We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place of peace and well being in Northeast of Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sombra E Agua Fresca
Certificate of Excellence
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place of peace and well being in Northeast of Brazil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 3 days at the hotel w. All is simply amazing and charming. One of the best hotel in Pipa I have ever stayed at without a doubt. The hotel has a quiet location inside the area of natural vegetation and native plants from Rainforest, on the hill overlooking everything else. The reception staff is very helpful and nice, they always have a smile for you and ask you if you need anything. The rooms are very comfortable, specially the bed, sheets and pillows. We stayed in room No 12, a garden view room, which had a little pool just for us. They cleaned it every day and put some fresh towels for it. The bathroom is very clean and comfortable, the shower is just great in preassure and warmth, it was just refreshing after a whole beach day! Breakfast deserves a separate chapter with have lots of options for all tastes. There's a huge fruit table, with mango, pineapple, papaya, banana, watermelon, melon and passionfruit. Then, there are three different sweet pies, three different fruit juices, coffee, tea, chocolate powder, milk. Different types of bread and pastries, there are some tiny shrimp tarts, apple strudel. Also ham, different type cheeses, and a crepe station where they make you your fresh crepe right there with the ingredients you want. And last but not least, there's the cereal table, with 4 types of cereal and also some petit fours, yoghurts and sweet desserts, and crackers and cookies. Everything is just so tasty ! And to make it complete, the restaurant is at the very top of the hotel, with a fantastic view to the sea and a gorgeous sea breeze which helped to cool down a bit. The restaurant food is excellent, especially the fish stew (peixada à mode da case) and Brazilian barbecue (churrasco de piranha).The decor is still Asian in a very nice taste, with sculptures and objects brought from Asia. There's a gorgeous sea view as well. The only downside is this space is permitted until 10 pm.

See http://www.sombraeaguafresca.com.br/ for photos, info and booking. The photos don't lie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agramf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    158
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
145
378
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 5 days at the hotel in an apt. with ocean view. Everything went really well. Breakfast was delicious, staff was very friendly, and the accommodations were great. The hotel is also close to one of the best beaches in Pipa and walking distance from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is just gorgeous! It's decorated in Asian style, it's very cozy and it has a lot of common places to hang out. The hotel is built on the slope of a 'morro' (small mountain), so it's kind of difficult for the disabled or families with small kids, because you have to climb a nice slope to get to the restaurant for breakfast, or to the pool on the top. However, they have a car which they offer to take guests to the highest spots in the hotel.

The hotel has two pools: one at the top, beside the restaurant; and another one just for adults a little below, where there's also a wet bar. Service at the pools is great, though the drinks are not so, except for the 'caipiroska', which is one of the best we had! The pools are clean, there are enough loungers around them, it's very comfortable to stay there.

The reception staff is very helpful and nice, they always have a smile for you and ask you if you need anything. In particular, Marcia treated us so well, we were surprised! Also Carolina was very nice and helpful. We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and we asked Marcia for a room upgrade, which she got for our last night, including a late check-out.

The rooms are very comfortable, specially the bed, sheets and pillows. The rooms are decorated with a lot of wood, which makes it more like home. We first stayed in room No 14, a garden view room, which had a little pool just for us. They cleaned it every day and put some fresh towels for it. The bathroom is very clean and comfortable, the shower is just great in preassure and warmth, it was just refreshing after a whole beach day! The room is equiped with a hair dryer, a LCD TV 42'', a small fridge and AC of course. There's also a comfortable closet, a safe, a table with two chairs and an armchair. Outside, right beside the little pool for two, there's a sun lounger. We had no problems with bugs in the room, or mosquitos, and that surprised us because there's a lot of vegetation in the hotel and around. The last night we got an upgrade and stayed at room 3, right on the top of the hotel, offering a nice sea view. The room is so much better, it has a double jacuzzi right inside the room facing the sea. Also it has a double shower and a wet sauna right inside the bathroom. It's like having a private spa in your very room!!!!! So great!! If you can, I suggest you pay for the price of this room, you will not regret it! The only thing I would change is take out the 'white' carpets, they are not useful whatsoever and they didn't seem very clean... Also in room 3, I would put some more hangers for the towels and bathrobes in the bathroom and outside too.

Regarding the sleep quality while staying at room 14, it was not excellent. There were almost every day a lot of people coming and going through the main 'street' inside the hotel talking loud and carryng a cart or something. It was very annoying to wake up hearing these people talking at 6 or 7 am. We guessed it was the people of the staff while working. They should look at it and try to improve it. Or maybe put some double glass window facing the 'street'.

Breakfast deserves a separate chapter. It's just outstanding! There are lots of options for all tastes. There's a huge fruit table, with mango, pineapple, papaya, banana, watermelon, melon and passionfruit. Then, there are three different sweet pies, three different fruit juices, coffee, tea, chocolate powder, milk. Different types of bread and pastries, there are some tiny shrimp tarts, apple strudel. Also ham, different type cheeses, and a crepe station where they make you your fresh crepe right there with the ingredients you want. And last but not least, there's the cereal table, with 4 types of cereal and also some petit fours, yoghurts and sweet desserts, and crackers and cookies. Everything is just so tasty and appealing! And to make it complete, the restaurant is at the very top of the hotel, with a fantastic view to the sea and a gorgeous sea breeze which helped to cool down a bit.

Another thing to highlight is the hang out zone right above the restaurant. It's like a secret place that's always empty. It's a huge very huge space full of comfy sofas, books to read, a huge TV, some hammocks and some tables with table games you can use. The decor is still Asian in a very nice taste, with lots of sculptures and objects brought from Asia. There's a gorgeous sea view as well. The only downside is this space is permitted until 10 pm. And most times the lights are off, that's why I say it's like a secret place, I recommend you explore it a bit and enjoy!

The hotel is very well located, it's about 200 m from the beach called 'Praia do amor', where you need to go down some stone stairs to get to the beach itself. And then about 800 m from the city center where there are lots of restaurants and shops. Beware of the slopes and take nice walking shoes! On the beach the hotel does not have a beach service, but they suggest you go to a beach bar called 'Bar do Caio', where they don't charge you the loungers and sun umbrella. The hotel does give you beach and pool towels (one per day per person), which is so helpful.

Regarding wifi internet, it's not a very good signal, you don't have wifi everywhere at the hotel. In the lobby, it's very good, as well as at the restaurant, except in some areas close to the sea. In room 14 there was no signal and in room 3 it was good. Unless you must stay connected because of work, this is actually quite good, because we only connected once a day to check on emails or say hi to our family.

The property of this hotel also owns a resort and a spa, right down the side street of the hotel. Every property is built under the same philosophy and they are all so gorgeous. The spa also offers rooms, and it's like getting into the jungle. The rooms are beautiful, there are like 3 pools, and they also offer spa services of course. They have a gym, sauna and jacuzzi. If you're staying at the hotel and would like to use the gym, sauna or jacuzzi at the spa, they charge you 25 reales per person per day for the three services.

I definitely recommend this hotel to everybody coming to Pipa! Say hello to Marcia at the reception from me! :)

Room Tip: If you are travelling with your partner, take room 3 or any similar, it's worth the price!!! You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky_Iri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Impressive hotel from outside and inside, in walking distance from Pipa's main shopping street and the beach. Just to be clear, it's the hotel that I am writing about, not spa or the resort that are located close by but don't offer the impressive sea views.

Although we only had a standard room, it was spacy, with a laaarge king size bed in the middle of the room, a jacuzzi next to it in the room, a secluded terrace, and from everywhere in the room this fantastic view over trees towards the Praia do Amor beach.

The hotel feels like a little resort since the rooms, the bar and the restaurant are in different buildings, and all the public places are lovely decorated and illuminated, with palm trees and plants everywhere. Really nice and different, in particular at night.

The restaurant is on top of a small hill that is somewhat steep to climb but once you are up there you get pampered with an amazing view, a very nice pool deck, unbeatable breakfast, and a broad dinner menu. Make sure to also check out the second floor of the restaurant building to enjoy the leisure facilities and feed the monkeys.

Rounded off by an excellent service attitude I would always go there again and definitively recommend it to anybody visiting Pipa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ickinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, Brazil
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Pipa beach at Tibau do Sul is a wonderful location. Charming small villa, with squisite shops, small and nice cooking restaurants and very friendly people. The hotel is over a "falesia" (low sand-rock mountain, made by the water at the shore), a picturesque place, where you can see all the "love beach", specially from the restaurant on the top. There are two nice swimming pools (maybe hotter water should be better, kind of windy over there...), spacious rooms with all the commodities (prefer the highest and newest ones, just closest to the restaurant, or the major suits if you can afford it). There is a golf kart you can move around, even to the neighbor spa and houses to rent, that composes the complex.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgrassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We became an upgrade to the resort instead of the hotel and I didn't regret it,because the rooms are very big and very comfortable. Every room had it's own bathroom with a huge rainshower and a private garden with a minipool and even a private steamcabine.
Breakfast was very good; everything you could wish, was there, even the champagne! This glas of champagne was a very nice item to get the day started.
The staff was very helpfull. You could ask them anything about every subject, and if they couldn't give you an answer right away, they'd look it up and inform you later on. You really got the impression that you were the only gast in the resort.
The only thing I regret is the distance to the beach; and it isn't really the distance but the fact that it's a very hard stairway down.
But overall, when I'd come back to Pipa, I'd surely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

3 accommodations, all decorated in tasteful Balinese style (Indonesia), but still each having their own character: very nice! Moreover, as a guest your experience the convenience of all facilities provided at the 3 accommodations (like for example if you want to switch from swimmingpool the next day :-)). Accommodations are very close together, but the "golf cart" transports you between the accommodations without restrictions. At the main location (the hotel complex), the panoramic swimming pool and restaurant are located at the top of the hill. This hill is quite steep, which may be a problem for elderly or disabled people. Nevertheless, the staff is genuinely friendly and helpful with everything! Despite the character of a 'resort', no all-inclusive concept applies here, which benefits the quality and pricelevel of food and drinks quite well! Guests here are not of the caliber "paying 10cents to demand a seat in front row", however exclusivity is provided still at an attractive price. For a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with many real nature (not necessarily 'created'!), beaches around-the-corner and a true sun-warranty, this is the place to be! Sombra e Augua Fresca is truely entitled a 4-plus star status, also by European standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie8u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Pipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Toca da Coruja
Toca da Coruja
#1 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada OKA da MATA
Pousada OKA da MATA
#2 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bupitanga Hotel
Bupitanga Hotel
#8 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
#6 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Marlin's
Boutique Hotel Marlin's
#1 of 97 in Praia da Pipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pipa Atlantico
Hotel Pipa Atlantico
#10 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sombra E Agua Fresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sombra E Agua Fresca

Property: Hotel Sombra E Agua Fresca
Address: Rua Praia Do Amor, 1000 - Praia De Pipa, Praia da Pipa, State of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Praia da Pipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Praia da Pipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sombra E Agua Fresca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sombra E Agua Fresca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sombra e Agua Fresca Hotel Tibau Do Sul
Hotel Sombra E Agua Fresca Praia Da Pipa, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing