We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to try once”
Review of Porcao Rio's - CLOSED

Porcao Rio's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $139
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An experience to try once”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Considering the fame of the place, the expectations were really high. The view outside is amazing, the service quite fast and waiters kind even in busy time. I had better meat in other Brazilian rodizio. Nice free salada buffet. Good overall experience.

Helpful?
Thank Renato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

3,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,498
    931
    457
    179
    157
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Regular meat. Expensive”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Well, let's assume you go to this restaurant to eat barbecue. This may not lead you to a good experience. The buffett is nice, with a good variety of vegetables and sea food. The japanese food is absolutely tasteless, dont waste you time there. Except for the lamb cuts, the meat is just regular and is not aligned with the high price charged. It was the first time I went there and there is a high possibility I'm not going back. The gardens and the views outside may counterweight some of the negative aspects, but it may also make you feel like you went to a trap. Disapointment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stoll77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,198 reviews
626 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but not spectacular”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I ate here twice during my visit to Rio. First visit was 2 friends and a local Brazilian who said he heard it had the best meats anywhere (he's a vegetarian). Second visit was with a large group of 30 plus people. (Crew from Henri Loyd & Clipper race.). It's a large room but not too large.

Meats are good and brought to the table each visit constantly.
Buffet is good with a wide selection do foods
Sushi buffet is quite fresh and very good with sushi, rolls and sashimi.
Desserts cost extra.

While enjoyable, I would only return with a large group/party...no waiting for food-overwhelming kitchen, etc. Kinda overwhelming for a 3 or 4 people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Meat festival!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A Brazilian colleague took us there claiming it to be famous for its bbq meat. It certainly was! The meat came in – all you can eat concept – at a decent speed and with good variation. There was a large buffet with a variety of food including roasted veggies and salad which I would suggest to use as as support for the meat. Put the juicy, well flavored though bit salty meat central here especially considering the – in my opinion – rather whopping bill of around 60 euros pro person including maybe one or two drinks. I did not moan though and being stuffed up fairly well left satisfied. Get here only with a serious appetite or negotiate a deal (don’t know if it’s possible) if you’re a veggie.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasperHofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must if you're in Rio”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is such a typical Brazilian restaurant that you need to visit it. More food than you could ever eat - good cold buffet and continuous meat brought to the table. We thought it would lack atmosphere because it is so big but actually it was great fun and good value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porcao Rio's also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing