We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful Pousada in hectic beach town”
Review of Toca da Coruja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Toca da Coruja
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Praia da Pipa
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful Pousada in hectic beach town”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Toca da Coruja was an absolutely incredible place to stay. We were amazed when we arrived and still felt the same way when we left! That's the sign of a fabulous experience. The room was gorgeous, cleaned beautifully every day. The grounds were so well taken care of. The pools were clean and sparkly. The food was delicious. The people were so helpful and kind. We absolutely loved this place and if we return to Pipa, we would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    66
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
85
402
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

You can't go wrong at Toca da Coruja. Although is is not by the beach, it is conveniently located next to the touristy area of Pipa, walking distance from where the action is. They offer frequent and inexpensive transportation to all beaches. Swimming pools, sauna and other hotel's amenities are excellent. Hotel staff is kind and attentive to all details. Children under 10 are not admitted, so the atmosphere is for couples and friends who want to read, relax and enjoy a paradisiac environment. Wifi coverage could be more reliable, but they blame it on local network services (all guests and staff share a 3mb band).

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Planetorexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Whenever I am in Brazil which is almost every year I make sure to spend time in this little resort with my wife. The setting is beautiful, the staff is amazing, the food is out of this world and Pipa main street with all the bars and restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel never feels crowded even when they are full and they don't take kids under a certain age so you don't have to deal with noise. The beach is not to far and the hotel has especial accommodations (beach chairs and a staffed bar) in one of the beautiful Pipa beaches for their guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel with my husband, in total 5 days, and we really enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is very well located, just in the village of Pipa, and it was very easy to go around.
The hotel breakfast was simple fantastic! lots of typical cakes, tapioca, fruits, and all the hotel employees are very efficient and also friendly. The only problem is that the free internet wireless doesn't work well, whenever were raining days... So, we strongly recommend this hotel and we definitely will go back there. We didn't use their base in the beach, but we certainly will use in our next time in Pipa

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This pousada is really an impressing example of how luxury can be integrated in nature. Bungalows are literally in the "jungle" and the impact of them, as well as of the common areas, is reduced to minimum.
Pools have ionized water and there are free small monkeys living on the trees.
The service of the pousada is great, rooms are beautiful, the beach and the shops are very close. It is possible to have massages in the room and the quality is high.
Breakfast is really good but if you ask for room service it can take longer than one hour.
It is a shame that the restaurant of the pousada is not as excellent as all the rest!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The best pousada (small hotel type) I have ever stayed in Brazil. Service cannot be better. Food is excellent. Atmosphere then.. incredible! It ight be a bit expensive, but worth. And do not worry the pousada is not in front of the beach. Few hotels are and all of them you got use the stairs to reach the sand.. so, I would not care about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you look for the best in Pipa...book it. We stayed there a week and relaxed 100 %. Fantastic Team, clean, great food, sympatic service, ...just perfect - and we checked others ´´of the called top Hotels in Pipa´´...none achieved this style and service ... 5 stars ! Thanks again to the whole Coruja Team...in the Pousada ...and on the Beach-Bar (´´baraca´´) !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m8eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Pipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Pousada OKA da MATA
Pousada OKA da MATA
#2 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
659 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bupitanga Hotel
Bupitanga Hotel
#7 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
#6 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Morada dos Ventos
Morada dos Ventos
#4 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Berro do Jeguy
Pousada Berro do Jeguy
#3 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pipa Atlantico
Hotel Pipa Atlantico
#9 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toca da Coruja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toca da Coruja

Property: Toca da Coruja
Address: Avenida Baia dos Golfinhos 464 | Pipa Beach, Praia da Pipa, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59178-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Praia da Pipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Pipa
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Pipa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Pipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toca da Coruja 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Toca da Coruja is located in a paradisiac beach in the north-east of Brazil. The hotel was built in a Portuguese architecture style located in 25000 sq m property surrounded by beautiful gardens and moments away from the beach. There are plenty of trees, palms and plants native to this region of Brazil in a harmonious environment for your relaxing or romantic holidays. Our sophisticated and elegant decor was carefully sourced by the owners in antique shops. Our comfortable rooms are in bungalows each with its own whirlpool. 12 of our spacious rooms have a private solarium where the whirlpool is located. Our staff is happy to prepare the whirlpool for you where you can enjoy a tranquil bath. During your stay with us, you can hire a buggy or a bicycle to enjoy sightseeing the beauty of the region and its many beautiful and unspoilt beaches. If you are more adventurous this is a paradise for surfing and kite surfing. If you prefer to have a quiet time, you can enjoy the ionized water pools in the garden, a perfect place to read or have a nice drink by the pool bar. There are fantastic beaches around us! We are a few metres from Praia das Minas where you can swim alongside dolphins. Now, if you like a well balanced combination of partying and relaxation, Pousada Toca da Coruja is strategically located near restaurants, bars, shops and night clubs. When the time comes for some peace and quiet come back to Pousada Toca da Coruja to enjoy a sauna or just lay in a hammock and watch the birds and the marmoset monkeys play or just contemplate the vegetation. Restaurant Oca Toca - is a delicious gastronomic restaurant set in within our premises. Our chef Wagner Aguiar will present you with the best in culinary in contemporary Brazilian and regional gastronomy while Isis Ribeiro, our sommelier, will harmonize with the wines she so perfectly chose for our cellar. She will add a little mystique to your senses! The ambiance is completed by lights, music, flavours and scents in of nature. Beach Bar - Yahooo! - Enjoy our beach bar at Praia das Minas. We provide transfers to and from in our cars. Minas Bistrot - Pousada Toca da Coruja has a bistrot at Praia das Minas, one of the most beautiful beaches in Brazil. Bistro das Minas is an exclusive and charming restaurant overlooking the sea, where the landscape is unforgettable Our cars will take you to the restaurant and bring you back to the hotel comfortably after you have enjoyed your meal specially created for the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Toca da Coruja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Toca Da Coruja Hotel Pipa
Pousada Toca Da Coruja Pipa
Toca Da Coruja Praia Da Pipa, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing