We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveler rating
155
300
96
36
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
155
300
96
36
40
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 627 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are spacious with a kitchenette (refrigerator, sink and microwave). The receptionist are very helpful and friendly although some did not speak English and my Portuguese is not so good. The rooms are very clean and well taken care of. There was a breakfast buffet that had many delicious items. The one problem was the internet, my MAC laptop was not allowed to log in. It made it difficult to do the work I needed to do. The signal was too weak to do FaceTime with family and colleagues. If you are travelling for pleasure I would recommend the hotel. There is a pull out couch in the living room for families.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 288bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeropSwan, Gerente at Swan Tower Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear Mr. B B,

Good evening.
Thank you very much for your evaluation. This is very important for our hotel. On the internet, we have an imcompatibility with apple devices. This setting will be reviewed.

Until the next opportunity.

Best Regards

Alexandre Adams
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016

A hotel of contrasts:
First impression was very positive; Modern 12-story tower with a spacious 12-story high lobby.
Check-in gave a hint of things to come. Very slow -- there was one woman laboriously checking in guests, while four men stood behind her and watched, or discussed things in Portuguese.
The elevators were beautiful, but there weren't enough of them; 2 elevators just isn't enough, the average wait was 5 to 10 minutes.
The room was superb, with a sitting area and spacious bath and sleeping areas.
I stayed three nights.
The second day, my room key did not work, the same thing happened to many of my co-travelers. This meant another long wait at the elevator, another long wait at the front desk, then a warning about not keeping your room key next to your phone (I know about this, thank you, I don't do this and I don't need your condescending lecture), another interminable wait for the elevator back up to the 10th floor..
The following day I was out of my room all day from 8 to 8, and lo and behold, my key worked -- but the room had not been made up at all. I had to make my bed, re-use my soggy towel, do without shampoo, etc.
All in all: Whoever designed and built the hotel did an excellent job (Except for the elevator shortage and inaccessibility of the stairs), and they must be appalled how poorly the hotel is managed.
There is no restaurant (other than the breakfast room), but one can sit in the lobby and order beverages.
Breakfast was alright.

Room tip: Best to take a lower floor room, if you don't mind taking the stairs.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre M, Gerente geral at Swan Tower Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for your email and for providing us with feedback from your stay. First and foremost, I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience here at Swan Tower Porto Alegre. We take all complaints very seriously, and I want to assure you that we have procedures and standards in place to ensure the comfort and safety of our guests.

With regard your concern about problems with four men speaking portuguese, we´re very sorry, but internal issues must be discussed in our local language, I can assure you that all the five people were trying to solve a problem that came at the time, and that´s was not at all the reception´s desk job during your check in procedure.

As for the key problem, we always give advice and we always will give it about no letting the card next to a phone or other device, we´re very sorry that you were upset with the warning.

Yes, we do have a restaurant. It opens from 6 am to 10 am for breakfast, from 12 noon till 11 pm non stop for lunch, snacks and dinner. All those schedules were at the room directory. Usually it gets busy after 7 pm.

During your stay we´ve checked all the rooms, and all of them, except ones that had de NON DISTURB sign at the door, were made. Maybe you left yours with that status.

I hope the above helped to address your concerns. I would be happy to discuss with you further, so feel free to email me at anytime (email: gerswanpoa@swanhoteis.com.br).
I´d love to welcome you back to Swan Tower Porto Alegre with our compliments for a one night stay in one of our suites. Please let me know if I can help you arrange that.

Thanks again for reaching out.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

Overall, very reasonable Accommodations for their pricing.
Had a problem with my door - only the master key worked on it, so I had to ask somebody to accompany me to my room at the front desk every time.
Room service was a little slow.
On the last day, forgot to checkout, but managed to close my tab remotely.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre M, Gerente geral at Swan Tower Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Senhor

Obrigado por seus comentários, desculpe-nos o infortúnio do problema com sua chave.

Nos colocamos à sua disposição para maiores esclarecimentos em nosso email: gerswanpoa@swanhoteis.com.br.

Atenciosamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

I had booked a room with two beds to hotel. And when i entered the room I saw only one big bed. I asked the reception to change my room and the answer is unbelievable. We have nothing to do sir. One of you can use the sofa in the room. It's unbelievable and unacceptable. I canceled my reservation and changed my hotel.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank halisgencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre M, Gerente geral at Swan Tower Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

Dear Guest,

We're very embarrassed about what happened.
Please accept our apologies. Sorry!

Best Regards,
André Machado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here during the World Cup and were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and quality of this hotel. Rooms were spacious and very clean. It is in a nice spot of town, pretty low key, not a lot going on around but decent enough location. Staff was helpful and very nice.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DC_SLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre M, Gerente geral at Swan Tower Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Hóspede,
agradecemos pela gentileza dos seus comentários.
Realmente a época da Copa foi desafiadora.
Viajantes experientes com alta expectativa e um nível de exigência compatível ao desafio que nos propomos.

Espero que seu retorno tenha sido ótimo e ficamos aqui à disposição quando necessário.

André Machado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews