We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Targhee Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teton Teepee Lodge(Alta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
77
52
34
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
52
34
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjackson holeski lifttrap barbranding ironchair liftteewinot lodgesioux lodgesnow conditionsamazing snowidaho fallsfresh powdergreat pool and hot tubmountain topviews are fantasticgeneral storelift ticketsski area
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 184 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have snowboarded all over the United States and Grand Targhee was one of my favorites stops! Though it does not have many choices for lodging that is what makes it so great, it is not crowded and the get some of the best snow around, so much that if you have a child skiing they ma need a snorkel!There are plenty of runs for everyone level , no lift lines and very affordable place to take the family. Though restaurants are limited right at the resort base there are some really great ones if you are willing to drive approx 15 min down the mountain. I have stayed at the Teewinot lodge and that was ok but like a dorm room, the Sioux lodge was much better and was much more spacious they were more like a studio apt with a loft and the spa and lifts are right across the parking lot. Now there is new lodging available if you want a bit of a nicer place called the Tower Residence that is also slopeside. I would totally recommend if you go to Grand Targhee to stay right at the Resort and not opt for the lodging down the mountain, it is not convenient or close unless you will be staying there for a long period of time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

But wow, what a LONG drive just to get to the bottom of the hill leading up to the resort! Buildings for sleeping are somewhat old, but because of very low number of people pleasant enough for us. When we ate dinner at Branding Iron Grille restaurant, there was only one other couple so we had a nice, romantic dinner. I highly recommend the smoked trout wrap!

Room Tip: The Teewinot Lodge building is older. Don't know about other buildings. But if you go during ski season, just be glad you have a room to recover in.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MauiNotKaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had a great time staying here. We are very avid skiers and have been all over the place this year, so far this was the most fun we had. If you've never been, GT is very small and quaint, everything you need right at the base. You won't use your car the entire time. The skiing was decent, if you are lucky enough to get a clear day use it to ski everywhere and get your bearings for when the fog rolls in. Very minimal rooms, no fridge or microwave. The best part by far was having the pool and hot tub to ourselves for the entire first night and a good portion of the second night. But Friday was over run by annoying kids their horrible parents (kids really ruin everything, if you have kids and read any of my reviews please pick a different vacation destination). The other reviews arn't lying when they say it's loud, the choice to use wood in the lodge's construction over cement was a bad one, thumping boots echo all day. The snow removal equipment was loud too but what can you do. Also, everyone working at the resort was so nice and helpful (except whoever stole my ballcap from the trap bar...). It was a world class destination ski vacation at a great value. We would come back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank places2gowithnoone2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Middle of the week, day of skiing, amazing to say the least. It was apparent that efforts been made to improve this place. The buildings, store, restaurants have all been updated. Don't expect big or lavish. This is a small resort with one store, one restaurant and one small hotel. You can take the Alltrans shuttle from JH for the day, excellent value that includes lift ticket ($90 ea). The food at restaurant was stunningly incredible. Best reuben sand. with mushroom soup I've had in a very very long time. Extremely friendly people. We got lucky and avoided that crowds. The place was empty with the best snow conditions I've experienced. Wide open trails, great snow, no people, what more can you ask for? Make a point to ski one day here if you vaca at Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank n0kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I found some of the reviews gave me pause and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. This isn't my first affordable slopeside lodging but this is the best among them. Grand Targhee is about the surroundings not the accommodations, which is why I visited, but the bed was comfortable and the pictures on the website show the appointment more outdated than it is. There are places in the room to put on and store your equipment, the carpets and linoleum is heavy duty and well worn. Don't expect to sleep past 7, the snowplow will ensure that, unless you have earplugs. The tiny cracks in the tub I imagine make it unsanitary for bath, it could use a reglazing. The truth is, I've found worse comfort for the money and the recreation can be unbeatable here. I would suggest a stay on the second floor, I stayed in room 212 and it had the added advantages of not being near the stairs and having only 1 next door neighbor (same with rooms 213), for those floors are creaky and the interior walls are thin. They have a decent coffee maker (without the carafe) and decent coffee in the room which was real convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews