We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon in Santa Teresa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cool Beans B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Santa Teresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned in Rio De Janeiro. It was a surprise that he planned by himself. He found Casa Cool Beans online, and it sounded like just what we were looking for. He could not have been more right. Lance and Dave, the owners, were incredible. They made our stay stress free and fun from the moment we walked through the door. They took time every morning to help us plan our route for the day - from where to walk (and where not to), what tourist attractions to see (and when to see them), where (and what) to eat, and hidden treasures in the city. They even set us up with another couple to go for dinner and dancing in Lapa - it was an amazing night.
Our room was spacious, well decorated, with a boutique feel (without being pretentious). Everything was pristine, and well maintained. Breakfast each morning was incredible - made to order eggs or omelettes with fresh herbs, fresh bread and preserves, and even local fare like cashew juice (which is unbelievable if you haven't tried it) - all served on a lovely patio with views of the surrounding rooftops.
I will never forget our honeymoon, this beautiful establishment, and Lance and Dave who helped us make the most of every moment of our stay. You can feel how much love they have put into creating this little paradise. It's all in the details. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: We had room #7. It even had it's own little balcony overlooking the city, where we shared champ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    64
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
435
64
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Cool Beans in December 2012 and had a fantastic time. The hotel itself is great, the breakfasts were superb and the level of service was far beyond anything I could have expected. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Our only regret with Casa Cool Beans is that we are unable to stay longer. We are on the last 2 days of our honeymoon and this is not only the nicest place we've stayed but also the friendliest and most helpful. Lance, David, Michael and the team have helped us with everything we may have needed. They even provided us with complimentary Metro tickets for New Years Eve for Copacabana which are not easy to come by, a bottle of Champagne for the night to get started and help, advice and directions for getting there and back and staying safe on the night. The rooms are imaculate, beds very comfortable, showers are great, pool area is lovely and breakfast is pretty impressive to say the least! I could not find one fault with either the guesthouse, location or the staff. Thanks guys for an amazing end to an amazing honeymoon!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Santa Teresa is a great area to stay in if you want the "other" Rio that is more than just the beaches. Casa Cool Beans, just around the corner from the Bar Gomez (and a number of very good eating places) is well situated on a quiet side street. Once you enter the street gate, you are in another world of colourful gardens, pool, eating terrace - all you could want. Breakfast on the terrace by the pool is a event to be looked forward to. At least one of the staff is always there to answer questions about where to go and how to get there. The rooms are well appointed, decorated with original art work and the baths are state of the art. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 7 has its own private terrace which was an unexpected extra plus feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TS138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

It really has all been said before, Casa Cool Beans is a superb B&B. Late one evening I sent an e-mail enquiry to them and was most impressed to receive a reply about five minutes later. Subsequently we made a reservation and we stayed for four nights at the beginning of December 2012.

The very helpful personal advice we received from Dave, Sergio and Maiko enabled us to have a memorable stay in Rio. We joined a cruise from Rio; it was interesting that some passengers we spoke to had stayed in well known hotels in Rio (including the rather faded Grande Dame on Copacabana) and had been very disappointed. We made them very jealous by extolling the delights of Cool Beans.

When we came to leave there were difficulties getting us a taxi. Sergio went to a local bar to get us one of the taxis that were around there. Just typical of that little bit extra service that we received. We have recommended Cool Beans to several people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Casa Cool Beans is run by 2 terrific guys. They immediately immerse you in Rio's cool culture. We arrive in the evening and they sent us to a great spot/bar where we had a delicious meal and drinks. We felt as though after breakfast in the morning, if we had to return stateside it all would have been worth it. Luckily we had more time to spend in their great Casa. Thanks Lance and David for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor but this was worth writing! The rooms are clean and nice. The owners are amazing-english speaking and very helpful. They come at breakfast to help you plan otu your day. Our experience in Rio would have been totally different (and definitely not as great) if it were not for them. Finally, the breakfast was delicious-I know its just eggs/fruit but it was really really tasty! The one negative about staying here is the neighborhood is hard to access/most of the cab drivers we had could not find it even after we gave them a card wtih directions. If you dont mind that definitely stay here! We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing