We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    476
    108
    22
    19
See reviews for
205
161
68
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is located in a busy area and was not built with noise reduction in mind. I was on the 10th floor and heard a lot of traffic in the evening until the city began to calm down at 11:30 or 12:00. The room has individual air conditioning units that are noisy also. Add the T.V which is louder than ussual to drown out the traffic and air conditioning units and you have one noisy room.

That being said the room was not great but I enjoyed the kitchenette. There is a great grocery store less than 2 blocks away. A park about 5 blocks away where you can walk or run.

The room was clean. The bed was a little firm but comfortable enough. There was plenty of hot water (BIG PLUS) and the lighting in the bathroom was good for getting ready in the morning. The desk was not very big, kind of a long ledge, but the size of the desk was made up for by the ease of using the internet. I think it was the easiest Wi-Fi I have ever accessed in a hotel. And the wi-fi was free!

The biggest asset is their staff who was warm, friendly and very helpful. There was also someone at the desk who spoke english.

The review that mentioned the hall lighting is right, it is slow to respond but it does respond and it did not bother me at all. Also I saw no bugs anywhere.

It is a good basic hotel with enough plusses to stay at as long as you are not a super light sleeper. If I were to go to Porto Allegre I would try to get into the Sheraton which is in a little quieter neighborhood and looks like it has central air since I didn't see the airconditioning units hanging out the windows. But it is much more expensive... of course.

Room Tip: I guess request the highest floor you can, although I was on the 10th and still heard a lot of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodlechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoKanbara, Gerente geral at Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear user "Noodlechecker",

Thanks for your comments. These informations will allow us improve our services and products.

About the noise problem from air conditioning, we will change the equipment in january,2014.

Talking about the lights, we are working to change some equipments to better functioning.

The location, as mentioned, it is one of the best in Porto Alegre, close from everything (bars, parks, supermarket, farmacy and shopping mall).

I hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Fernando Kanbara
General Manager
Mercure POA Manhattan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Found two bed bugs upon entering room. One crawling on desk top and one on picture frame above bed. Changed rooms immediately. One front desk attendant laughed when I told them, then the other apologized and gave me a new room which so far is clear. Room 508.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoKanbara, Gerente geral at Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Jordan L,

Thanks for your comments. This will allow us improve better services and products.
I will reinforce the procedures and behaviors with my team about this problem.

I hope to see you again in Porto Alegre.

Sincerely,

Fernando Kanbara
General Manager
Mercure POA Manhattan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week in relation to a sports event. We had a superior room with a balcony and being on the 11th floor we had wide views of the city. The rooms are of good size, with accompanying bathroom (inc the biggest shower I've encountered in a hotel) and a small kitchen. We did have to ask for a kettle but that seems to be the way this hotel does it. Plenty of opening windows etc for fresh air. A bit noisy at night as it's in a busy area but after the first night (Saturday) I didn't notice it. There is a shutter you can drop down over the bedroom window at night to keep noise down / room darker. Free wifi. Staff are really helpful and those on reception speak English, altho the waiters in the restaurant & breakfast had limited English but then I think that if you are going to another country you should at least be able to speak the very basics of their language. And because I made an effort to learn, we had few hassles at any time. We had planned on eating out at neighbourhood restaurants but it turned out the hotel restaurant was very good with great food and cheaper than other places as it turned out. I am impressed when the waiters can remember your room number after one or two visits! Made good use of the swimming pool and there's also a well appointed gym. There's shops nearby, a supermarket across the road (no English) and a chemist as well. About 500m down the road is a bigger lot of shops if you are into shopping for other than necessities. Also a couple of nearby parks to laze around. It's easy to get a taxi from the front door but be warned they are all driven by the spirit of Ayrton Senna - at pace with road lanes being merely a loose guideline. Having said that we saw no accidents or dinged cars at all. They are cheap compared to what we are used to at home.

I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel at all. We did our bookings online directly with the hotel, and no hassles.

Room Tip: Superior rooms recommended rather than the standard if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoKanbara, General Manager at Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Smithy:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Fernando Kanbara
Gerente Geral
Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for a few night, Mercure standards are well in place complemented with Brazilian flavor. I enjoyed staying there and can finish the review without mentioning that hotel is situated in excellent location very near to night life spots, hope can go there again in future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aytun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoKanbara, General Manager at Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Aytun:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Fernando Kanbara
Gerente Geral
Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We always know what to expect from a Mercure: standard breakfast, roomy apartments, nice location. The Mercure Manhattan does not break the rules: located in a charmy location in Moinho dos Ventos neighborhood, fast room service (ordered an Italian omelet and green salad and waited only for 15 minutes on Sunday night), decent breakfast (not included in the standard rate, extra charge of US$12). The property is modern and renovated. The apartment is flat-style with a living room, small kitchen, queen size bed and two LCD tv sets (I´d rather switch the two small LCDs for just one big screen tv). But considering the rate of US$100/night, it highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilvioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoKanbara, General Manager at Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Google Translation
Prezado Silvio

Apreciamos imensamente seus comentàrios referentes à sua hospedagem no Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan . É sempre um prazer receber impressões positivas.

Seus comentàrios relacionados a qualidade de nossos serviços e produtos foram compartilhados com nossas equipes. Tenho certeza de que seu feedback serà um encorajamento para continuarmos a melhorar a qualidade de nossos serviços.

Agradecemos novamente por nos informar sobre sua experiência e esperamos que sua próxima visita seja tâo agradàvel quanto a anterior.

Sinceramente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
Bela Vista
Radisson Porto Alegre
Radisson Porto Alegre
#5 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Moinhos de Vento
Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel
Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel
#3 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Porto Alegre Centro
#2 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Holiday Inn Porto Alegre
#20 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan

Property: Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan
Address: Rua Miguel Tostes 30 | Moinhos de Ventos, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90430-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Porto Alegre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porto Alegre
#4 Green Hotel in Porto Alegre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto Alegre
#5 Business Hotel in Porto Alegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location in Porto Alegre, close to Parcao, Parque Redeçao and Calcada da Fama (famous street with bars and restaurants). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Porto Alegre Manhattan Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing