We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the first impression turn you off...Rooms and location are excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa da Montanha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casa da Montanha
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Gramado
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't let the first impression turn you off...Rooms and location are excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The first impression is not so good since the hotel theme is hunting (something I do not enjoy...). However don't let the first impression turn you off. The rooms are a bit old but very clean and the bed and bed clothes are very good indeed.

Add that to the excellent location and the Casa da Montanha becomes one of the most value for money options in Gramado.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdienes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    320
    60
    4
    6
See reviews for
669
704
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, OKI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Montanha for 5 nights during a conference at the Gramado Expo Center. It does have a great hunter/lodge theme and is close to all the main shopping areas in Gramado. The woodwork on the front of the hotel (balcony, etc) is really nice. Common areas in the hotel are small, but nicely done, especially the two around the fireplace.

The hotel restraurant has a great varity of wild game and other things. It is very pricy and very slow. A group (8) of us had dinner there twice and it was a 3 hour ordeal each time. Lots of other options outside the hotel. Breakfast was great!

Front desk people were great, but the rest of the service, especially the bar area was pretty slow.

I had one of the rooms without any balcony and my window faced (literally 3 feet away) the side of the hill the hotel is built into. The room was small with hardly any room around the bed. Wifi in the room was hit or miss making any work hard to accomplish. Also, I could hear everything in the rooms around and above me - coughing, showering, talking, TVs, "other" sounds.

This is a great place if you are hanging out with your significant other or there on a shopping spree which is what it is made for - not so much for business. But if you are in Gramado, who the heck wants to be working??

If I could do it over I would definately get one of the rooms on the 4th (top) floor with the balcony looking over the front of the hotel. More expensive, but worth not going cheap and getting one of the small interior rooms.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$ (epecially if this is a special trip) and get a room on the 4th floor overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bconwayOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This ski-resort/hunting lodge-themed hotel in Gramado is a must-see if you ever make it up to this small, resort town. The service was exceptional, as were the amenities. Be sure to try their local, home-brew beer available at the bar downstairs. The rooms were quite nice, spacious, and quiet. The dinner service in the main restaurant was a bit slow. I would recommend going to El Fuego instead. They also have a heated pool, hot tub, and sauna down in the basement. And the nightly chocolates left on your pillow are delicious! No complaints here!

Room Tip: Facing the main street. Otherwise, you'll be looking at the "back yard".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just spent a long weekend in Gramado and we were pleased with our choice of hotel. As mentioned in the other posts, the locations is perfect...close enough to everything, but not in a noisy location. We stayed in one of the "Suite das Hortencias". It has a small bedroom and separate sitting area with a nice little balcony. I think the suite is worth it. We thought the breakfast buffet was good, and plentiful, and we never had to wait for a table. Our internet connection was very good. There is a small, but well kept gym and an indoor pool. Several nice touches as well...coffeemaker in the room, turn down service with great chocolates, a mini bar with a refrigerator with additional space for personal extras... Yes, it is a bit pricey, but was in the same range as some other hotels that we checked out. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: A suite is worth it for the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Without question, this is a great place to stay in Gramado. It is right on the main drag in town, walking distance to everything. The hotel sits up on a hillside away from the street, so it is relatively quiet. The common areas are huge, and very pleasant. There is a living room area with armchairs, a sofa, and a fireplace. There is a TV room, and also a casual restaurant on the varanda that is open all day. There is a fancy restaurant that opens only in the evening.

Our room had a nice bed, wooden floors, and a little balcony that gave onto the wooded area behind the hotel. The bathroom was big, if a little plain. Great hot shower. Turndown service in the evening with some little chocolates and the weather report for the following day.

There were several little things that were not perfect, which should be mentioned. Our mini-fridge compressor was irritatingly loud and would cycle quite often. Also, the jacuzzi in the pool area was lukewarm, not so nice for soaking on a cold day. On both mornings, we had to wait for a table at breakfast. Average wait time was around 10 minutes. Not terrible, but not great either. Also, the cable TV package was pretty lame. The selection of channels was smaller than the basic cable package that we have at home. Also, the volume on the TV wouldn't go very high. You had to struggle to hear it. Finally, the Wifi service was pretty flaky. We had trouble getting a connection almost every time we tried to get online.

As with every other place in Gramado, the prices here are high. We would consider coming back here, but probably not for full price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sipleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Good installations, but considering a R$1 thousands daily rate I was expecting more in terms of room size/decoration and thing to do while at the hotel (we got rain during one day and there was not som many things to do at the hotel).
Goods staff and nice common areas, but I have already stayed on better installations by a better competitive price. This year we will try the HOTEL SERRANO in order to compare.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HEBERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I spent my honeymoon in Gramado and the hotel Casa da Montanha was perfect!! All the staff was really kindly and pro active!! The room was very tidy and clean!!! The breakfast was wonderful!!! I just have good things to say about the hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gramado hotels
1.2 mi away
Valle D'incanto Midscale Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ritta Hoppner
Hotel Ritta Hoppner
#2 of 54 in Gramado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Estalagem St Hubertus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wish Serrano Resort & Convention
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alpestre
Hotel Alpestre
#13 of 54 in Gramado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Bella Hotel Conceito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa da Montanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa da Montanha

Property: Hotel Casa da Montanha
Address: Avenida Borges de Medeiros N 0 3166, Gramado, State of Rio Grande do Sul 95670-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Gramado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gramado
#4 Spa Hotel in Gramado
#4 Family Hotel in Gramado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gramado
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gramado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa da Montanha 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa da Montanha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Da Montanha Gramado, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing