We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“350 Excellent Reviews Can't Be Wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 329 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“350 Excellent Reviews Can't Be Wrong!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just looking at a handful of these reviews and you know you've found something special. The rooms here are clean, spacious and decorated with funky local art. Great breakfast and cool little area on the roof to kick back on or take a dip. There are probably many places like this in Rio but as with most of these boutique B&Bs it's the owners and their team that set this place apart, super-friendly and knowledgable they are always on hand to help you to plan and book pretty much anything on offer in the city and advise you on options you'd never considered.

If you are not looking to be right on the beach in Rio and enjoy a laid back eclectic vibe then Santa Teresa is for you, think cobbled streets and live music from small street corner bars with folk spilling onto the paths, a perfect mix of locals and tourists, and there's always the more lively Lapa 5 minutes away. Good transport links to the rest of the city (R 2.75 for a bus to the Centro, 15 minutes. R 3.20 one-way on the Metro to Copacabana and others).

We absolutely loved CCB and the neighbourhood as a whole. Would stay again in a heartbeat if we return. Bravo guys.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
439
65
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a perfect place to stay, out of the way of the busy commercial beach areas, Santa Teresa is a lovely area, up on the hill, quiet, pretty and with some lovely little bars and shops. Its not far in a cab or walking/metro to copacobana/ipanema, christ the redeemer etc. Lapa is just down the hill if you want a great night out in the city, Lance recomended a samba bar and it was brilliant. The B&B is beautiful, stunning house and well presented with everything you could need, great breakfast and helpful staff. There is a rooftop pool and terrace as well. We cant fault this place! Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76Intrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lance and his team make this a memorable place. great breakfast, very good english (he's American but his team also speak perfect english, not always a given), wifi great, couldn't do enough to help, these guys achieve excellence that compelled me to write my first review. small and friendly, matched only by location. santa teresa. wow. cobbled stones, shabby chic, a bit rough and ready, totally, utterly safe, samba everywhere, utterly enchanting. all a short walk. without question for my money both casa cool beans and santa teresa are the perfect base to explore and capture the magic of Rio. very quiet but 2 minute walk to everything in santa teresa. thanks so much guys you deserve every success that comes your way. we stayed with a few international 5 star hotel chains on this trip, but yours was the best experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were in Casa Cool Beans for 4 days and had a great time ! We were picked up by an englisch spoken driver (arranged by Casa Cool Beans) and he took us to Santa Teresa. We had a very warm welcome by Lance and he took us to our room. It was a big and very clean room, great bed en good shower. Also the breakfast was excellent. All kind of eggs, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, etc. The staff is very friendly. Santa Teresa is a very nice and Bohemian neighberhood with many restaurants. The only problem is that some taxi's will not take you there because it's in the hills. But there is a Metro Station (Gloria) nearby. This Metro is very safe and clean and we took it many times. We will recomend this Casa to everyone !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Lance and his team made our short stay in Rio a fantastic experience. Not only is Casa Cool Beans a great place to stay, but it has one if the best locations for discovering Santa Teresa, a fantastic breakfast but to top it all the suggestions and advice we were given meant we made the very best of our stay. Recommended without hesitation!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Casa Cool Beans. The room, hosts (Lance and Sergio in particular), breakfast and location were all excellent. The time Lance spends with his guests in the morning is great and really very helpful. Rio can be an intimidating place and it's good to hear the tips and tricks to getting around and staying safe. I take the point of some reviewers regarding Lance almost being too full on with his assessment of the risks and dangers but better to be safe than sorry and we really appreciated his help. I would thoroughly recommend Casa Cool Beans to fellow travellers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jameschilvers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We loved CCB. This was our first trip to Rio and we wanted something more than a big hotel. And we certainly got that at CCB. Lance (one of the owners) and Sergio (the general manager) and their staff were fantastic. Lance's input and advice to each guest during breakfast as to activities/sights/transport were absolutely invaluable, even to inveterate travellers. CCB is a house in a wonderful, interesting and fun neighbourhood. The room was spacious, spotless and beautiful. The bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was delicious (the chocolate and passion fruit cake...oh my). Our stay felt comfortable all around. We were so at ease. It really was like visiting those cool friends who moved to Rio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,359 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#11 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
266 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,245 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
579 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing