We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 343 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Incredible hospitality from Lance et al. at CCB. Santa Teresa is a wonderfully atmospheric base for exploring the cidade maravilhosa.
Our family of four occupied Rooms 1 & 2 on the ground floor with a huge semi-private patio.
Several excellent restaurants within a 5/10 minute walk- our favorites were Sobrenatural, Espirito Santa and Rustico with Aprazivel being a more up-market option with a great view.
Strongly recommend Marco for tours- we learned so much that otherwise would have been missed.
Another must do is a bike tour with Bruno (bike.inriotours.com)
Thanks again to Lance and Sergio for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thehawk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 808 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is my second stay at CCB, this time with my three sons for a period of 6 days during the 2014 World Cup in Rio. I am delighted to report that all the positives are still there: unique neighborhood, large clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast with fresh tropical fruit, fabulously helpful service from Lance, Sergio and team. All in all a wonderful experience, so I am more than gratified to reiterate my wholeheartedly very positive recommendation from last year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojo2018zabivaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Right from the initial booking, the correspondence with CCB was very prompt; some links they emailed us to check out and get to know Santa Teresa and Rio were helpful. The service and hospitality provided by Lance, Sergio, David and their staff is exceptional. The room was clean, and comfortable, and esthetically pleasant (heavy wood, stone, greenery). There was a great variety of things at breakfast including Tea/coffee/juices,breads, meat, cheeses, fresh fruit (mango, papaya, pineapple - very juicy/ sweet were our favorite), yoghurt, cake and made to order eggs, which were perfect and fueled us for a lot of walking. Lance would get with us in the morning during breakfast, and help us organize our day. We had some great conversations with him and other guests during our stay. It is about a 20 min up and down walk from the Gloria Subway station, which we did daily (to compensate for all day grazing of brazilian snacks, and caiprinhias :). The taxis to Lapa were around 11-20 BR. Kudos to CCB, our 3 day stay was perfect, and we would definitely recommend it for "beyond the run of the mill hotel stay". Thanks so much guys! Y & S.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Smallwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lance and serge went out of their way to make our stay the best. Fantastic breakfast to cater for all tastes and couldn't do enough to organise use of any spare time we had. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with this establishment or it's beautiful surrounding. I took my 21 year daughter and we both had a marvellous time

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhill58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My brother and I stayed at CCB for nearly two weeks during the World Cup and it was an amazing experience. As mentioned in many of the reviews, Lance and Sergio were very helpful in all aspects of the trip from start to finish. I'm not sure I've ever met owners who are as engaged in the every day operations of the business.

As an added bonus and a testament to Lance, he really went the extra mile for me. When I originally booked my reservation, the bank accidentally sent two wires to CCB. Lance went out of his way to assist me in reversing one of the wires. Additionally, tragedy struck when I arrived and I lost one of my World Cup tickets. Lance connected me with a family staying in CCB who gave me a ticket to the Colombia/Uruguay game.

I can't say enough good things about CCB. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lance is very helpful with Rio trip planning and the property is attractive. We loved Santa Teresa for its local charm, especially in the evenings but it is out of the way from the other parts of Rio and takes some taxi planning. The room was large but nor overly impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicaCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

In the top 3 places I have stayed ever. Santa Teresa is the best spot in Rio with great bars and cafes we were so lucky to find it. And Casa Cool Beans is a wonderful place to stay. The setting is peaceful and our rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast on the terrace is the way to start the day. Best of all though is the hospitality of Lance, the owner and Sergio, the manager. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped us get the most out of our stay.
If we go back to Rio I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Peter Jones July 2014

Room Tip: All good but the one with the private terrace and, I think, no 7 at the top of the house are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#8 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
339 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,070 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#4 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#3 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#6 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
278 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $38 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars, safes, hair dryer and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace & complimentary use of pool towels. Just minutes walk to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. THE most central location in Santa Teresa! Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing