We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent choice to hang out with friends!”
Review of Casa de Taipa

Casa de Taipa
Ranked #8 of 2,656 Restaurants in Natal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“excellent choice to hang out with friends!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The place has a great decoration, so cozy and typical of northeast Brazil!. Food was delicious, only tapiocas, but stuffed with different things! Try the ones with cane do sol and nata as well as quiejo coalho and côco. They're great!!!! Caipirinha of cashew is just excellent!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank going-around-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,453
    523
    146
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“4 Stars”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. It was a bit expensive but the service, food and drinks (especially the pineapple capifruta) were delish. I got the couscous with shrimp and it was light and had good flavors. It wasn't overwhelming and I didn't leave the place feeling too full, which is great for me. The service was nice and it was the first place i have been to in Natal that doesn't automatically add 10% gratuity which was nice to tip based on merit. I liked the decor and the atmosphere overall had a good vibe. The only thing is there a lot of mosquitos but the waiter gave me some OFF lotion for my legs which solved the problem. I am definitely going back to try some other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"THE" place for tapiocas!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you're looking for the local taste of "tapiocas" (pastry made of yuca flour and filling of choice), this is THE place to visit! interesting, low key atmospehre, good service and a great selection of tapiocas merge into a very interesting experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjancso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good good, good Service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We appreciated the food and the polite waiters. Do not miss the opportunity to visit this restaurant in Natal, maybe you need to wait a little bit during dinner but it is really worthy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The wait staff here was very attentive and helpful. Also, the atmosphere is great: local artwork, lots of plants, unique tableware, and sandy floors. The food is also tasty and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RancourMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Taipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing