha, tv LCD, acesso a internet wireless. O hotel possui sala de fitness (a melhorar) e o café da manhã já foi pior, mas ainda pode melhorar. O valor da diária gira em torno de 150-200 reais, e por esse preço pode-se encontrar outros um pouco mais distantes com qualidade igual ou superior.
Os banheiros precisam de uma atenção especial da gerência no quesito limpeza e reforma (azulejos, pequenos bolores, etc)

(sorry my poor translation)
t is a typical business hotel. The location is not the best, but is close to the old city center. Garage with paid daily, spacious, king size bed, silent air conditioning, microwave, coffee maker, a mini-kitchen, LCD TV, wireless internet access. The hotel has a fitness room (to improve) and breakfast has been worse, but still can improve. The daily rate is around 150-200 real, and for that price you can find other a little farther with equal or higher quality.
The bathrooms need special attention in the issue of management reform and cleaning (tile, small molds, etc.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roso_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Overall, it was a very well managed hotel. I found the suites very clean and spotless with great service and amazing breakfast you will die for!! I've never had a breakfast so delicious before, and my Mum adored their coffee (just putting it out there for coffee lovers!!). Just some factors. I don't recommend ordering food within the Hotel due to the fact that I ordered meatloaf and it came back half raw. I also ordered toasted sandwiches with chips and they didn't taste great. The location of the hotel might be scary because it's quite isolated surround by all these shops and markets in a random street but overall quite a good hotel. As long as you don't dine there but do have their breakfast!! The service is rather excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyDonkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was a pretty good hotel. At first I was a bit aprehensive because when I arrived it was Carnival so it was quite quiet, so I didn't feel that safe in the streets surrounding it. From the hotel however, about 400m away was the main shopping street which is bustling. The rooms were very spacious with an extra large shower, very clean and furnished well. There was also a quiet setting on the air-con which was useful! The only reason I put 4/5 for sleep quality is because it was carnival, so I could hear the samba drums, but this is more of a positive than a negative,but could annoy some.

The staff speak little to no english, but this wasn't much of a problem as there's an english menu, and if you know a couple of phrases you'll be fine. The restaurant was great, a good selection of meals, and a good heary buffet breakfast with anything you can imagine to eat/drink. I would happily reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzyhickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rede_Harbor, Manager at Harbor Hotel Regent Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thanks for your feedback, we are happy that it was well attended by our hotel and that his stay was pleasant and comfortable.

On your next visit to Brazil stay with us on Harbor Hotels.

Best Regards,

Gustavo França
Dept. Marketing
Rede Harbor de Hotéis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
#30 of 78 in Porto Alegre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garibaldi Business Hotel
Garibaldi Business Hotel
#25 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#29 of 78 in Porto Alegre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
#32 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Porto Alegre
Hotel ibis budget Porto Alegre
#18 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Porto Alegre
Comfort Porto Alegre
#19 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Regent Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Regent Suites

Property: Harbor Hotel Regent Suites
Address: Rua Vigario Jose Inacio 700, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90020-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto Alegre
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto Alegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Regent Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbor Hotel Regent Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Regent Suites Porto Alegre, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing