We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 339 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I honestly can not say enough good things about Casa Cool Beans. Lance and David are class acts and the house is stunningly beautiful.

My girlfriend Jackie and I are a young couple and were looking for the ultimate land vacation after years of cruising around the world. We love the "off the beaten path" aspect of travel, and through tons of research, found this little nugget in the gorgeous neighborhood of Santa Teresa.

When we arrived at Casa Cool Beans after a long overnight flight, we were instantly greeted by David at the front gate. He helped us carry our bags to the lobby, and started to explain all of the features and amenities of the house. We then met Lance who offered us the chance to sit for breakfast. I thought this was very considerate since we arrived long before the normal check-in time.

Breakfast is delicious. Each day a sampling of breads, danish, cheeses and meats are placed out for people to enjoy buffet style. They also have several yogurts to choose from and will make eggs to order, with options like scambled or fried, and add-ins such as veggies and cheeses.

When breakfast was over, Lance let us know that they were working on our room and that it should be ready within 15 minutes. This was fantastic news, as Jackie and I were both needing a shower before we ventured out into Rio. Moments later, the room was ours and the owners helped us carry our luggage and get settled in.

Every morning throughout the week Lance, David or Sergio (manager) would join us at breakfast to answer any questions we had about Rio and to ensure that we had a plan for the day and knew how to get around. This is unbelievably helpful in a city like Rio, which at times, could be a little confusing to navigate. Because of the CCB team's daily tips and tricks, Jackie and I ALWAYS felt safe no matter where we went and never got lost.

The house and it's surrounding neighborhood are beautiful. Because the property is behind a locked gate that only staff and clients have access to, you can rest assured that guest safety is a #1 priority. With that said, Santa Teresa is a place where you can walk the streets day or night. There are always tourists and locals walking around and if you make a wrong turn someone will be glad to help you. This hillside town has AMAZING views of Rio and is chock-full of hole-in-the-wall bars as well as a wide range of restaurants that will meet a variety of standards and expectations.

Whether you are looking for a wild travel adventure in a great city, or you're looking for a tranquil place to read a book, Casa Cool Beans is an excellent place to call home each night. This is a team of professionals who maintain a lovely place to stay. Casa Cool Beans will NOT disappoint.

Room Tip: Room #9 - This is where we spent 6 nights. The room is quite beautiful. It has, in my opinion, the b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m_krenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Casa Cool Beans B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 791 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent four nights at Casa Cool Beans and loved it. The bed was great, the room was large, the AC kept us cool on the HOT Rio days and nights.

David and Lance (the owners) made sure every guest discovered fun things to do and how to get there each morning. Their tips were great. There is no shortage of adventures to be had in Santa Teresa and Rio. You will only be limited by the amount of energy you have. The neighborhood is safe for walking even at night which was an unexpected and fun treat. There are many festive bars and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel as well as beautiful graffiti art on the walls, not just the tagging we see in other cities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattcobleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We landed in Rio after about 20 hours of travel at 8:30 in the morning. We were tired, but it was our first day of a 3.5 week long vacation and we wanted to hit the ground running. Lance greeted us at the door, took our bags and told us they had saved breakfast for us after he showed us our room. Very thoughtful! He then spent about an hour with us giving us TONNES of information and answering our questions. Lance continued to do this every morning with us. We planned an itinerary with him and he booked things as we needed them. This made sure that we got the most out of our 3 days in Rio and didn't waste our time waiting in lines. Besides being a fantastic host, Casa Cool Beans has a great vibe and Santa Teresa was a beautiful area to stay. It was safe and not full of other tourists. We walked around A LOT and Lance helped us plan safe routes to all the places we wanted to go so we didn't have to take taxis everywhere. The B&B itself was gorgeous! The pool was so relaxing and the breakfast was delicious! We told everyone we met along our travels to stay here if they were going to Rio because we couldn't imagine a better experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed in Rio with 2 friends for 4 nights during the tail end of Carnaval and it was the perfect retreat. You get a warm welcome from Lance and David and Serge is just as helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and well air conditioned and the breakfast is lovely. The whole casa is furnished beautifully and there is a pool area where you can relax away the pains from the night before. Its also very close to the main streets of restaurants/shops in Santa Teresa and they have a guard at the door during the evenings so it is safe throughout the day. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay somewhere comfortable and beautiful in Rio!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doradylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I along with our parents stayed at Casa in late December 2012. This was our second trip to Rio, our first time we stayed at a "chain" hotel on Copacabana Beach. I highly recommend Casa as well as the Santa Teresa neighborhood. The location is off the tourist area of the beaches, it is quiet and you walk the streets with the locals and enjoy the bars and restaurants. The B&B is outstanding, we loved the rooms, pool, breakfast, the staff, all of it. We had issues with our AC one evening (very common in Brazil) and Lance compensated us for the inconvenience. We really appreciated everything about the B&B. We highly recommend for solo travelers, couples, or family, they will accomodate everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors, all rooms were clean and well appointed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLyn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I join the rest of the reviewers with praises only for the place!
We loved the district of Santa Teresa where Casa Cool Beans is located, the great sense of style everything was decorated with, the huge, yet cosy and tasteful room we had (nr 4), the good breakfast and most of all, the extremely helpful staff!
The serenity of Casa Cool Beans truely added very much to the charm of the vibrant Rio.

Thanks a lot for a great stay and good advice! We want to be back!

Room Tip: Nr 4 is a treat, with a lot os space and great view over the courtyard and the church.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikiTallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We came to Rio as part of our Honeymoon trip. Casa Cool Beans was all that we needed in Rio: welcoming owners & staff, big and comfortable rooms, complete breakfast, cool decoration all around, lovely pool (a great treat in Rio) and terrace with great views, great bohemian neighbourhood with bars and restaurants, very good service and attention to detail, great advice on what to do in Rio and how to do it. We stayed there in two occasions during our holiday. The first time we got a private airport transfer as we were arriving late in the evening which was a bit expensive, but worth it in order to be able to stay at Casa Cool Beans. If you do not have this issue you can just get a normal taxi/bus. Lance, David and Sergio will meet you in the morning and help you plan your day, which is very useful. They give you info on all you need, sightseeing, places to eat & go out, bike rentals, etc (anything!). If you arrive during the day, they always make sure they can be there to greet you and welcome you in. There is always someone in the office until 5 pm if you need any other support. We loved staying in this place as Santa Teresa is a very charming place, very different from the tall buildings at Copacabana, Ipanema or Leblon. You are also just a bus ride or a very quick taxi away form Lapa where the samba clubs, restaurants and bars are and where you can find a great Rio nightlife. It is not far from all the other must see places and if you don't want to use taxis, you can use public transport.There are lots of things to do in Rio but Casa Cool Beans is also perfect for relaxing if that's what you need. Loved the place. Rio is an expensive city but Casa Cool Beans offers incredible value for money. It is really worth it. We got one of the cheaper rooms and it was one of the best we had during our holiday: huge, greatly decorated and very clean. At some point we also had some problems with our credit cards and Lance kindly helped us to sort them out by letting us use skype to call abroad. We really cannot fault this place and we would love to come back one day. We strongly recommend Casa Cool Beans!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#7 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
303 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#74 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,052 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,422 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 339 in Rio de Janeiro
586 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#3 of 339 in Rio de Janeiro
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $40 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing