We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flying Saddle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
California Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unexpected Value”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a find! Our room was modern, spacious, with a view of the Snake River as it drowns itself in the huge Palisades Reservoir. There was a microwave, refrigerator, and flat screen TV. The place includes a large indoor swimming pool, hot tub, and gym. We also took advantage of the guest laundry facility. There are nice little cabins as well, but I recommend the more spacious rooms in the motel. Alpine makes a great staging area for rafting trips down the Snake, or trips to expensive Jackson. Our perfect room cost half that of a dumpy room in Jackson.
All of the people at the resort were friendly, helpful, and professional.
There was even an extensive wine selection in the resort's own wine store.
The restaurant is excellent. (see review)

Room Tip: Pick a room on the river side. Quiet and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    93
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
76
95
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the flying Saddle Resort in July and enjoyed a great room in the first floor, The room was nice, clean and spacious with a little lanai type patio to enjoy the nice view. The hotel also had a nice indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The staff was very courteous and professional. The front desk adviced us that there were having problems with the WIFI connection due to a storm the week before. When we went inside the room, the WIFI actually worked just fine! which it really tells you the staff is on top of the game. The hotel also has a buffet and bar. We did not eat here, but it looked nice from the outside. Great place to stay before heading to Grand Teton. (about 1 hour before Grand Teton and 30 min before Jackson, WY).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yandreaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

they gave me a huge room, just too big.
confortable, big bath but the tub jets were desactivated.
I try to go to the restaurant, but I gave up since we wait 10min at the reception without getting a hello or a table. they were looking busy and the place was even not half full.
room was a little bit expensive , 120$, but we slept well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the Flying Saddle resort in July and enjoyed the room that overlooked the Snake river. Clean room and a good bed. Friendly staff and helpful. Restaurant on site is average. The location is great, about 30 miles from Jackson Hole and away from the crowds. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryMesa_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and two nights and had one of their cabins. Roomy, clean, well supplied, comfy bed, even rocking chairs out on the front porch. Daisies blooming all around the cabin. Well insulated. Flat screen tvs (2), one in the bedroom,one in the family room. Fridge, microwave, bath and body works supplies. Friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. Far enough from Jackson Hole (18 miles) to not pay steep resort town prices, but close enough to come and go up through the beautiful country of the Tetons, Yellowstone, etc. Will be back given the opportunity. Thanks!

Room Tip: No continental breakfast available, but so many other things are close by whether you want to go int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pansypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice rooms, great location/scenery, great amenities and the restaurant (although a little pricey) was veryyy good. Everyone one in my party of 5 enjoyed their meal, which 3 were meals with seafood. Dessert was yummmmy! Only the first night here but no complaints thus far.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grangg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Chose this hotel as a place to stay on our journey to Yellowstone as it was much less expensive than hotels in Jackson Hole. Easy to find, just follow the main road, cross the river and it is on the right. Friendly reception, nice lobby, given key to our room. go in and find that in the room next door a dog is howling, worse still our own room smells of dog. Reception did the right thing and moved us to a mountain view room (much larger with balcony and fridge) if I were staying again I would choose this rather that a basic room.

The restaurant seemed popular and the hotel has a pool, best of all is the location with grounds right down to Snake River.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are used by people with pets (unless of course you have a pet with you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
17.9 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
118 reviews
23.6 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
24.4 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
23.1 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
694 reviews
23.0 mi away
Super 8 Jackson Hole
Super 8 Jackson Hole
#36 of 40 in Jackson
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Saddle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Saddle Resort

Property: Flying Saddle Resort
Address: 118878 Us-89, Alpine, WY 83128
Location: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying Saddle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Alpine, Wyoming resort offers spectacular mountain views, a steakhouse serving hand cut Black Angus beef, our famous all-you-can-eat salad bar, or relax in our western bar complete with saddle bar stools. Our relaxing and peaceful setting and convenient access to a wide variety of outdoor activities makes us the perfect choice for your next memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Flying Saddle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Saddle Hotel Alpine
Flying Saddle Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing