We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location in beach district of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Natal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2011

the hotel is fairly new and rooms in good shape. Towels were not so good but I got better ones as I asked for them. Several eating option very nearby, also fruit store and bakery with good selection on the road behind the hotel. The beach is 3 blocks downhill as is definitely the best in town. You can use the pool facilities of Praiamar Hotel as the pool at the hotel is not very exciting. Small shopping center and cinema in walking distance. Bus stop for local buses across the road. Several places that sell souvenirs nearby.

Room Tip: the rooms out front have a view of the beach but also the noise from the traffic on Av. Roberto Frei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice average hotel in Punta Negra, the better part of Natal.
Good breakfast, good location, and good service
Web site seemed to indicate that they were located o th beach, but they are actually a few blocks from the beach. They have an arrangement with another hotel on the beach to share facilities. Boardwalk separates the other hotel o the beach, from the beach. All hotels on the boardwalk have solid walls from the boardwalk to ensure privacy; felt a little walled in.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed three nights. Rooms were similar to other Holiday Inn Express properities in the U.S. Breakfast was of average quality. The location to the beach was convenient and the stafff was friendly although it took three requests to have extra towels delivered to the room. For the price, we feel that this was a very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com
1  Thank IMaTravelinMan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Staying at the HIE Natal was PERFECT!! What a great hotel for the value, points or cash. This hotel is located in an active part of town near plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Speaking of walking, I never felt unsafe or was told that I would not be safe walking around at night or near the hotel. Hotel is located in a very respectful, clean, functional area surrounded with plenty of options for activity. Walking distance to a very beautiful beach and all of the tourist shopping one will need on a vacation.
Although the rooms may be a little “basic” from what many US travelers are used to, I felt mine was in perfect order and suited my needs without compromise. Even though I happen to receive the BEST room in the hotel, other s I saw were set up the same. Oh, and I didn’t pay 1 penny for it!!!! Nothing like priority club points, platinum level, and a little help from the awesome front desk at check in. Room 1001 if you’re looking to book! Top floor, facing the beach, and 1 of only 2 rooms with a balcony!
Staff at hotel did EVERYTHING to assist us figure out or plans for the week and even made the calls to schedule some of our tourist trips. Day one, be sure and DO THE BUGGY RIDES!!! You will probably need a beach day after to recover but you will not regret spending the money. Many options on buggy companies but I just asked the hotel who they recommended, told them to book it, and had a buggy at the front door of the hotel at 9am the next morning. This is NOT for everyone so if you can’t handle a real bumpy ride with a lot of sand, sun, and pretty much a disregard for all personal safety….don’t go! If you decide you can handle it, bring cash, sun block, your secondary camera (to avoid sand and water damage)and sunglasses (not only for sunshine but to keep possible sand out of eyes). This ride was literally in the top 3 most awesome things I have done in my life so either I live a boring life or its real cool sh#@!! BTW, Sunblock is EXPENSIVE in Brazil, no joke!! I traveled the NE down to Rio and the cheapest I saw it was $25US for basic 30spf cream. I brought extra and sold each one for $15 over what I paid to the sellers on the beach and they were still able to make money on it because it costs so much… crazy….
Food is fantastic throughout Brazil and I NEVER went hungry. The only problem is it is expensive in most spots near the hotel so if you’re on a budget, you will have to explore like we did. Find the local spots that are full of others and you’re guaranteed the food will be great and cheap. Not sure how Brazilians afford to eat in most places. I rarely ate in the same place twice because I enjoy exploring new options but even with exchange rates, a regular meal with drinks (adult drinks) for two at many restaurants translates into a minimum of $100 US per dinner nightly! Even lunch at many locations for two was equal to $50-$75 US!!!! Portions are huge; food is great, but still not worth the cost on vacation. I got in the habit of checking the menu before sitting down and doing a quick exchange calculation.
Hotel does need meager improvements but none that I feel have a major affect on its value.
1. Fitness center is a joke and unsafe and breakfast needs more diversity.
2. B-fast is Brazilian style which is great but it lacked options at this HIE. Maybe I was spoiled by the amazing b-fast at the Holiday Inn Fortaleza the week earlier but I found it to be just as lame as the US version of the HIE breakfast…weak and uninteresting.
3.Internet is weak but you’re on vacation, get out of the room!
4.Room service didn’t sweep daily and I always brought sand back with me.

Natal is a GREAT city and is all of what many report plus some. I made a stop in Fortaleza, Joao Pessoa, and Rio along with many other visits to little cities while staying in these major ones. NONE of them compare to Natal especially Fortaleza (don’t bother)! If you have never been to Brazil and are having a tough time deciding, Natal is the spot and the HIE is the place to be in the mix.

Room Tip: All good rooms with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Somtinfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Bedrooms needs some painting works
No tea in rooms except camomila ...
No French TV
You can just open the window for 10cm.
AC smells humidity in bedrooms
Breakfast only open till 10am, why not noon as there is no restaurant
Pool very small not very clear
Smoking level smell tobacco no AC in the corridor
No light in staircase
Hot water from time to time in your shower
Mini bar in room but empty
Doors are very noisy escpecialy during night time
Camera everywhere
Matress needs to be changed

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviers m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Right place, spacious and confortable room, standard breakfast, standard business facilities, nice restaurant nearby (Camaroes), and a budget price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Choose this hotel by reviews on Tripadvisor. I had a college going with me with his wife, also for the weekend.
Location is very good, close to the beach, with many options of restaurants on walk distance, and shops. With pleasant view of Morro do Careca.
Service was fast and efficient.
Rooms with nice look but quite small, had no space for the chair of working desk. Bathroom was not so clean.
Breakfast was very good, with great options.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Aquaria Natal Hotel
Ponta Negra
King's Flat Hotel Ponta Negra Beira Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Rifoles Praia Hotel & Resort
Ponta Negra
Kristie Resort
Kristie Resort
#7 of 93 in Natal
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra

Address: Av. Eng. Roberto Freire, 4014 | Ponta Negra, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59094-410, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Natal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Natal
#8 Family Hotel in Natal
Price Range: $59 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Natal Hotel. In the heart of Ponta Negra Beach, Holiday Inn Express offers the best in Natal accommodation! The Holiday Inn Express Natal Hotel offers a superb location close to the waterfront and everything great in Natal where you can explore the Ponta Negra Beach area; have a dinner at the best sea food restaurants of the city, buy our precious handicraft or just have a drink contemplating the beautiful view of Ponta Negra. We re located near the most popular Natal beaches and attractions. We re also conveniently located to Natal city centre and historical area. The Morro do Careca (Bald Man s Hill) and the Forte dos Reis Magos (Three King Fortress) are also only minutes from the hotel.If you are looking a hotel in Natal, Stay Smart, Holiday Inn Express is your best choice. Begin your day with our complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar and relax in our outdoor pool when you come home in the evening. You ll feel delighted with our incredible Atlantic Ocean view from our lobby while making your way to your brand new room, complete with the luxurious Simply Smart bed.The Holiday Inn Express Natal Hotel is also a favorite among business travelers because of its location only 15 minutes from Natal city centre and walking distance from Natal Convention Centre. Holiday Inn Express Natal Hotel offers free high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.Welcome to Natal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Natal Hotel Natal
Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing