We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly a good experience”
Review of Hotel Embaixador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Embaixador
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not exactly a good experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the fact that hardly anyone there spoke English. And no, I'm not a snotty American, I'm italian. But I expect the staff at a major hotel in a major city to speak the de fact lingua Franca of the world in the early 21st century. Second, dirty tablecloths? Third, a buffet for dinner that is extremely limited in options? Last, an hour and a half to serve dinner to a small group of people, despite the restaurant being almost empty? I don't think I need to say more.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mpigliucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    72
    61
    16
    4
See reviews for
29
13
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of the hotel was great, first impressions of reception was good, great service.

Got to the room, and first impressions were not the same. The room was old and the window views were horrible (we had just spent a week on a gorgeous hotel in Natal, on a beach north of Brazil with balconies viewing the pools and beach)

I believe the hotel was built in 1968, and the rooms were still orignal, with exeption of laminated flooring. Although bathroom fittings were old, they actually worked.

Expensive for what/where it was. I was expecting cheaper hotels in Brasil in general.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José do Rio Preto, Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel is a bit old. But, the main hall is wonderful and the rooms are really big. The staff is very atentive and friendly. The only problem we have was in the restaurant. They were not ready for some dishes we ordered, even they were in the menu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was the hotel chosen by conference organizers. Everyone attending the conference from various countries complained about the horrid smell in all of the rooms. The sewer. Do not stay here. The rooms are run dow, the staff are unfriendly and the restaurant is poor. I can't think of a worse hotel I have ever stayed in - on four continents and over 35 years.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porto Alegre hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
1,246 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,728 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Good attention, average services and facilities that seemed recently modernized. I´ve been in this hotel about 14 years ago and I liked its recent "evolution", though I still felt a lack of cleanliness. Rooms are not bad and I´d say the are almost comfortable (small) and not so quiet. It is, indeed, good if you aim something close to the center, but one should also consider hotel´s neighborhood is not safe at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

This business hotel, which appears to be recently refurnished, is located about a five minute walk from the centro. The best rate I could find myself was about $100 per night, but a business associate booked the room for me at $50 per night. The room was small, the mattress was thin, and the room did not have a real desk. The soundproofing could also be better. On the other hand, the front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and there is a nice health club and restaurant. The free breakfast was good. There is also free ethernet access in each room and free wifi in the lobby. It was difficult to find an appealing restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. I would say that for $50 per night the hotel is a good deal, but not $100 per night.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Soccer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
0.1 mi away
Eko Residence Hotel
Eko Residence Hotel
#10 of 78 in Porto Alegre
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
#32 of 78 in Porto Alegre
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Hotel Regent Suites
Harbor Hotel Regent Suites
#29 of 78 in Porto Alegre
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Porto Alegre
Comfort Porto Alegre
#16 of 78 in Porto Alegre
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#31 of 78 in Porto Alegre
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
#28 of 78 in Porto Alegre
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embaixador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embaixador

Property: Hotel Embaixador
Address: Rua Jeronimo Coelho 354 | Centro, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90010-240, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Embaixador 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Embaixador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Embaixador Porto Alegre, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing