We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite italian restaurants”

Taverna Monte Pollino
Ranked #505 of 7,267 Restaurants in Porto Alegre
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Menino Deus
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorite italian restaurants”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Taverna Monte Pollino was a great surprise.

A restaurant simple, looking from outside you might not even notice it is there but when you come inside.... Feels like you are really in a italian tavern from the earlys 1920s.

A restaurant managed by their own family with those secret family recipes and service like you are one old friend.

But lets talk about food. I have tried almost every dish and I can tell the I was very satisfied with every single one of them. But the Gnhocchi al Ragu, oh my god! Amazing. That is probably the second best Ragu in the world, mine is he first. : )

All the 4 formaggi dishes were terrific and the wine list was preatty interesting. The Lidio Carraro's wines, which is one of my favorite brazilian winery, have a great cost/benefit ratio and can pair almost every single dish.

I am not affraid to say, THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ITALIAN RESTAURANTS OUTSIDE ITALY!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Veal cassarole”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very good italian. I always go for veal cassarole and a pasta. Yummmy...

Helpful?
Thank Lisiane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasil
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Go for the food!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

From outside, the place may look too simple and it's really simple inside, but the food is very good (vitelo is great!). Nice prices. Unpretensious like a good trattoria.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best lasagna I've eaten in my life”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It's a restaurant with an inner peculiar décor, evoking a typical Italian tavern. There's so many dishes from Italy culinary, whose highlights are the lasagna of chicken or bolognese lasagna. Certainly will be a lovely experience! The best lasagna I’ve eaten in my life was in this place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
429 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“A Litlle taste of Italy”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This small tavern, despite be a little bit hidden, worth the difficulty to find it.
The place has a typical atmosphere of a Italian tavern. Very good pastas, good meat dishes, but the big star of the menu is a Bolognese lasagna. You can eat at hundreds of Italian taverns around the world, but I think you difficultly will go find a better one !

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Monte Pollino also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Monte Pollino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing