We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flying Saddle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is great. The people are friendly and extremely helpful. For being out of the way it has almost anything you could want.
One negative and that is the shower. Nice and warm but bad pressure.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Cissydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed one night on our recent road trip to Yellowstone and Salt Lake City. Clean and moderately priced compared to the immediate Jackson area. Nice spacious room but no fridge, somewhat dated and don't look for flat screen TV--nevertheless the staff were very friendly and our stay included a hot breakfast. Having a drink on the patio we enjoyed our conversation with another guest. Great location but even with GPS help we almost missed the place.

Room Tip: If the sound of a waterfall bothers you get a room further away from that feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We made a last minute decision to visit this area. First we looked at hotel in Jackson Hole: expensive and the ones that had a decent price had terrible reviews. Then we found Flying Saddle. Great reviews and they were right. This place had a wonderful staff, very clean rooms especially the bathrooms. The value for the money was great and it was only about 35 minuted to Jackson Hole. A word of advice: do not speed on the way to Jackson Hole! The WY state booys love to catch us tourists!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyS786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

everything there was lovely. The staff treated us nicely, the decor was lovely (in a cabin), the price was reasonable. The carpet was dirty, but we'll let that slide. It was really very nice. If the management is reading their reviews - the jacuzzi (in a lovely separate building) was really nice, but it had way too much chemicals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My second stay in the area in 2 years. Second time at this same spot. There aren't a ton of choices for a "formal hotel/motel" standpoint. Clean and neat with mix of newer and older rooms. They are on the "bus tour" route for seniors and groups.
Bar/restaurant staff leave something to be desired. No free coffee in the morning unless you make it in the room. Food is very average. Would stay again, but not my first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's amazing how much this place has to offer for the money! Gorgeous surroundings by the river with beautiful landscaping. This place has it all! Great restaurant, staff, lounge. I would stay here again in a heartbeat :-))

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having been to Jackson on several occasions - I was well aware of $$$ to quality of lodging in the area. I very much wanted to stay in Jackson but, having just spent 4 nights at $200 plus a night in Yellowstone my credit card was in need of a rest. The 2 nights at the Flying Saddle Ranch answered the call very nicely. We stayed in the new wing and the room was excellent. The chef in the kitchen made us a delicious dinner as, the menu is very diverse and excellent. The breakfast buffet was also very good. We drove back to hotel rather, than eat dinner again in Jackson. We were surprised and delighted as, to how tasty our meal was. The bar was nice, as was the liquor store and coffee/smoothie bar attached to the property. We did laundry, in a very nice secured area. In door pool and exercise room were also nice. I suggest you ask for an upstairs room looking over the river...which is not a brilliant view but okay. The parking lot blocks the view if downstairs. I use the word "view" loosely as not really a view but, very okay.The cabins are also well appointed and landscaped nicely. The drive from Jackson is about 35 minutes and scenic. Considering, I flew into Bozeman and was flying back from Bozeman ..this was the ideal location to leave the Jackson area - via Idaho - for a change of pace...and save some money. The room was $130 and well worth it. The owner displays his art work throughout....he also owns a shop in Jackson. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindasm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
23.6 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jackson Hole
Hampton Inn Jackson Hole
#12 of 40 in Jackson
827 reviews
17.9 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#15 of 40 in Jackson
626 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
24.2 mi away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 40 in Jackson
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Saddle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Saddle Resort

Address: 118878 Us-89, Alpine, WY 83128
Location: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $92 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying Saddle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Alpine, Wyoming resort offers spectacular mountain views, a steakhouse serving Steak, Seafood and American food fare. During the summer months we have our famous all-you-can-eat salad bar. Our relaxing and peaceful setting and convenient access to a wide variety of outdoor activities makes us the perfect choice for your next memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Flying Saddle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Saddle Hotel Alpine
Flying Saddle Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing