We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Alegre
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Business Stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really enjoyed this Hotel. It's a bit hard to find something close, but if you do a little research you can find places to walk to. Pleanty to do if you have a car or take a taxi. Management was great from the moment I checked in and all the staff was quick and helpful. I will stay here each time I am in PA

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    234
    108
    24
    14
See reviews for
134
52
24
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

1. The staff: Very attentive and cordial, no complaints. Coped well with my very broken Portuguese.
2. The room: Very spacious but outdated. The bathroom was huge with an enormous Jacuzzi tub and a walk in glass shower.
3. The location: Although the city is not big, you can get to any place by Taxi in a maximum of 20 minutes, Took a taxi from right out front straight to the airport and he was very helpful.
4. The food: Breakfast was a very good buffet with a mix of cereals, fresh fruit and cooked breakfast foods.
By the way, if you travel to Brazil, remember to take your plug adaptor with you as everywhere I went had a slightly different plug!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Staff was rude, rooms were outdated and there were people yelling under my window until 1am (I called the reception 3 times and the only solution was to threaten to call the police). Also had to wait a lot for my check-in, so make sure you plan in advance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Francisco R,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. For this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

I look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

1. The staff: Pretty attentive and cordial, no complaints
2. The room: Spacious but outdated. The bathroom is big but many wasted spaces with small shower with curtain.
3. The location: Although the city is not big, you can get to any place by Taxi in a maximum of 20 minutes, but there was nothing within 15 minutes of walking distance. And, not always has taxi available, five days there and had to wait for taxi for four days and as the Taxi was not operated by the hotel, you need to be very careful, I was ripped off by a taxi.
4. The food: As there is nothing within walking distance and I always come back to the hotel after the show by 9PM, had no other choice than eat in the hotel. Ate three times the dinner "buffet" and it was the same menu, wonder if they just re-heat the left over. So, tried the room service, well, even worse.

By the way, if you travel to Brazil, remember to take your plug adaptor with you as it is European type plug anywhere, even in the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William6249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear William6249,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It is unfortunate we let you down on some aspects of your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding the bathroom and the quality of food at the the restaurant. Please be assured that the feedback we receive will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Quite old hotel from the '90, but nice and big rooms. Good breakfast and efficient service. The location is also great, close to many restaurants and bars. The hotel is located at one of the main avenue of Porto Alegre, easy to find and about 20' from the airport.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Only one night at this location with an average experience in all senses, room, general service and breakfast. Valet parking is messy. so get ready to wait several minutes when you arrive and a lot more when you pretend to pick your car back. Check in and check out were fast and staff very keen and gentle.

Room Tip: High floors are preferred to avoid the noise of main street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear corrysp,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you had a smooth check in and check out. However, I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion particularly with the valet services. We value our guest's opinions as they help us ensure we our providing our guests with the high standards we strive to reach. rest assured your comments will be looked into.

Again, thank you for your review. We would be more than pleased to welcome you in our hotel once more in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was the nicest hotel we've stayed in during our 15-day 12-city trip. I risk sounding like a snob, but the room was like an American hotel room: big, spacious, clean, comfortable bed, plenty of outlets and quiet except for the traffic from the street below. The street noise pretty most quieted from midnight - 4am. We didn't eat there, so I can't comment on the food, but we slept well (thanks also to the Velcro on the drapes to keep the room dark) and enjoyed the lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ricarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
Bela Vista
Radisson Porto Alegre
Radisson Porto Alegre
#5 of 78 in Porto Alegre
684 reviews
Hotel ibis budget Porto Alegre
#18 of 78 in Porto Alegre
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eko Residence Hotel
#9 of 78 in Porto Alegre
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Alegre

Property: Holiday Inn Porto Alegre
Address: Avenida Carlos Gomes 565, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90480-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Porto Alegre
#12 Business Hotel in Porto Alegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Porto Alegre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best known hotel brand in the world has a high standard of quality and personalized service.The Holiday Inn Porto Alegre offers three categories of apartments - standard, deluxe and super deluxe, equipped with LCD cable TV, mini bar, free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. The hotel¿s excellent structure is designed for your comfort and includes a restaurant, bar & lounge, fitness center, spa, beauty salon, business center, event center, valet parking and room service 24 hours.The Holiday Inn Hotel Porto Alegre is located at Carlos Gomes Avenue, in a business area, 06 KM from Salgado Filho International Airport. There are many attractions near the hotel: Shopping Iguatemi, Encol Square, sports clubs and Country Club Golf.Join our Priority Club Rewards program. Priority Club points never expire and you can use them for free nights at hotels, or choose air miles. Members gain exclusive benefits like free late check-out and room upgrade upon availability. Stay with who you know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Alegre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Alegre Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing