We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and nature”
Review of Toca da Coruja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toca da Coruja
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Praia da Pipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This pousada is really an impressing example of how luxury can be integrated in nature. Bungalows are literally in the "jungle" and the impact of them, as well as of the common areas, is reduced to minimum.
Pools have ionized water and there are free small monkeys living on the trees.
The service of the pousada is great, rooms are beautiful, the beach and the shops are very close. It is possible to have massages in the room and the quality is high.
Breakfast is really good but if you ask for room service it can take longer than one hour.
It is a shame that the restaurant of the pousada is not as excellent as all the rest!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Toca da Coruja
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 609 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

The best pousada (small hotel type) I have ever stayed in Brazil. Service cannot be better. Food is excellent. Atmosphere then.. incredible! It ight be a bit expensive, but worth. And do not worry the pousada is not in front of the beach. Few hotels are and all of them you got use the stairs to reach the sand.. so, I would not care about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you look for the best in Pipa...book it. We stayed there a week and relaxed 100 %. Fantastic Team, clean, great food, sympatic service, ...just perfect - and we checked others ´´of the called top Hotels in Pipa´´...none achieved this style and service ... 5 stars ! Thanks again to the whole Coruja Team...in the Pousada ...and on the Beach-Bar (´´baraca´´) !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m8eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your idea of a vacation is to totally get away from everything, accept no substitute. Toca da Coruja is the place to go. My wife and I needed a break from life, including child. It had been 5 years before we took a vacation alone, just the two of us. We found this place through a friend who highly recommended it. What a friend!

Toca da Coruja is the perfect balance of bohemian luxury. I never felt like I was in a hotel nor in a hostel. We laid down some big $$ for the luxo suite, which is a bungalow fit for royalty. While the price was steep, the experience was amazing. Imagine walking through a jungle on a softly lit wooden path back to your private bungalow.

The service was always amazing. Every single staff member was smiling and anxious to please. We ended up spending most of our time at one of the 2 very natural pools. The nearby beaches were incredible but the service was so great at TDC that we couldn't leave after a few days.

Their restaurant was easily the best spot in Pipa. The food was fantastic. Breakfast buffet was full of fresh fruit and juices on one side of the restaurant and the hot food in the kitchen, which was run by a fire, not a stove. Comfort meets quality. Wow.

I would recommend this spot for anyone who needs a big time get-away. While the journey may be long, the rewards are high. We left TDC feeling completely refreshed and ready to face reality for another year.

Room Tip: The Luxo's are the best. Very $$$ but will deliver an exceptional experience.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipeleones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

the best hotel/Pousada that i have been...everything personal until the last detail...clean, special, in the exotic garten, nice pool and bar with tasty coctails, amazing romatic restaurant, staff sooo friendly, descret, polite...you can relax in your huge bungalow, go to the beach or stay by the pool, have massage in the bungalow or at the teracce..i cant wait to go back...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myria444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

That's an amazing place! It is an inn with the looks of a hotel. You have your own bungalow and it feels very private. The rooms are huge and the staff is just so polite and sweet. They make you feel at home. Definitely the best place to stay in Pipa!

Room Tip: The Luxe Room is the best to stay with bathtubs on the outside of the room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Toca da Coruja is a very charming and bucolic place to stay. They really knows how to put together high quality staff providing incredible service.

Me and my wife stayed at bangalo #15, a very charming room which gives you a very private 80 square meters of nice decorared room surronded by tropical trees beautiful planted. It is just incredible. Wish I could return more offent to Pipa and to Toca da Coruja.

****
For the hotel owners I give some very simple advices that could make the place more beautiful that it is:

- think about a more sofisticated night lights that could emphasise the beauty of the gardens.

- think about getting a new kind of internet connection. Change your internet provider to a more reliable an fastest type. It is really bad !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiano_Peixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Pipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Pousada OKA da MATA
Pousada OKA da MATA
#2 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
#5 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bupitanga Hotel
Bupitanga Hotel
#6 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morada dos Ventos
Morada dos Ventos
#4 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Berro do Jeguy
Pousada Berro do Jeguy
#3 of 14 in Praia da Pipa
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Marlin's
Boutique Hotel Marlin's
#1 of 105 in Praia da Pipa
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toca da Coruja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toca da Coruja

Address: Avenida Baia dos Golfinhos 464 | Pipa Beach, Praia da Pipa, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59178-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Praia da Pipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Pipa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Pipa
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Pipa
Price Range: $269 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toca da Coruja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Toca da Coruja is located in a paradisiac beach in the north-east of Brazil. The hotel was built in a Portuguese architecture style located in 25000 sq m property surrounded by beautiful gardens and moments away from the beach. There are plenty of trees, palms and plants native to this region of Brazil in a harmonious environment for your relaxing or romantic holidays. Our sophisticated and elegant decor was carefully sourced by the owners in antique shops. Our comfortable rooms are in bungalows each with its own whirlpool. 12 of our spacious rooms have a private solarium where the whirlpool is located. Our staff is happy to prepare the whirlpool for you where you can enjoy a tranquil bath. During your stay with us, you can hire a buggy or a bicycle to enjoy sightseeing the beauty of the region and its many beautiful and unspoilt beaches. If you are more adventurous this is a paradise for surfing and kite surfing. If you prefer to have a quiet time, you can enjoy the ionized water pools in the garden, a perfect place to read or have a nice drink by the pool bar. There are fantastic beaches around us! We are a few metres from Praia das Minas where you can swim alongside dolphins. Now, if you like a well balanced combination of partying and relaxation, Pousada Toca da Coruja is strategically located near restaurants, bars, shops and night clubs. When the time comes for some peace and quiet come back to Pousada Toca da Coruja to enjoy a sauna or just lay in a hammock and watch the birds and the marmoset monkeys play or just contemplate the vegetation. Restaurant Oca Toca - is a delicious gastronomic restaurant set in within our premises. Our chef Wagner Aguiar will present you with the best in culinary in contemporary Brazilian and regional gastronomy while Isis Ribeiro, our sommelier, will harmonize with the wines she so perfectly chose for our cellar. She will add a little mystique to your senses! The ambiance is completed by lights, music, flavours and scents in of nature. Beach Bar - Yahooo! - Enjoy our beach bar at Praia das Minas. We provide transfers to and from in our cars. Minas Bistrot - Pousada Toca da Coruja has a bistrot at Praia das Minas, one of the most beautiful beaches in Brazil. Bistro das Minas is an exclusive and charming restaurant overlooking the sea, where the landscape is unforgettable Our cars will take you to the restaurant and bring you back to the hotel comfortably after you have enjoyed your meal specially created for the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toca da Coruja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Toca Da Coruja Hotel Pipa
Pousada Toca Da Coruja Pipa
Toca Da Coruja Praia Da Pipa, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing