We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pasta restaurant in Porto Alegre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atelier de Massas

Atelier de Massas
Ranked #9 of 7,227 Restaurants in Porto Alegre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Historic City Center
brazil
Level Contributor
206 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Best pasta restaurant in Porto Alegre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

A great place to eat at Porto Alegre's historical center, you certainly will need a taxi to get there if you go by the night

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dvbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,098
    584
    111
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best pasta in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

For me this is the best pasta restaurant in Porto Alegre - period. I go there regularly since the opening in 1992, when I was still a student in the nearby Law School. This is the place I usually choose for my birthday dinners - year in, year out. The chef and owner is also a visual artist and the walls are lined with his and other artists' works, which make up for a great ambiance. Delicious and huge antipasti bar. Try the Fettuccine à Forestier - you won't regret it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alehmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

a lot of people, bad service, not clean. good meat

Helpful?
1 Thank mariadomiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelotas, RS
Level Contributor
238 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Used to love it, but something bad is happening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have been to Atelier de Massas a few times, and loved it every time. But in this last occasion, I was really disappointed. The antipasti table was loaded with different stuff, but most of it looked ancient (and fridge burned). The main course was not so good, my fried commented "it seems that the chef is on vacation". Ingredients chopped too thick, dish not very hot, hmm. Maybe she was right. The place has another problem - not having a wine fridge, it is impossible to have wine in summer. Unless, of course, you like it HOT. I, for one, will think twice before returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VSOP_AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pasta with art !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

The owner is an artist, and the restaurant is full of photos, paintures, sculptures and so on. There is an antipast buffet very creative and delicious. The pasta is home made and cooked right in the point. The dessert are not the highest point of the dinner. One of my preference is the 'spaghetti marinera' , but there are other wonderful options.

Helpful?
Thank ClauSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier de Massas also viewed

 

Been to Atelier de Massas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing