We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place in Rio is just perfection!! We stayed here the first two nights in Brazil and decided to stay again before we went home! It's in the beautiful area Santa Teresa, which has lots of nice bars, great atmosphere and is safe to walk around at night. Very close to party area Lapa if you want to check out the best clubs in Rio (the owners will tell you exactly where to go). Bus stop to centro is very close. Bus takes you to the metro station which makes it easy to reach Copacabana, iPanema and basically any other area of Rio. The owners Lance and David, as well as manager Sergio are the nicest, most helpful people. They will help you plan your trip in Rio while you're having an amazing breakfast with the BEST COFFEE in the world!! This made it possible for us to see as much of Rio as was possible in only 3 days. I would advise everybody to stay here you'll be glad you did; it is worth every penny and so much more!! Thanks guys for the perfect time in Rio, hope we can visit again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JokeAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
439
66
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had the most amazing stay at Casa Cool Beans! David and Lance made me feel right at home in this sweet little oasis! Sergio welcomed me with open arms and patiently explained details about the neighborhood, beaches to check out, hot bars for a cool drink, and so much more. The warmth of the city was outdone by the warmth of the owners and staff at Casa Cool Beans! Thank you for making my short stay so happy and carefree!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First of all I have to mention Lance who was a superhero, we arrived in the late evening from our 11hour flight and were greeted by Lance who took us to our room (9) overlooking the breakfast courtyard with stunning views of Santa Teresa. We explained we were only in Rio for 3 days to see the main sights before heading off to Buzios.
Lance gave us tips on what to go to and when was the best time for everything to avoid wasting time in queues, such as early morning for Cristo Redentor and mid-afternoon for the Sugarloaf in time for sunset, booked our taxis from the hotel to all the places and gave us bus numbers for when we wanted to explore and on top of it all the egg order in the morning! (I recommend the omelette) I don't know how he kept up his energy to look after all the people staying but we definately appreciated the local information for our whirlwind visit!
The room was comfortable and a good size with plenty of storage space for longer stays. There is only a shower available in this room and it is up some stairs but it felt private.
There is a small pool with loungers which we didn't get to use this time but would've have been useful during the 39c heatwave (in spring!).
The surrounding area is safe for walking around to Bar Gomez, Mikeshaus and trendy little bars and cafes.
I would recommend getting Lance/David to arrange your taxi, with their preferred company, from the airport as some of the taxi firms aren't familiar with the winding, hilly lanes of Santa Teresa and you may go around in circles and you'll be better offer than going for the fixed price "cowboys" that harass you in the Rio arrivals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Combine a cool bohemiem quarter setting (Bar de Gomez is not to be missed) with clued up ultra friendly staff, contemporary art, beautiful airy rooms and smashing breakfast to start you up for the day. This place isn't just a little bit good, by all accounts it's brilliant. Lance took care of our schedule on a day by day (and in some cases evening) basis, suggesting alternative options depending on the day and weather with such detail, that the only thing that we really needed to concern ourselves with was how to have our eggs every morning. We stayed 4 nights, It was a fantastic up-beat start to our honeymoon, we've just got home wanting more.

Room Tip: We stayed on the pool level with our own balcony, great for listening to the city below with a sun d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artscollective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We picked CCB based on the strength of prior Trip Advisor reviews and I'm delighted to report that CCB lived up to its hype. It was important to us to get an authentici Rio experience and the neighbourhood of Santa Theresa provided just that. Its both vibrant and colourful - there is a local bar on the corner 'Bar Gomez' where everyone gathers inside and out to enjoy a couple of drinks - this was a great people watching opportunity/ soak up the local way of life after a days sightseeing (About 5 minute strol from CCB).

Back to CCB itself - What makes it so special is the individual attention given to each guest by Lance and David. Breakfast each morning (more on that later) was followed by an organising session where David or Lance would sit down and discuss potential activities/plans for the day ahead and select the best approach i.e. How to get there/ best times to visit major tourist sites (for example to expereince sugarloaf at sunset, one should arrive to queue at 4.30pm). They also provided recommendations on restaurants and tips for getting around (e.g. Never accept a 'fixed' taxi fare - always request the Metre to be used) and general helpful tips (e.g. Try a coconut on the beach as very refreshing but avoid the shrimp sold by beach vendors - all other food fine! We really enjoyed empanadas from a beach vendor during our beach days and we are in agreement that coconuts are the most refreshign drink in heat of the day!)

Breakfast deserves a mention of its own - situated poolside it involves a different fresh fruit juice every day along with miked fruit selection/yougharts/meats/breads/cheeses/cakes/Omletters to your liking i.e. With cheese/ham/tomato/coffee. Produce is as fresh as it comes being bought each morning at the local market by Lance - You might get lucky enough to try the unusual Cashew Juice, a local experience.

Everything requested n advance was arranged with no hassle - e.g. Transfers to/from the airport/ champagne was chilling in the fridge on our arrival.

Safety was always a concern in travelling to Rio but we felt so well looked after and prepared each day that this was never an issue. All in all - highly recommended for an authentic Rio experience; we had the perfect Rio stay - couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ribera, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

...and don't forget your utensils. Casa Cool Beans was our last stop after spending just over 3 weeks in Brazil. We found they prefer to have "windows" of opportunity for checking in and tell you if you miss your pre scheduled arrival time that you may have to wait for someone to check you in. Owners Lance, David and manager Sergio are extremely helpful when it comes to helping you plan what to do while you are in Rio. They know their stuff when it comes to getting you from the property to almost any where you may want to go or what to do safely,economically,smoothly with very detailed directions. The property is extremely well designed,decorated and maintained. Our room was spacious, comfortable and the water was the hottest of the 5 B&B's or hotels we visited. Wireless WiFi is available but for some reason I had a problem getting a signal. I was able to use one of their computers in the office, which is open from around 8am-10:30am.There is not a "house" computer or television even though we do not watch TV, some people do.They have a stay out of their kitchen rule so there is not a "house" microwave or one in the room to warm food or beverages you may bring back from a restaurant or market but the refrigerator is nice for keeping something cold. There is water,soda and maybe beer in the rooms also. Make sure to ask about their cancellation policy so that you are aware and understand what is what before you book. We thought it was a bit prohibitive. Since we had a late flight from GIG and check out is noon they kept our bags and allowed us to return later in the evening, relax a bit and wait for our transportation to the airport which they arranged. If you are a "needy" traveler this may not be the place for you. After breakfast (the omelet was one of the best I ever had,absolutely delicious) which is very nice, you are on you own. Do not expect someone to be there for you 24/7. You get an entry key to come and go as you please and like many properties, they do not allow outside guest. All and all our stay at Casa Cool Beans was nice. The host and staff were extremely nice to us even though after we got our hot water for tea after breakfast we had to get it from a bar down the street. I see why the reviews are so positive just remember... no outside skanks allowed and don't forget your silverware.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCLV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDCLance, Owner at Casa Cool Beans B&B, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
THANK YOU for your glowing review! We appreciate the time so many of our guests take to share their experiences! We would like to correct a couple things in your review so others are not mislead...
1) The reason we require an arrival time is so we can greet each guest personally; we find this extra touch to be appreciated by most; it is our home after all; having to figure out when one is arriving at the guesthouse is not a big deal to most our guests who like the special arrival and introduction! Most guesthouses we know here in Rio have this same policy. No one has ever had to wait! :)
2) Our office is open DAILY from 8am until 5pm. We spend as much time as each guest requires each day at our breakfast so that MOST of our guests are organized for the day, BUT if someone needs something during the day we are in the office to assist!
3) We did not understand your BYOB introduction (which normally means bring your own booze or bottle)...we stock the frigobars with beer, and Bar do Gomes and a convenience store is just one block away...open every day if you want wine, other liquor, etc. ....yes our kitchen is off limits!
4) WiFi...we have the best WiFi of ANY guesthouse or hotel in RIO! You should have let us know you could not get "on" and we could have assisted!
5) Our cancellation policy is full refund 15 days before arrival...that is FABULOUS for a small Guesthouse like us!
We hope this has been helpful!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What more could you want?

Let's get this straight. Casa Cool Beans is not a plastic high rise Hotel situated on a six lane busy road next to the beach so don't go there expecting it to be.

Instead, it is a warm, friendly, calm haven and safe environment tucked away from the busyness of Rio. Sure you need to get Taxis but you have to do so in Rio anyway. They are an inexpensive way to get around. There's also an easy bus to Centro which departs 150 yards from the front door.

Lance and Sergio were very helpful with their recommondations which were always well informed. I guess they must have the same questions from guests a few hundred times over but their answers never let you know that. They made time for everyone and I genuinely don't feel you'd be disappointed staying here.

If I go back to Rio, would I stay again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
284 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,377 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
580 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing