We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel option for Porto Alegre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Porto Alegre
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good hotel option for Porto Alegre”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here recently for business, and was a bit nervous because I normally stay at the Sheraton, which is not too far from this place. I had heard that there were not that many nice hotels in Porto Alegre (I travel here fairly often for business), so when I discovered the Sheraton was full, I was uncertain. I should not have been so concerned.

The only knock on the hotel comes from my check-in experience. The staff does not speak English very well - and in some cases - is extremely limited. As you enter, don't be too worried about the location (quite safe apparently) or appearance (looks a bit run down). I arrived about 11:30 am very tired from my long-haul trip from the USA, and had booked early check-in. Unfortunately, I could not get into my room immediately and had to wait about 45 minutes. This was not a huge problem, but considering my concerns coming in, this really was a big disappointment - especially because she told me it would be about 10 minutes. I also had a fairly hard time with understanding the desk staff, but we worked it out with some slow exchanges (she was very pleasant and accommodating).

Upon entering the room, it was quite warm (Porto Alegre has experienced a very prolonged period of very hot temperatures). I had a bit of an issue getting the air conditioning sorted out, but it started cooling down and I got refreshed before heading out to work. The room never did get that cold but was mostly comfortable, as the unit had a tough time keeping up with the heat and humidity, I think. I closed my curtains during the day so that the room did not heat up unnecessarily.

The room itself was very clean and a decent size (compared easily to US hotel rooms), with hardwood floors. The bed was a good size, probably a queen with a large desk. The power in the room was all US voltage (110V), so you do not need European converters or adapters. There are outlets in the bathroom as well.

The bathroom was about average-to-smallish, with a shower only. The water pressure was decent, and the temperature was constant and warm/hot.

The room was quiet overnight.

I viewed the gym, which looked decently equipped, but never used the equipment. It included treadmills, elliptical, bike, and some weights.

The restaurant was good for breakfasts with several options for a typical European style place. Food seemed very fresh and the staff kept things clean and stocked. They had a couple of hot options, but I did not even look at what they were serving. I did not try the restaurant for anything else.

The hotel is across the street from a park, but I did not visit it. I am told it is safe (during daylight hours). It is also close to a few restaurants (pizza joints mostly).

Overall, I prefer the Sheraton, but would not be disappointed with having to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPortoAlegre, Operations Assistant at Quality Hotel Porto Alegre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our services and our structure. We take care of every detail of the stay of our guests, and it is very gratifying for our team to receive your feedback regarding the time it has been in Quality Hotel Porto Alegre.
Our main goal is to ensure the quality of service we provide, and share your opinion with us and so many other travelers were very happy and engaged increasingly perfect ourselves and overcome even the expectation of our customer.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel.

cordially
Operations Assistant
Patrícia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    482
    183
    62
    22
See reviews for
248
149
36
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for business, regular double room was not bad, spacious, clean and well maintained. Hotel staff was very nice but couldn't speak much English. Breakfast was great in my opinion, hot plates, fruits, juices and more. Location is superb near the park, very safe and relaxing. Would definitely recommend, although not a luxury, still was a great hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gloteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPortoAlegre, Operations Assistant at Quality Hotel Porto Alegre, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We appreciate your stay at Quality Porto Alegre and we feel honored by your kind comments, suggestions and compliments that surely will be shared with the team.
Our goal is to make each guest can have their expectation and need fully met ensuring even more quality to our guests.

Your choice for staying with us let us very happy and we hope to see you soon.


Cordially,
Patricia Grahl
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We chose this hotel mostly because of its location. Just in front of "PARCÃO" (park in "Moinhos de Vento" neighbourhood,) and from a walking distance of the Padre Chagas street. The staff is really friendly. The room was very spacious and with a nice view of the park. Altought this facts the hotel is t in need of some renovation. Courtains are in bad shape as well of some of the walls. Bed and linens are not the best ones. Nice Flat TV. The carpet on tle aisles in poor shape.
We got a nice rate, so it was worth it, otherwise it would be overpriced.

Room Tip: The front corner rooms on the "Mostardeiro" street side, have nice view of the Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUECWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPortoAlegre, Assistente de operações at Quality Hotel Porto Alegre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I would like to immensely thank your feedback regarding your stay at Quality Porto Alegre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive impressions.

Your comments will be shared with our teams.

Thanks again for letting us know about your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Patricia Grahl
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Spacious room, small bathroom. Sheets had some minor stains (but still...). Nice beds and well equiped. Courtains need replacement.

Nice breakfast with a broad option of fruits, breads and toppings.

Excellent location by a nice city park and close to a shopping mall and dozens of restaurants and pubs.

Nice little gym with 2 treadmills and an elliptical and weights.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash-cwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPortoAlegre, Assistente de operações at Quality Hotel Porto Alegre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sua estada no Quality Porto Alegre e nos sentimos honrados com seus gentis comentários, que certamente serão compartilhados com a equipe.
A contribuição dos nossos hóspedes é muito importante para que possamos cada vez mais aperfeiçoar nossos serviços e superar as expectativas do nosso cliente.
A sua escolha por hospedar-se conosco nos deixa muito feliz e esperamos revê-lo em breve.


Cordialmente,
Patrícia Grahl
Assistente de Operações
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Located in from a city park (called Parcão), with are walking distance from bars and restaurants, located in Moinhos de Vento district. Good place to stay, staff could be more attencious in the checkin/checkout, but you get what you pay for. Wireless quality is very poor, forget to work from the hotel room using free wireless. Breakfast area needs improvements.

Room Tip: Ask for room with park view, gives lots of Peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPortoAlegre, Assistente de Operações at Quality Hotel Porto Alegre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Google Translation
Gostaria de agradecer seus comentários referentes á sua hospedagem no Quality Porto Alegre.

Estamos sempre em busca da satisfação total de nossos hóspedes, por isso seu feedback será um encorajamento para continuarmos a melhorar a qualidade de nossos serviços.

Agradecemos novamente por nos informar sobre sua experiência e esperamos recebe-la em sua próxima visita a Porto Alegre

Cordialmente,
Patrícia Grahl
Assistente de Operações
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is in front of a park named as "Parcao". You can arrive at the hotel and go for a walk in the park until approximately 7 PM. Or you can take your breakfest and go for a walk before go to your meeting. The hotel is located in the Moinhos de Ventos, which has lots of restaurants near from the hotel. There is a welcome drink, some rooms have kingsize bed (I love it). The hotel is new, so you will not have any bad suprise. Everything ok.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in front to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPortoAlegre, Assistente de Operações at Quality Hotel Porto Alegre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sua estada no Quality Porto Alegre e nos sentimos honrados com seus gentis comentários e elogios.
Nossa equipe fica muito gratificada com o compartilhamento de sua satisfação ao hospedar-se conosco.
Nosso principal objetivo é garantir a qualidade do serviço que oferecemos, e ao compartilhar sua opinião conosco e com tantos outros Viajantes ficamos muito felizes e engajados a cada vez mais nos aperfeiçoarmos e superar ainda mais a expectativa do nosso cliente.

Cordialmente,
Patrícia
Assistente de Operações
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is well situated and very clean and new rooms.
Although it has very friendly staff, It lacks organization. They lost my reservation made by telephone one month earlier and that I had confirmed on the previous day. When I arrived at the hotel at 1am there was no reservation under my name. Luckily there were still vacancies.
At the checkout they again lost my data in the system and wanted to charge the full value and not the promotional price which I was entitled by my advance booking. My checkout was performed at 5 am so I could catch my flight, however the office to set the correct value of the fare would not open until 8 am. Luckily they returned the extra amount I had paid.
In addition, the hotel has no pool and no other service that justifies the amount charged.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligia_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityPortoAlegre, Assistente de Operações at Quality Hotel Porto Alegre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Google Translation
Gostaria de agradecer seus comentários referentes á sua hospedagem no Quality Porto Alegre.

Estamos sempre em busca da satisfação total de nossos hóspedes, por isso seu feedback será um encorajamento para continuarmos a melhorar a qualidade de nossos serviços.
Peço desculpa pelos inconvenientes, ocorridos em sua estadia.

Agradecemos novamente por nos informar sobre sua experiência e esperamos reve-la em sua próxima visita a Porto Alegre.

Cordialmente,
Patrícia Grahl
Assistente de Operações
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
Bela Vista
Radisson Porto Alegre
Radisson Porto Alegre
#6 of 78 in Porto Alegre
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moinhos de Vento
Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel
Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel
#4 of 78 in Porto Alegre
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Porto Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Porto Alegre

Property: Quality Hotel Porto Alegre
Address: Rua Comendador Caminha 42, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90430-030, Brazil (Formerly Tryp Porto Alegre)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Porto Alegre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the district of Moinhos do Vento and 4 miles from Salgado Filho International Airport, this hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi. Private parking is available. Rooms at the Quality Hotel Porto Alegre are modern decorated with large windows facing the park or the city. They have flat-screen TVs with cable channels and a large work desk. Ironing facilities and safe are included. Guests at Quality Porto Alegre can use the on site laundry and business facilities. A breakfast buffet is served at the hotel's lounge. A variety of restaurants and are in the area around the hotel. The Porto Alegre Country Club and the city's bus station are within 3 miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Porto Alegre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Porto Alegre Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing