We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Targhee Resort
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhof Lodge(Teton Village)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn at Jackson Hole(Teton Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
77
52
34
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
52
34
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjackson holeski lifttrap barbranding ironchair liftteewinot lodgesioux lodgesnow conditionsamazing snowidaho fallsfresh powdergreat pool and hot tubmountain topviews are fantasticgeneral storelift ticketsski area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 184 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My husband and I just spent a wonderful ski weekend at the Grand Targhee Resort. It was our first time there and we were impressed. We have skiied all over the US and Europe, and found that this small, relatively unknown ski resort has a lot to offer. The scenery was world-class and the skiiing was great. The food also was very good and inexpensive at the Branding Iron Grill, which is an elegant rustic lodge-style restaurant at the base of the slopes with a roaring kiva fire and soothing music. The staff at Grand Targhee were incredibly friendly and informative, and we liked our room at the resort's Sioux Lodge. The outdoor pool was well heated, and the outdoor hot tub was adequate -- though I would have liked a bigger/better hot tub. We also enjoyed the fact that this is a NON-SMOKING resort! This ski resort is THANKFULLY not a "party" place, but instead a wonderful, little gem for folks seeking good, clean fun on the slopes followed by a relaxing dinner in front of the fire.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBugIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We've stayed at Grand Targhee twice now and love this resort. To be totally fair, the rooms aren't the greatest. It's basically a motel room with an upgraded super-comfy bed. Which, is just what you're looking for when you check in to a place like Grand Targhee: a comfy place to crash after spending all of your energy outdoors. We haven't been up during the winter, but in summer it is reminiscent of your favorite camp, with outdoor activities galore to keep you occupied throughout the day (archery, climbing wall, mountain biking, swiming, hiking, frisbee golf, horseback riding...).

The staff is extremely nice, helpful, and laid back. On multiple occasions they have gone out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable.. even going so far as to.. gAsP.. bend the rules! (Unlike corporate chain establishments). We'll be back another summer to enjoy the great views, peaceful, secluded atmosphere, and the fantastic time that we have up in Wydaho!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank L-and-J-McSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

My husband booked the accommodations months in advance and when we arrived they were in order, save for the fact that our room wasn't immediately ready as we were a little early for check-in. The front desk clerk advised us of the restaurants at the resort and we chose to go over to the Trap Bar for burgers and beers, which were all good.

When we checked back around 2, our room was ready and we headed up. We booked a loft in the Sioux Lodge Suites, which I was disappointed to find out was in the tall condo complex with the giant Indian painted on the side rather than in the more modern main lodge, but since we wanted space, that was a choice we'd made.

The room was on the fourth floor and there is not an elevator, so we lugged our gear and luggage up the stairs for our time there. Not a big problem, but something to keep in mind if you aren't keen on a stair climb after a long day. Even though our room was said to be of the "remodeled" types - it had it's quirks. The bathroom is small - and if there were more than just the two of us in the room, it'd likely have been a problem. FYI: There is no fan in the bathroom.

There was a kitchenette with a microwave, coffee maker and mini-fridge that were all in good working order and new. However, these rooms no longer get dish service, so there aren't any utensils, glasses or plates at all. We were told otherwise when we originally booked, and had to go down to the store to buy coffee mugs when we got there rather than use the styrofoam ones they leave in the room. Also, there isn't a sink in the kitchenette, so water for coffee, etc has to be drawn from the bathroom sink.

Weird thing - there were two enormous flat screen TVs in our room. One was hung on the wall just above one sitting directly beneath it on the table. When you used the remote from the couch, it would control both TVs simultaneously. Also, one of the TVs didn't work, so it would just show static the whole time. There was not a TV upstairs in the loft, which we thought was weird.

Speaking of the loft - it was HOT. I thought it was strange when we checked in and I saw a big box fan in the closet, but at night when we went to bed I realized why. All the heat from the day travels up to the top floor (where the lofts are) and gets trapped in the loft area of the rooms. Even with the windows and sliding glass door open, we sweated.

The decor and furnishings were new and fine. The couch was actually pretty comfy, as was the bed. We didn't have anyone using the bunks, so I can't speak for those specifically.

A disappointment was the porch. We looked at photos online and really liked the fact that a sliding glass door opened onto a good sized balcony overlooking the winter scenery. However, when we arrived, we realized that the rustic logs that were so prominent as the outer balcony railing actually extended across the sliding glass doors so that you couldn't actually go out onto the patio from your room. All you could do was slide open the door and look out over this new protective railing. It appears that they've not remodeled the balconies to be safe enough for people to use.

During our stay we ate out at most of the restaurants at the resort. We found Snorkel's to be good during the day for quick snacks/drinks while taking a break from skiing and also at night for a pizza and beers. The wait staff was nice every time we went in there and we found it less crowded at night than the alternatives. It also has a good view of the mountain.

We made reservations for the Targhee Steakhouse for our first night and left a little disappointed. We (there were only two of us) were seated right behind a boisterous table of 12+, despite the fact that there were other tables in the restaurant. The kids at the table continuously knocked into my chair throughout dinner and it was annoying. The parents were loud and drunk and didn't seem to care that they were aggravating people in the restaurant. I was disappointed that the restaurant staff didn't seat us elsewhere once they saw how loud the other table was getting. As far as the food: it was marginal. We both had steaks and they were fair. The wine selection was fine, but nothing to get excited about. The best thing about the restaurant was the view and fireplace, both of which we weren't able to enjoy since we were seated away from the fireplace and it was nighttime.

Something that sticks with me about this experience was the noise. It was constant. Whether it was the groomers going all evening (expected), drunk people leaving the bars at 2am or the deliveries/laundry/machinery going FIRST THING in the morning - the place is loud. This was not the peaceful resort setting that we'd imagined. Having stayed at plenty ski resorts, I was ready for some noise from groomers and guests, but not on the order of deliveries happening below my window at 6am every morning.

At the end of the day, we'd definitely go back. But we'd do it when the snow was good (it was much more like spring skiing than we'd anticipated), stay in the Teewinot Lodge and plan to have dinner down in town somewhere. (Royal Wolf in Driggs is good)

4  Thank Norcal.Vaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

I really loved the feel of this smaller ski resort. The food was great at the steakhouse, people that worked here were very friendly, and they get tons of powder snow. Only complaint was we stayed at the lodge and it really really LOUD, and we are a young couple that normally doesn't mind, but for the price we paid we expected more relaxation. People were stomping about the second floor and stair ways at all hours, we are talking rolling their luggage up and down the stairs, stomping out their shoes, at 3-4 am, you can hear every move anyone makes in the lodge and apparently they were allowing people from a bus check in at this hour ...then the snow plow started plowing the parking lot at 4:30am , pushing the snow right to our room window beeping the whole time. We proabably would not stay at the lodge again, maybe one of the other on site locations are quiter.....
Another thing is the room was quite old and aging, bathroom wasn't that clean, etc.
We will try the ski resort again, but like I said no more Grand Targhee lodge for us.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leeshajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

My husband set up this trip three months in advance for us and our two boys, 11 and 12. We understood the resort to be small and family-oriented with good snow and good skiing. We have stayed at other ski resorts, large and small, at hotels and condos. He set up the trip over the phone and got an e-mail confirmation from the staff. Other resorts where we've stayed have provided travel information, maps, instructions. Other than telling us that we could fly either into Jackson Hole, WY, or Idaho Falls, ID, Grand Targee's staff sent nothing. No big deal: We pulled driving instructions off the web and drove from Jackson Hole, which is advertised as 45 minutes away from the resort.

Our first inkling that this resort staff might not be well trained came the day we arrived in Jackson Hole, late because of flight delays in Salt Lake City. We called the resort and asked for a restaurant recommendation in Jackson Hole so we could eat dinner before we drove to the resort. The young man who answered the phone had never been to Jackson Hole and had no idea where we could eat and could not ask anyone else at the resort. Then he added that our trip would take not 45 minutes, but 90, because we would have to cross a mountain pass and the roads were icy. No problem: We can drive on ice. But the kids were awfully tired; a shorter trip would have been nice. Had we known the distance, we'd have spent the first night in Jackson Hole.

When we checked in we asked for an additional room, which had not been available earlier, so that the four of us would not have to stay in one room.. The staff found a room for us, but could not register us into the room in the hotel computer system. After 12 hours of travel, we languished in the car for 45 minutes while the night staff tried to figure things out. This morning, one of the day staff remarked that she could not keep staff long enough to train them decently.

When we got the rooms, we noticed that they were really, really dark. The rooms are not big, but two small bedside lamps are barely enough to read by, much less light the corners of the rooms. The bathroom lights might have been 40 watts; the two bedside lamps were 60. When we asked for higher-wattage light bulbs, the staff said there were none available, that the resort was on an energy conservation program (translation: management is cutting corners). So we asked for a lamp for the table in the room. None of them were available either.

One window in one of our rooms did not work. The rooms are supplied with "spa quality" soaps and shampoos, but no hair dryers. Old plastic gel soap and shampoo containers remain on the walls, empty. There are signs up about not taking too long a shower as the resort's hot water tanks could not handle it.

The resort has three restaurants: a steak house, a deli, and a bar. Under-21's are not allowed in the bar, so we had two dining options. Tonight, at 5:30, we arrived at the steak house, which had one occupied table, and were told that the place was booked until 9:15 p.m. As we had spent the afternoon in the hospital and missed lunch after our son took a fall on the mountain, we could not wait. We were never told, during the three months after we made our reservations, that dining times needed to be reserved; in fact we had understood the opposite.
At this point, I complained to the resort manager on duty about the lack of notice that reservations were necessary. She said that the policy had recently changed, but we had gotten no notice of it. She offered to make reservations for us in Driggs, which is 25 minutes down the mountain, but we were too tired to make the drive and too hungry to wait. When I talked to the restaurant manager, he told me that the staff had not followed procedure and should have fetched him, and that he would have seated us. By this time, however, the boys had ordered a pizza in the deli.

Upon returning to our room, we found a phone message saying that my husband's ski lesson, which he booked a month ago, had somehow been double-booked and that he could have only a portion of it. He has planned different activities for each day here, however, and does not have any other days free.

We strongly suspect that at some level the policy here is to favor guests who are returnees, rather than trying to create new returnees by letting first-timers in on the rules. Which is fine, if you are a returnee. But the resort should not bill itself as anything other than a little local, we-take-care-of-our-own sort of place--certainly not a ski resort for which people would want to fly across the country. This is a beautiful place, and the snow is great. But there is plenty of snow all over the west and Canada; we will not be returning to ski here. Our best time for the duration of this visit will be seeing what will go wrong next.

This said, I have to put in a huge kudo for the ski patrol who took our son off the mountain after his fall: Kevin, Jason, and two others whose names we did not get were sympathetic, caring, and top-notch. And some of the staff really seems to care about the gaps in the amenities and service here...but they seem to have their hands tied.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank familytripmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews