We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada OKA da MATA
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Praia da Pipa
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Piece of heaven”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Oka da Mata is a small piece of heaven.
From the moment you arrive everything in this small hotel makes you feel the tranquility and peace of Pipa and its surroundings.
The hotel is located away from the town, what can be a disadvantage if you don't have your own car (although I think they provide a free van to gests) but it means it is located on the top of a small and quiet hill, overlooking the ocean.
My room was huge and very nicely decorated, with an enormous balcony with wooden furniture. Bathroom was also big but not very nice or comfortable I must say. Pool area is wonderful, the perfect place to spend the sunset, just lying there watching the small colorful birds from the surrounding wood and the ocean. Just amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    113
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
163
383
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited beautiful Pipa in October and it was a perfect holiday and this hotel helped a lot. The view overlooking the ocean is amazing and great to wake up to if you have an ocean view room, whcih we did. The rooms are well appointed and spacious with really high roofs which make the place seem huge. Bathroom nice, but shower could do with being upgraded to something a bit more in keeping with the rest of the place. The balconies are really big, big enough in fact for a couple of sun loungers that would have made a great addition - or some hammocks.

Breakfast is really good with really fresh fruits, cakes and local specialities. Egg dishes can be made to order as can pancakes.

The service is pretty good, although the people on the desk could be a little more attentive or have more training. We were locked out of our room for 2 1/2 hours and there wasn't enough communication or urgency to resolve the situation. However, the manager, a really nice French guy, spoke to us the next day and as an apology offered us a free lunch at the hotel which more than made up for this.

The free car service to Pipa town was well used and could be called when we wanted picking up. The location is good, and you can walk to town and the beaches within about 15 minutes, but it's a bit of a hike back up the hill to the hotel and not really an advisable walk at night. This is still Brazil.

Overall, we'd be back!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed in Oka Da Mata with my wife in mid august (2012), for 5 days.

The hotel is very cosy, with a great familiar ambience. It's situated a little outside pipa, but the shuttle service offered by the hotel is amazing. They drop you anywhere you want, anytime you want. This helps the hotel to be close to the center, but still very calm.

BY FAR the best thing with this hotel is it's staff !! Simply amazing service. Ivan (incredibely nice guy), Lirio and Rodrigo (all 3 work in reception and also drive you anywhere you want) were very helpful and friendly. I've never seen such a friendly staff anywhere else. The staff in the restaurant were very good too, but i don't remember their names. The food was good too.
The owner Jean-Pierre was also very nice, and made sure all was in order in this small (18 rooms) hotel.

The only complaint we have is about the rooms. Although they were very comfortable and had all we needed (safe, wifi, tv, minibar, etc...) they were not very clean. After the first night we had to ask them to change the bed sheets they gave us, because they were simply unacceptable. Also the room was filled with spider nets...i understand this is something that can happen considering the hotel's location (in the middle of the tropical forest), but the cleaning staff could do a much better job in the rooms.

Overall a very good experience if you're looking for a relaxing holiday near great beaches and in a very peaceful ambience, with a truly great service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A perfect place to stay in Pipa, far from the noise, but near enogh to get there in a minute! the surroundings and the view! The staff is always willing to help, it´s a very nice place to stay, for couples and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My partner and I spent five nights at Oka Da Mata as part of our honeymoon in Brazil and were very impressed. We actually arrived from a week in the Amazon (which was thoroughly enjoyable), sleeping in a fairly basic jungle lodge. Hoping for a bit of luxury and comfort,we were not disappointed.

The hotel is located slightly outside Pipa (2km) about a 30 minute walk or a short run using the hotel’s courtesy taxi service into the town centre. Staff are friendly and always very keen to help. Rooms are large, clean, modern and the hotel grounds are well kept. The pool is amazing and has views overlooking the Atlantic. There are plenty lounging areas and cozy corners to relax and have a drink from a well priced bar. No complaints on the food quality either. Very nice.

If it wasn’t quite so far away (we live in Scotland) my partner and I would be back in a second. Who knows, maybe again in the future, but Oka De Mata really does come highly recommended in my opinion and was one of the highlights to our brilliant trip in Brazil.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tolmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotels in Brazil are pricy, it's clear. But Oka da Mata is such a cosy and relaxing place that you shouldn't hesitate. The rooms are big and airy, the breakfast area is very pleasant (and breakfasts are tasty and varied), the swimming pool is great! They also prepare one of the best caipirinhas I've ever had (and I have lived in Brazil for two years, so I had many occasions to take a drink ;) )

The staff is very helpful but there are two things I have to mention:

1) I gave some of my clothes to be washed and ironed by the hotel staff. Here's a comment for the owner: I have never had my clother ironed so badly before (and this pleasure costed me 70BRL) . Really, in this particular matter the owner should insist more on the quality of the service that his hotel provides.

2) When you ask for an advice about a restaurant, the hotel staff proposes you (in a quite insisting way) a place called "Cruzeiro do Pescador". I would say, the concept is interesting - it's a small house / seafood restaurant with a very personallized service and nice fish dishes. BUT: the price is a "secret" so only at the end of your dinner you learn that you have something like 180 EUR to pay ;) People - and especially - Europeans - this place absolutely DOES NOT worth the price!!!!! You better go to a 3 *** Michelin restaurant in France instead! The most surprising is that the owner of Oca da Mata is French, so he must know that this restaurant is "un vrai arnaque" (= you get screwed).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed there during the first week of November 2011. the room is very big, with a huge bed and all the confort we could imagine, as well as a beautiful view of the ocean. There is a very nice pool and, altough the hotel is a bit far from the beach, there is a car service available to take you to the beach and back. I would definetely recomend this hotel!! It's a bit pricey but totally worth it! we couldn't have made a better choice!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scylla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Pipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Toca da Coruja
Toca da Coruja
#1 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
SERHS Villas da Pipa Hotel
#6 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bupitanga Hotel
Bupitanga Hotel
#7 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Morada dos Ventos
Morada dos Ventos
#4 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Bay
Hotel Sun Bay
#11 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
876 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada Berro do Jeguy
Pousada Berro do Jeguy
#3 of 15 in Praia da Pipa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada OKA da MATA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada OKA da MATA

Property: Pousada OKA da MATA
Address: Estrada Tibau do Sul - Praia de Pipa, Praia da Pipa, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59178-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Praia da Pipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Pipa
#1 Family Hotel in Praia da Pipa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Pipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada OKA da MATA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a piece of paradise, OKA da MATA is a luxury hotel which offers one of the most spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The pousada features a very spacious terrace to enjoy the panoramic ocean view. With a rustic, high-class decoration, OKA da MATA offers 5 star class refinement within a preserved ecological park. Opened in March 2009, the pousada is situated 150 meters from the sea and 1.3 kms from Pipa's center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada OKA da MATA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada OKA Da MATA Praia Da Pipa, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing