We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SERHS Natal Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Natal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I travelled as a solo guest, so most of the services on offer were not applicable to myself. The room was nice and comfortable, and provided a view of the swimming pool and ocean. The breakfast buffet was absolutely brilliant, with everything you can imagine on offer. However, the buffets offered for dinner in the restaurants pale in comparison. I say that it is a great hotel for families, as by the pool, the children's club was providing energetic activities and even getting the adults involved. (Which I personally didn't like, as I wanted relaxation, but everyone else by the swimming pool loved it!) The swimming pool bar is nice, as you can lounge in the pool and have a cocktail at the same time. The hotel also has ping pong tables, pool tables, and a wide variety of activities to keep the young 'uns busy all day. One problem I had was that it's mainly the Guest Relations and Front Desk staff that speak English, everything else I had to manage in broken Portugenglish. Another problem was the excessive price of the Wifi at 15 reais for twenty four hours. The connection via a laptop was fine, but when I tried to connect via my iPhone, the connection kept breaking. Only the hotel lobby has free Wifi access that I found. If you are looking for a place to take young children to, I'd highly recommend the resort. If you are looking for some peace and quiet, then I'd think again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,870
    1,778
    451
    108
    73
See reviews for
2,724
1,992
119
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I chose a Suite. It was located on the last (7th) floor. I also saw a regular double room and it was very nice as well.
The entrance of the suite led to a "living area", with sofa and table, a round table with chairs, a fridge, a wardrobe and a "guest" toilet with shower. A bit dark even in day time, since there is no window. There is a sliding door that permits total separation with the sleeping area that follows, and the terrace.
"Sleeping area" is very comfortable, 2 king-size beds with excellent mattresses, clean bedlinen and cushions. Airconditioning was very silent. Writing desk and TV. There is Internet in the room, but you must pay for it and you need a cable to connect. (Wifi only works in certain areas of the Hotel and you always pay for it). International telephone calls work fine, but they are VERY expensive.
There is a second bathroom, with bathtub, toilet and 2 sinks. Quality of towels could be improved, but still acceptable.
Terrace is large and sunny with direct view to the sea. There is a private Jacuzzi, sun beds and a table with 4 chairs. Once in a while, paraglider pass by very close (remember, 7th floor).
The Hotel is big and I needed some time to know how to get to the breakfast area.
Once there, I missed the quiet/ relaxed atmosphere I enjoy in the early mornings: Big Hotel, big breakfast area, many people!
Breakfast offered was very good, eggs, omelets etc being prepared at your choice, variation in hot food, cereals, seeds and yoghurts, several fresh tropical fruit juices and fresh tropical fruit.
There are several restaurants in the Hotel. I tried the Pizzeria, (family restaurant) never ate Pizza or pasta though. But the buffet is very good (large salad bar, fantastic desserts, fresh fruits). The other 2 evening restaurants were kept in deep freezing temperature, I skipped those. The 4th restaurant only works during daytime (close to the beach). Food was good, but don´t expect the Ritz. There is also a wet bar in one of the pools.
Location of the Hotel is about 2 km from Ponta Negra. You can walk along the beach, but beware of the tide since your beach might be completely gone by the time you want to go back. Swimming in front of the Hotel is probably ok during low tide. There is a guard during day time, but I never saw anyone actually swimming there. (Only surfing).
Be prepared to take a Taxi (or rent a car) to wherever you want to go. (Taxis starting from the Hotel charge more).
Regarding employees in the Hotel I missed the personal touch of a smaller Hotel. Generally treatment was ok, but somehow indifferent and unpersonal.
Guests: you may have 200 teenagers in the Hotel for a Sports- event or 200 jet setters flying in from all Brazil in order to party for a special event (Carnatal) or else have a mixture of very quiet international guests.
After dinner: this is my only real deception in this Hotel. There is no decent place to stay outside after dinner. The swimming pool area (beautiful garden) is dark, the terrace in front of the Pizzeria is windy and has no atmosphere. There is really nothing to do unless you like the Sports Bar, with billiard-, ping-pong- and football tables and shopping mall lights. The Piano Bar in the Lobby area does´t invite to stay either, it´s a "pass through" area, has no atmosphere and when the piano player starts... its time to go.
Spa/Gym: Working out area is very good, plenty of options. No monitor. Spa is ok but small and can get quite busy. Changing rooms and showers very clean. Beauty treatments and massage: very nice, relaxing and professional treatment.

Recomendation: very good Hotel for couples who want to stay on their own, or for business people who go to the gym after work and go to bed early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice Hotel, wonderful pool, just too far from the city centre. I'll recommend it to couples for a romantic weekend. The beach is nice if you love surfing, if not there is a great pool.
Breakfast is amazing with fresh and mouthwatering fruits. The only problem is that it is too far from the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitefrog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at SERHS Natal hotel for 1+1+2 weeks this year and I am very satisfied. Very good service, fantastic breakfast, nice rooms and helpful personell. I strongly recommend this hotel.
WiFi works good in common areas as well as Internet via cable at the room. The best of all is the pool-bar and the different sundecks! A Caipirinha in the pool-bar is just so nice!
Eventhough it's a bit from the town that¨s no problem. Just a short walk or a cheap cab.

The only thing I can complain about is the extremly high sound from the piano-playing in the lobby-bar in the evenings, it´s almost impossible to talk. The piano music should just be a soft background, not a concert.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Togo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Went to Natal for a Congress and stayed at this hotel because a friend who is from Natal recommended it. It's supposed to be "the best" in Natal, but it was quite the opposite...

From the outside it looks ok for a 5 star hotel, the pools are nice, the view is amazing but that's it!!! The room is old, with the worst bed I've ever seen, cheap linens, dirty walls, the shower didn't work properly (the temperature kept changing), the furniture is the oldest ever, the wifi doesn't work in the room. They charge an astronomic price for some cheap chips, and water in the minibar. Room service is terrible and it takes foooorever!!!

Very very very expensive for what they offer. A real 3 star pretending to be a 5!!!!!!
Run away!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ViviViviViviVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went to Natal for a conferece with my girlfriend. We had a reservation for 3 nights and we stayed at a junior suite. After a fiasco with Aquaria (described in another review), we got back for a last night at a regular room.
The first suite was on the third level, big spacious, 2 queen beds, a sofa-bed, 2 restroom. The only downside was that some pieces of forniture had doodles from a kid who stayed there. The second room was the one they had vacant, on the fourth floor, on a busy corridor. A regular room, with nice space and a great pool view.
The breakfast is what you would expect from a Resort. Lots of fruits, a assortment of breads, juices, and hot plates. The tapiocas are good but far from the best I've ever had.
The pools are nice, no inconvenience over "just a towel per guest per day" (as in Ocean Palace). There is on indoors pool wich is heated.
We went to the Spa where we had a nice but not ortodox massage.
The hotel staff was just lovely, from Fabio in the reception, Alice (who helped us with the Aquaria situation) and Laice (I guess was the name of the receptionist when we got back to the hotel), to the guy responsible for the tapiocas (who greted us every day and sent his best when we left the hotel).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dado_de_Castro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massayo, Alagoas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I confess, waited more from this hotel. Good accommodations, but too much complex to move in there. Good breakfast, nothing fenomenal... Swimming pools are the best on there, whilst rooms are dark at night, with no direct lights and very small tv screen (talking about superior double room). Most of the crew seemed helpful and kind. If you have another option to stay in Natal, I recommend to try it before.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank andreluc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Aquaria Natal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Rifoles Praia Hotel & Resort
Ponta Negra
Esmeralda Praia Hotel
Ponta Negra
Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SERHS Natal Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SERHS Natal Grand Hotel

Property: SERHS Natal Grand Hotel
Address: Av. Senador Dinarte Medeiros Mariz, 6045 | Via Costeira, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Natal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Natal
#1 Spa Hotel in Natal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Natal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Natal
#4 Business Hotel in Natal
#5 Family Hotel in Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SERHS Natal Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out the Innovative concept in hospitality. It is located between Ponta Negra and Areia Preta, on Via Costeira in Natal, from 38 km from the Aluízio Alves International airport. It stands out for its elegant and modern construction and above all for the quality of its services and facilities. It is a 5 stars category Hotel Complex in European standard: exclusive environment and design, classy, comfortable, and detailed elegancy. Quality in favour to our guests in Natal, the sun city, known as the one which has the most pure air of the American continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your SERHS Natal Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhs Grand Natal
SERHS Natal Grand Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing