We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms!!!! Dirty, old and cheap!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SERHS Natal Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Natal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Went to Natal for a Congress and stayed at this hotel because a friend who is from Natal recommended it. It's supposed to be "the best" in Natal, but it was quite the opposite...

From the outside it looks ok for a 5 star hotel, the pools are nice, the view is amazing but that's it!!! The room is old, with the worst bed I've ever seen, cheap linens, dirty walls, the shower didn't work properly (the temperature kept changing), the furniture is the oldest ever, the wifi doesn't work in the room. They charge an astronomic price for some cheap chips, and water in the minibar. Room service is terrible and it takes foooorever!!!

Very very very expensive for what they offer. A real 3 star pretending to be a 5!!!!!!
Run away!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ViviViviViviVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 7,187 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went to Natal for a conferece with my girlfriend. We had a reservation for 3 nights and we stayed at a junior suite. After a fiasco with Aquaria (described in another review), we got back for a last night at a regular room.
The first suite was on the third level, big spacious, 2 queen beds, a sofa-bed, 2 restroom. The only downside was that some pieces of forniture had doodles from a kid who stayed there. The second room was the one they had vacant, on the fourth floor, on a busy corridor. A regular room, with nice space and a great pool view.
The breakfast is what you would expect from a Resort. Lots of fruits, a assortment of breads, juices, and hot plates. The tapiocas are good but far from the best I've ever had.
The pools are nice, no inconvenience over "just a towel per guest per day" (as in Ocean Palace). There is on indoors pool wich is heated.
We went to the Spa where we had a nice but not ortodox massage.
The hotel staff was just lovely, from Fabio in the reception, Alice (who helped us with the Aquaria situation) and Laice (I guess was the name of the receptionist when we got back to the hotel), to the guy responsible for the tapiocas (who greted us every day and sent his best when we left the hotel).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dado_de_Castro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I confess, waited more from this hotel. Good accommodations, but too much complex to move in there. Good breakfast, nothing fenomenal... Swimming pools are the best on there, whilst rooms are dark at night, with no direct lights and very small tv screen (talking about superior double room). Most of the crew seemed helpful and kind. If you have another option to stay in Natal, I recommend to try it before.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank andreluc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Big and characterless and away from it all. No thanks. There is nothing majorly wrong with this hotel per se - it's just too big, too spread out and faceless.
We moved on to the Pousada Castanheira which was great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 798DRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good place for a week of "dolce far niente". The hotel is very nice and big enough so that even when full you don`t feel "surrounded".

The few draw back are: (1) The ridiculous high price charged for the use of internet (that any good hotel should provide for free). (2) Service is as slow as it possibly can be (but the people are very nice); a ham and cheese sandwich may take up to 30 minutes in the pool bar. A simple cheese pizza may take up to 40 minutes.

If you use the car rental service that is in the hotel (I understand it does not belong to the hotel). Have extra patience and be very clear about what you want. I was given a car with 55 thousand miles on it and it was given to me almost one hour late.

You should really try the SPA. Prices are a little expensive but the ambience is great and the services are very good.
The hotel is in Natal so you must be prepared for winds blowing constantly between 10 and 15 miles per hour. In August/September it is difficult to walk on the beach because of the wind.

Room Tip: Stay as far as possible from Building "C" (This is where the action"is). Also be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good facilities, perfect pool by the sea, honest service. Good structure for families traveling with children. Substantial breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanMCCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, clean and right on the beach. But the service is really poor if you are used to stay in resorts or beach hotels of this kind.

The food you ask in the room service takes too long to arrive in the room. The waiters in the restaurants don't look very happy, their service is barely ok.

The front desk is usually crowded and messy. When checking-out I strongly recommend you to be in the reception with plenty of advance, otherwise you will be late to catch your flight. I almost missed mine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilianSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Aquaria Natal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Rifoles Praia Hotel & Resort
Ponta Negra
Esmeralda Praia Hotel
Ponta Negra
Kristie Resort
Kristie Resort
#12 of 94 in Natal
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SERHS Natal Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SERHS Natal Grand Hotel

Address: Av. Senador Dinarte Medeiros Mariz, 6045 | Via Costeira, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Natal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Natal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Natal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Natal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Natal
#4 Business Hotel in Natal
#5 Family Hotel in Natal
Price Range: $115 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SERHS Natal Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out the Innovative concept in hospitality. It is located between Ponta Negra and Areia Preta, on Via Costeira in Natal, from 38 km from the Aluízio Alves International airport. It stands out for its elegant and modern construction and above all for the quality of its services and facilities. It is a 5 stars category Hotel Complex in European standard: exclusive environment and design, classy, comfortable, and detailed elegancy. Quality in favour to our guests in Natal, the sun city, known as the one which has the most pure air of the American continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SERHS Natal Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhs Grand Natal
SERHS Natal Grand Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing