We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Natal
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm not someone who stays in swanky hotels, but this was pretty bad..
Currently on my last of three separate stays here (not booked by choice) while working in Natal during June 2014. On one occasion, I was put in a 3rd floor room, which wasn't too bad, but pretty basic. On the other two visits, I was put in 1st and 2nd floor rooms, which were both dark, dank, damp and dirty. When I asked to change rooms, they offered similarly poor rooms. Street-facing windows barely latched shut, the smell of damp was overpowering and the bathroom and shower were pretty grotty. The Bathroom doors in these rooms were splitting and peeling with damp, and there were weird windows in the shower which open into dark, damp service shafts, and they wouldn't close properly.
Mould in the corners of one room highlighted how damp and unclean everything was, and in one room there was only one power socket. The electrics/wiring were worryingly amateur-looking (though this seems normal in Brasil) and the WiFi (when I could connect to it) barely worked.
My advice would be to avoid this place like the plague, or you might just end up catching the very same... Go to the Holiday Inn Express up the road, which I stayed in last year, at least that is fit for human inhabitants.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank wingcommanderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThalesAthalimar, Gerente geral at Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest

We apologise that we didn't satisfy you completely on this visit and we would like to inform you that we are making improvements in all the situations you have mentioned.

For us the satisfaction of our guest is our priority and we thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Right across the street from the Ponta Negra beach, this is a nice place for a conference as well as a beach vacation. The room was OK, though not very well designed- very few electrical outlets and most of those blocked by furniture, for example. Parking is in a very rough dirt lot down the block, even though there appears to be a garage underneath the hotel. I don't speak Portuguese and no one at the desk spoke enough English for me to find out the story behind that. The staff was pleasant and efficient. Food was OK, not great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhphllps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for a conference for 5 days. Great location across the street from the boardwalk and beach. Hotel also has 3 pools. Breakfast was good every day and there was always a nice selection of fresh juices. Good conference facilities but it would be nice if they had the small lapel mikes instead of the large wireless mikes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been there last week for a meeting, the hotel should have been nice but now many facilities including rooms and bathrooms are not really maintained. The hall floor is perhaps the only part regularly polished to shine, the rest is as it was, paint stains and humidity marks are left there. Food at breakfast is regular and highly repetitive. The staff has very limited English although they try to do their best to help. I had a room on the northern part with ocean view, nice. However it is located above the kitchen and, even if in the 4th floor, one was unveiled by the shouts of the personnel there starting between 5 and 6 in the morning. The beach in front of the hotel is another interesting feature, go there is you like noise and vendors and avoid it if you are looking for relax. I would hardly recommend this hotel although a friend of mine living in Brazil told me that what I am describing is the rule rather than the exception and that tourist are much better off going to any "Pousada", smaller and normally family owned and run.

Room Tip: Avoid those in the South side where kitchen noise and smell starts too early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FIR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The rooms are perfectly fine, except that they could be kept cleaner, especially the bathroom. Also, I understand there are many types of room - I was lucky to get one on the top floor, with a great view, a balcony where one could sit and eat outside, and overall my room was quite big. Air conditioning works, free wireless internet works, large TV etc.... all there (not that you'd care, with the beach 5 steps away from the front door!). The location is great: I visited many many beaches there, but the one right in front of the hotel seemed one of the cleanest and generally most pleasant. The staff seems nice, though who would know, since they don't speak a word of any language other than portoguese, so it's quite hard to figure out any type of communication... that's Brazil for you, it's the same at airports, where you'd expect some language expertise, so well... you get used to it. They do smile a lot and eventually do get you whatever help you need, so I can't complain.
The food is awful, both at breakfast as for other meals. I don't mean that it's off or anything like that, just badly cooked, oversalted etc... The breakfast was a disappointment because I expected some sort of cornucopia of exotic fruits and all that, but don't get your hopes up. Just the usual stuff, except for some exotic juices that are so acid that one HAS TO (really, as much as I love citric flavours) add a lot of sugar to them - are the fruits not ripe, or is that just how they taste? You'll never know.
But overall, who cares, the beach is just across the street!!! Whatever hotel you choose, I bet you'll have a good time in Natal!

p.s.: I do not know about the value, because my work paid for the room, and I never enquired... sorry about that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Hotel facilities are good, the outdoor part is great and you can get some privacy on the pool with a good view to the beach. But the hotel itself lacks maintenance, the top floor has a great view, but be careful or you can hurt your leg on the wood floor around the spa.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaytonFermino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Excellent location. 3 swiming pools (beach,2nd and 4th. floor. Excellent service, very good breakfast. Rooms very nice with an working air conditioning. I certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the third floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robjarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Aquaria Natal Hotel
Ponta Negra
Visual Praia Hotel
Visual Praia Hotel
#8 of 93 in Natal
1,031 reviews
Ponta Negra
Kristie Resort
Kristie Resort
#7 of 93 in Natal
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention

Address: Rua Francisco Gurgel 33 | Praia de Ponta Negra, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-050, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Natal
Price Range: $82 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention is located in the best area of ​​Natal, seafront of Ponta Negra beach, internationally recognized by the warm waters and Morro do Careca, most famous postcard of Natal. The hotel is also close to the best bars and restaurants of the city. Only in Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention you will find exclusive promotions, unique packages and special rates that we have for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing