We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sky should be cloudy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Natal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is a cloud sky. When this property was classified, the stars was obscoured by the clouds. It´s not a 5 star hotel. Not even a 3 star. Some day this hotel was good, but today is not anymore.
You could see the effects of time and bad mantenaince. The walls are stained with mold and leaks, doors are rusty and suffering from the effects of salt and sand (this hotel is close at sea shore). Compared with a REAL 5 star hotel, this one is a shame for the price. Breakfast is weak (unless you like watermelon and pineapples), with food of low or medium quality. I´ve had a good meal on japanese restaurant, but nothing compared to real and sofisticated food elsewhere. The staff is kind, but we have a problem with the sink and guess what? Had to get out (room changing) in the midlle of the night. This is annoying, especially after a busy day and the fact that you have to pack all your stuff again. The cleanliness is something between horrible and inexistent. There was a dental floss over the floor and for 2 days it continues there. Only the towels were changed.
The amenities are a complete joke. You will have cheap soap and shampoo. Nothing compared to real amenities like l´occitane and so. The location is good, but only if you have car. Public transportation is almost inexistent. And the least, but not the last: For 400 U$$ (minimum fare) you deserve better acomodations and service. This price is a real robbery. Don´t be stealed by this fare.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarceloSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 5,132 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

The place could not be better located. Its right on the beach.

The swimming pools have bars, and there is nothing better than to have a caipirinha after a bit of swimming.

The hotel does not resemble what a 5* hotel would be in Europe for instance, however the view from the balcony made it up.

Breakfast is delicious. Wide array of exotic fruits and juices and the tapioca pancake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couple1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

No way is this 5* its a bit tired but its on the beach so the use of the hotel air etc can spoil things quicker, this is a 4* in european terms. The breakfast though is very good and can be compared to 5* hotels. For the money and if you want a true 5* i would go elsewhere .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrism1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is definitevely not a 5* hotel. The service provided is average. The staff needs more training. The hotel needs seriously an investment in maintenance. Nevertheless it is well located ; at the end of ponta negra, the busy, touristic area of Natal. Hence we avoid the nuisance brought by this.

The Pro's :
- Well located
- 3 Swimming pools
- Fitness room (needs a bit of refurbishment)
- View on the sea
- Large room (apartamento luxo)
- Good selection at the breakfast.
- 4 restaurants in the hotel (pizzaria, Suhi bar, "french", Brasilian)

The con's :
- Lack of service/ attention to the needs of the customer. We booked a room with a balcony with view to the sea. There wasn't any chair or table on the balcony. We asked for it and they were suprised by our request !!!. Finally we got it but we needed to ask for it twice !
- Lack of training of the staff. They forgot your order or request.
- The building is old and needs seriously to be refurbished
- You have to pay for the drink water in the fitness room !!! There wasn't any fountain for drinking !!
- You have to pay for internet !

Room Tip: don't take the bungalow. it seems to be small and in bad state.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XavierJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent five nights at Ocean Palace in August this year. My three children loved the many pools they have in the facility speicially the whirling pool. Our room simply had the most beautiful view, facing the ocean and the "morro do careca", a sand dune. The concierge was very efficient and helped us organize day trips to both the north and south of the city along the coast. Although the hotel is by the beach, having a car helped us to visit many beaches, so I recommend you to rent a car. The breakfast at the hotel was also a great experience and we could try many local fruits and eat "tapioca" with coconut prepared to order. For my wife and I, the best thing was to be able to relax in the sun while our children played in the pool. There are two bars by the pool, and they make great cocktails. We liked both their "caipirinha" and "pina colada." There is also a childcare center, so you could leave your kids for a couple hours for a nap or a grown-up meal. We tried the restaurants in the hotel. They have a great pizza place and the kids loved it. I liked the buffet. There are also a lot of good restaurants around in a walking distance. Living in New York, we had many options to choose from in terms of beach resorts, but the trip to Natal, known for their friendly hospitality, turned to be one of the best trips we've had. We are already planning to go back to Ocean Palace next year and further explore the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I traveled with my wife and children. Excellent place. We stayed at Junior Suite which has a nice balcony with beatiful view to the ocean and integrated room for the children. It was very pleasant to stay at the beach in front of the hotel. The pools are wonderful. We loved the round hot tubs right beside the pools. Good eating options at the hotel (Japanese, French, pizza and buffet). Nice breakfast. Excellent location, not far away from a local handicraft fair and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edusis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Travelled with my wife to spend a week off during the Carnival in Natal, Brazil. We chose Ocean Palace Resort with breakfast & dinner included and we have had a positive experience. Our room at the 6th floor had a beautiful view to the sea and it was really pleasant to sleep hearing the sound of waves even with the air conditioning system working, leisure options met our expectations and the beach in front of the hotel was a kind of exclusive to the guests in such a great location. Pool and beach bar services were really nice specially because of the hotel staff (Alisson, Marcos) as well as dinners at the Japanese and French restaurants (the French restaurant has a wonderful piano player). Those restaurants count on a great wine cellar and the maitre/ sommelier (Fabio) suggestions were always good. There are only two improvement points: 1) only a single fixed option available to the dinner in each restaurant; 2) the breakfast was always a chaos due to the high number of people during the week of Carnival, but nothing that could disturb such a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Rifoles Praia Hotel & Resort
Ponta Negra
Esmeralda Praia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Aquaria Natal Hotel
Ponta Negra
Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra
Ponta Negra
Parque da Costeira
Parque da Costeira
#38 of 93 in Natal
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows

Address: Av. Sen. Dinarte Mariz | Praia de Ponta Negra, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Natal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Natal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Natal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Natal
Price Range: $109 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situado nas areais brancas da Praia de Ponta Negra, em Natal, o Ocean Palace dispoe de 14 piscinas, 5 restaurantes e um spa, alem de uma academia equipada com aparelhos de alta tecnologia. Todos os quartos oferecem uma varanda com vista.Os quartos sao espacosos, bem-iluminados e decorados com obras de arte locais e cores alegres. Dispoem de ar-condicionado, TV LCD a cabo, telefone e frigobar. Alguns tem vista para o mar, enquanto outros possuem vista para as dunas.No Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows, voce pode relaxar em uma banheira de hidromassagem rodeada por plantas, ou desfrutar de sessoes de sauna e massagem. Voce tambem pode participar das aulas de pilates. Ja as criancas tem acesso ao seu proprio clubinho.As opcoes gastronomicas incluem um restaurante nacional, cuja especialidade e a feijoada. O Le Soleil serve pratos da cozinha contemporanea e francesa, enquanto o Sunrise oferece um farto buffet de cafe-da-manha. Alem disso, tambem ha um sushi bar e uma pizzaria disponiveis.O resort dispoe de estacionamento privativo gratuito, e fica em frente ao Centro de Convencoes de Natal e a 50 km do Aeroporto Internacional Aluizio Alves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows Hotel Natal
Ocean Palace Beach Resort And Bungalows
Ocean Palace Natal
Ocean Palace Hotel Natal
Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows Natal, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing