We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Sun Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sun Bay
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Praia da Pipa
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Positive impressions:
Restaurant is very good. Friendly staff. Location at walking distance from city center and main beach. Pool with a bar serving dring all day long

Negative impressione:
Settlment of the room (one of the two bed was not confortable). Many insects present in the room due to a excessive temperature in the bathroom

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    334
    241
    92
    50
See reviews for
272
385
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

GO, go, go this place is a gem!

Nice appartments. book the one with a bathtub. Jaccuzi in your room.....

Open breakfast and fiesta, pool area. A short walk to the beach and center of the town, village.

Try the buggi adventure. And the night life. Safe place, nice beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BioLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

A marvelous place to spend a week. Very nice hotel just outside the small village Pipa. View over the ocean and if you take à walk to get down to the beach it's worth it, definitely.
Breakfast served in front of the pool in the warm sunshine makes a very good start of the day.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bjarne_gallros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal, RN
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Spend 2 nights with my wife, daughter(8) and her 2 other 8 yrs, friends. Always like this Hotel since its walking distance to where the happenings in Pipa is.Big Pool for the kids by the restaurant, 2 apartment chalets fully equipped, lots of green, very exotic. I have not been there for almost 2 years and could see that a big maintenance is needed or should have had 2 years ago, its run down, lot of rain damaged wooden doors, leakage stains on certain walls, old showers and moldy shower curtains. Cleaning is not the best,like the service at the restaurant.Location is really great. Reasonable room rates with breakfast
I would suggest not to eat there, pool for the kids is great but don't spent too much time there. to sleep and then out and venture around Pipa, lunch out, dinner out.

Room Tip: Just take it as it is !! Not the best but good enough!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodBadUgly1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I picked this hotel based on the predominantly Dutch reviews on the site Zoover.nl, and I have been seriously wondering if they have been provided free alcohol to be intensely intoxicated during their stay not to notice anything, because it was quite bad. The first room we were provided was in the 4000 section and had the most grubby bathtub-thingy in the room. The sheets were still tagged, however, that didn't say they were new: they were quite grubby.
We went to the reception and got a new room after complaining. Room 1609 was a improvement on the earlier room, however, it was still quite bad afteral. The doorpost on the outside was completely loose (see video), on which I reported (in Portuguese) to the reception. 10 days later still nothing happened.
Room 1609 is situated in front of the kitchen. Normally, not such a problem but the staff were (rightfully) taking their breaks oftenly and they probably didn't have a separate place for taking their breaks, so they did this in front of our place. This limited our idea of privacy because you can hear them talk and they were almost sitting in front of our porch.
The 'atmosphere' light in the bedroom was nothing more than a destop lamp, only without any lamp at all. Also, this was reported in the beginning of our stay and nothing happened in these 12 days we were there.
The appartment had a flatscreen tv, that had CNN on for the first 2 days but that channel dissapeared during day 3 and we were only provided with Brazilian and other Latin American channels.
The appartment wasn't cleaned well (see videos), only in a superficial way. The wardrobe could only close on one side which left the other side open (you were able to choose which side you wanted open, though)
The pool was quite grubby too.
Breakfast was good, but not consistent. My favourites (maracuja) dissapeared at day 6-8 and I think some more things were not to stable.
As for lunch/dinner: we loved it the first time...I had the crab pastries and my partner the hamburger. Nevertheless, this wasn't consistent either because the 3rd and 4th time the hamburger was not well done (almost rare) and I believe my partner had food poisoning afterwards.
I also want to question the issue of safety. One time my boyfriend left the place to get some food, and I wanted to have access to our room with another key (normal hotel provide most guest with 2 keys because not every couple is glued together). They didn't have one but she gave me the key of the cleaning lady, which, had access to every room available. I wonder if she will be that easy handing over the key to other guest, which would leave me worried about my properties and travel documents in my room.
Also, the advertised 10 minute walk to the beach? Well, you have to be a marathon runner to get to the beach that fast...a fast pace of WALKING would take 20 to 25 minutes.
All of these things didn't make our stay as wonderful as expected, so we switched hotels before our official stay was over. We couldn't stand the hotel anymore.
The only reason I gave it 2 points instead of 1 was the friendliness of some members of the staff.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here (don't, even the camping in the tent is better!), our room 1609 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DidiDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Praia da Pipa hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hotel is located on Pipa's main attraction road and 2 minutes walk from Pipa's restaurants, shops and bars. The hotel has view to the beach although you have to leave the hotel and go to the main road before finding the access to the main beach. This because the beach over which the hotel sits is the dolphins favourite spot and therefore protected. You can actually only access it by boat or when is low tide. I definitely recommend to try the great restaurant of the hotel, specially the delicious warm gateau with ice cream.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

What an amazing resort! We loved staying @ Pipa Ocean View & have been missing Pipa ever since we got home! :)

We stayed in an amazing Deluxe suite (39m2) with a bedroom, kitchen/livingroom, a bathroom pluss an extra restroom. The furniture was very trendy and since the apt was on the first floor there was also a huge terrace (the apts on the 2nd & 3rd floor have nice balconies). Once we crossed the garden we could see the amazing view of Dolphin Bay.
The apt was so comfy and nice it made it hard for us to leave! The apt was very clean, the housekeeping did a great job and the staff was exeptionally friendly.

The breakfast was good and served in the restaurtant next to the pool. The pool was large and had a poolbar, but because of the many amazing beaches nearby we never got to try it out. Next time! :)

Pipa is such a lovely little place. I highly recommend visiting as many of the nearby beaches as you can. They are so beautiful and most of the time you're almost alone. The most popular beaches are usually crowded, but def worth a visit like Praia do Amor & Praia do Centro. I highly recommend a trip to Madeiro Beach where you can swim with wild dolphins! We also did a dolphin boat trip from Praia do Centro to Madeiro which allowed us to see the dolphins more up close, but it was certainly a rush to swim with them as they played in the waves! Make sure you also walk from Praia do Centro to Dolphin Bay at low tide.

Be sure to check out Pipa Beach Club with good food & drinks right on the boardwalk by the beach! If you want some excellent italian pizza made by an italian chef, go check out the charming little restaurant in town on the first steep "hill" on the right as you walk into town from Pipa Ocean View. It's called 'D'all italia' something. Amazing and very nice owner!

Happy travelling!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagentoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Pipa
0.5 mi away
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
#6 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada OKA da MATA
Pousada OKA da MATA
#2 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toca da Coruja
Toca da Coruja
#1 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Morada dos Ventos
Morada dos Ventos
#4 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
321 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bupitanga Hotel
Bupitanga Hotel
#5 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pipa's Bay
Hotel Pipa's Bay
#4 of 9 in Tibau do Sul
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Bay

Property: Hotel Sun Bay
Address: Avenida Baia dos Golfinhos 125, Praia da Pipa, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59178-000, Brazil (Formerly Pipa Ocean View)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Praia da Pipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Praia da Pipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sun Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms Description Apto Standard Apto Superior jacuzzi Suite Máster ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sun Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipa Ocean View Hotel Pipa
Hotel Sun Bay Praia Da Pipa, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing