We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fish!”

Restaurante Gambrinus
Ranked #61 of 7,629 Restaurants in Porto Alegre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Historic City Center
Reviewed January 16, 2019

Gambrinus is an amazing landmark in Porto Alegre. This restaurant is realy old and it's history is full of curios episodes. When tou're there, go for the Linguado. You can't go wrong!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Felipesampaiocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 530 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Portoalegre might be well known for the meat, but there I had the option of having good fish. The place is located in a market which is nice to visit, and the restaurant has a very good atmosphere, but it is not cheap. I would go back

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank reimonrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaoacm, Gerente at Restaurante Gambrinus, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018
Google Translation

Muito obrigado por sua avaliação!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

A real portuguese food in Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil, this is a typical portuguese restaurant with excellent dishes, located near the city hall in downtown, inside a Public Market where you find almost anything. At the restaurant you would see pictures of famous local people and a chair at the wall. Not easy to park.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mosttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Gambrinus is a landmark in Porto Alegre,
It seems one is eating at Mercado del Puerto, in Moontevideo, while you are in fact in Mercado Publico de Porto Alegre. The food is excellent as well as its staff! They offer a selected menu for each day of the week, apart from the regular a la carte menu.
I strongly recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank renatateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

I arrived with a coworker for lunch on a Friday at 12:20. The place, which is inside the municipal market, was nearly full, but still had tables available and no waiting list.

We were initially well received and promptly seated. Things started to take a downturn right away however, with the waiter tossing a single menu on the table and promptly turning away.

We saw the table next to us eating the cod daily special, which looked interesting. We ordered this daily, considering we had to be back to our meeting at 2 pm. We also asked for an entreé.

Unfortunately we watched several tables arrive, be quickly served and leave, all while the waiter barely glanced our way and muttered our order would arrive soon.

About 50 minutes later we concluded we wouldn't be able to wait any longer and questioned the waiter. His reply was that the dailies were served much faster, to which my colleague replied that we _had_ ordered the daily. Ah, this specific daily, the shredded cod & potatoes took much longer, according to the waiter, which was particularly galling, considering we saw the daily being served all around us. And of course, the kitchen was to blame...

We waited a little longer and the plate arrived (notice the disappearing entreé). What we got looked nothing like the food we'd seen. It was a clearly rushed and half-assed job. We ended up gulping down a middling dish, in a hurry, and there were still some shenanigans with the bill.

Locale: Nice place, good seating and ambiance.
Service: Ridiculous and insulting.
Food: Average to below average. I certainly expected much more from a one hour daily dish from a well-rated spot.
Price: Terrible value. Much pricier than close-by alternatives and the final bill looked shady (although we didn't have time to check it)
Overall: A serious dud. Don't waste your time.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrev660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaoacm, Gerente at Restaurante Gambrinus, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017
Google Translation

Obrigado pelo seu comentário, iremos discutir o fato descrito e tomar atitudes para sua correção. Muito obrigado e pedimos desculpa pelo transtorno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Gambrinus also viewed

 
Porto Alegre, RS
 

Been to Restaurante Gambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing