We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
99
69
37
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
99
69
37
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lift branding iron mountain bike general store ski lodge hot tub during ski season snow driggs tetons hikers miles utah
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 234 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016

First of all, note that Tripadvisor and Orbitz would like you to believe that his hotel is either 12 or 20 miles from Grand Tetons National Park. Maybe as the crow flies but the drive is at least 40 minutes. It is a somewhat difficult drive through the mountains but the scenery makes it worthwhile and the traffic is light.
The property itself wonderful. There are a number of buildings with different names and our room was in the Sioux Lodge Suites. It had a woodsy, rustic decor, very clean and well laid out. The was a small kitchen area with a microwave, fridge and kitchen table. The bed was very comfy and there was an easy chair too. No air conditioning but it's so pleasant at night with the windows and patio door open to get a cool breeze. The property is lovely - many pine trees.
There is a bar and a couple of restaurants - one is very casual and the other is much more upscale.
The area is a mecca for hikers and mountain bikers in the summer. The resort has a policy of no noise after 10pm and it was very quiet.
DO NOT MISS riding the ski lift to the top of the mountain. This was a fun experience and the scenery was excellent, a well spent $15 per person.
Lastly, I want to mention that my original plan was to stay in Jackson, the closest town to the park. I'm sooooooo glad we didn't. We drove through there one afternoon and it was very crowded, people everywhere, no place to park. The Grand Targhee turned out to be dumb luck.

Room tip: On the second floor we had a cool breeze with the windows open. I don't know if this would be possible with a ground level room.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DebM106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

We stayed on this property twice, and both experiences were quite different.

During our first stay, we had a 2 bedroom condo (we were a party of 8). Condo was clean, lots of space, and a kitchen. Note that the kitchen is very basic : small fridge (undersized for a condo that can accommodate 10 people), only a two-plate stove, no oven. Place was quiet. The hotel is very isolated, only a tiny convenience store on site (closes early).

For our second stay, we had a studio suite (party of 4). Studio was spacious enough, but no kitchen, only a microwave and a small fridge (NO freezer). Room was not clean, especially the bathroom where we found hair from the previous renters on the floor, in the sink and in the bathtub. And this time, place was not quiet at all, people smoking around the property (supposed to be a non-smoker environment), parties late until 1 AM, children running and screaming before 7 in the morning, etc. So, not such a good exprience the second time around ! All the chaos can be explained by a big mountain bike event that was taking place on that weekend, but you still expect any hotel to provide a minimum standard for quietness and cleanliness.

Pros : charming, lots of space, comfortable beds, great pool and hot tub. A lot of hiking trails right on your doorstep.

Cons : choose your dates carefully if your want quietness (avoid big events), room should have been cleaner, very isolated (closest village is a 20 minutes drive), minimal fridge, no air conditionning, limited amenities on site.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

We stopped here on our way up to Yellowstone. It is a small, fairly plain resort in a very scenic, secluded area near the Tetons. Our room had a queen bed and a set of bunk beds (great for the kids) with a microwave and fridge. The room was small but clean and well furnished and had a nice balcony. They did have some nice, inexpensive summer activities available onsite though they all were closed by 5:00. The resort is VERY secluded...around 7 miles to the main road and then almost 25 minutes to any town or amenities. For this reason, I rate this resort as average for not having better food options, longer general store hours etc onsite. The restaurant we ate at (branding iron) was average at best. Protein entrees averaged around $25 a piece and were underwhelming. Stop at a grocery or convenience store before you arrive...they do have laundry facilities but do not have vending machines with detergent. They may have had this at General store but it was closed when we arrived and didn't open until after we left. Overall, it did the job, wasn't too crowded and offered splendid scenery. $180 on Hotwire seemed a bit much for lack of accessibility and amenities. Probably a much better stay in the winter.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SussexCountyNJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

I'm sure this place is great for a winter ski trip. However, for a trip to Tetons & Yellowstone in the summer it is NOT a good place to stay. It was 87 degrees, no air conditioning. Have one small fan with the sun beating down on a big window that only a small portion at the bottom opens. Too hot to sleep. The small window was not enough to cool the room down at night. It overlooked parking lot so people walking by could see in our room. There are other places on the property that look to be better but I would not recommend the "Grand Targhee Lodge" to a friend.  Location - you are at least 2 hours from the west entrance of Yellowstone, an hour from Jackson and even further from Grand Teton National Park. From Jackson you go over a mountain pass to Driggs, Idaho and back into Wyoming up another mountain. Very basic motel 6 type room.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Gma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Room was super clean & quiet. Fun place for a business meeting with some great extra curricular activities like biking & hiking.

Outdoor hot tub is perfect for relaxing in the evening. Simple amenities that close early but Driggs, ID & Jackson Hole WY are close if you want to branch out.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank NoMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews