We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 329 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Buzios
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply awesome !!”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights in total at Casa Cool Beans and we could not have been happier. Lance and David are truly fabulous hosts for who nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beuatifully appointed and the breakfast scrumptious and Santa Teresa is an interesting part of Rio to stay in for a change from Copocabana or Ipanema. We would recommend Casa Cool Beans to absolutely everyone - it is as in my title... simply awesome !!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDCLance, Owner at Casa Cool Beans B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Dermot,

Thank you for posting our 100th review!! It has been just under one year since we took on this wonderful endeavor of opening Casa Cool Beans in Santa Teresa. We are truly blessed that we feel that our guests are "simply awesome" and we wish to thank all of you for making this past year so AWESOME!!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!

-Lance & David (& Mousse-the dog)-OWNERS
-Katia-ASSISTANT EXTRAORDINAIRE
-Sergio-MANAGER
-Aline, Joice, Sandra & Alex-STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
439
65
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip to Brazil, and it was the best part of the trip. Lance and David's suggestions on what to do around town were perfect -- it was like having our own personal travel guides! We loved the homey feeling they provided and the delicious breakfast. It's also located on a quiet street in the perfect neighborhood -- Santa Teresa. All in all, there's no better place you can stay in Rio!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here on our first night in Rio because our 'preferred' hotel was booked and got a wonderful surprise. We received one of the warmest, most hospitable welcomes that I've ever received from our host. Our room was lovely, with a beautiful view. We were given a wonderful breakfast and cocktails on our arrival. I couldn't reccommend it highly enough. Our hosts literally couldn't do enough to help us - without in any way being intrusive. Made us both feel incredibly looked after and safe. Would be a great place to stay if you're travelling alone or want some help finding your feet in rio.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Casa Cool Beans (or CCB as they call it) is a truly exceptional place to stay. ance & David are the perfect hosts, providing an incredibly well maintained, secure friendly environment and incredible tips for first-time travelers to Rio. We relied on their advice almost exclusively for our short stay in Rio and feel it was the highlight of our trip. Breakfast delicious and a great opportunity to meet others staying at CCB, chat with David and Lance and meet the friendly staff that helps them keep the place so impeccably neat.

In addition, Santa Teresa is a dream. CCB is perfectly positioned for exploring the neighborhood on foot, grabbing a taxi or bus into town or just walking down the street to Bar do Gomes for a taste of the local color.

The most amazing thing is that we visited when they had only been open for 11 months - I can't even imagine what they have in store for the future of this charming place. We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room #9 is on the top floor and has a spectacular view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Huaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Santa Teresa is the hip, happening place to stay in Rio and Casa Cool Beans is the only place to stay! We couldn't have asked for better hosts - Lance, David and Mousse (their pet dog) are amazing. They made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to meet our needs - organising trips and recommending places to eat, go out and how best to get around the city. The service is outstanding, the Casa is beautiful, the location is excellent (very safe) and I will definitely be returning to Casa Cool Beans when next in Rio. I'd give Casa Cool Beans 6 stars if I could!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a wonderful 4 night stay in Casa Cool Beans. The place sits comfortably in the charming neighborhood of Santa Teresa. As soon as we settled in our room, we fell in love with the view and the surrounding orchestra of nature (breeze, birds chirping, and church bell ringing).

Lance is an amazingly welcoming host and a smooth operator who masters the art of giving clear, helpful directions while pampering guests with top-notch, personable service. He saved us the angst of navigating the city and we never felt the need to plan with his efficient, on-point suggestions.

In less than 1 week, we already yearned to return to Rio, to Santa Teresa, and to Casa Cool Beans! We were truly impressed by every little detail during our stay and would not hesitate to return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guaguaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
593 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had the privilege of enjoying the Casa Cool Beans hospitality for three nights in mid September. Every communication from the moment of our booking seemed designed to ensure that we were able to make the most of our stay in Rio. Before departing for Brazil we received information about Santa Teresa - the restaurants, bars and other amenities; tours available and airport transfers. We took advantage of the airport transfer and pre-arranged a half-day city tour.

When we arrived, Lance and Mousse (their dog) met us at the door and we were taken to our wonderfully large room (4) on the first floor. Lance then spent what seemed to be nearly an hour going through information about Casa Cool Beans, Rio, Santa Teresa and advising on how to best achieve the objectives of our visit and how to do it safely. After this we felt confident about what to do, where to go and how to do it. Shortly afterwards a note was placed under our door with information about the bus schedule to Buzios, and a recommendation that we pre-book seats on the bus as it was a busy time in Rio due to Rock in Rio. There was even a travel agency in Copacabana noted where we could purchase the tickets as we were heading that was on our second day. All we had asked was whether it was better to take a bus or taxi to Buzios – the bus was easy, comfortable and about 20% of the cost of a taxi.

We had booked a large room which consisted of a large queen bed, cupboard, 2 night tables, a small round table and two chairs, clothes rack with nice matching hangers, then a half room divider and a second queen bed, 2 night tables, long bookcase and minibar. The bathroom was spacious with a sink, separate bath and shower plus plenty of counter space for our things (hairdryer was available on request). There was another sink just outside the bathroom. All was spotlessly clean and a delight to behold.

The common areas are similarly lovely. On the first floor is a sitting area with a large coffee table strewn with travel and other books. There is also a small reflections garden where a beautiful white orchid was blooming while we were there. On the second floor is a plunge pool and area for sunbathing and the large communal table for breakfast (this is on the open terrace but under cover). It is a testament to the hospitality at Casa Cool Beans that the guests also are very sociable to each other, making for lively and informative discussions at breakfasts and a very friendly atmosphere overall. There is no elevator, but we found the stairs very manageable (two flights is the maximum). David and Lance have the morning breakfast hours as their main contact times, however, we found that whenever they were around (which was very often during our stay) they were accessible and helpful when needed. With the good pre-arrival information and the very thorough orientation, we felt very prepared for our Rio adventure and required little additional information.

The breakfasts here are excellent. Great juice, coffee, fresh cut fruit with a good variety on offer, cereals, breads, cakes, cold cuts and eggs (cooked to order). Best of all the quality of the food was high and there was attention to presentation.

Lance organised a half day tour with Dolores which was excellent – we took a second half day tour with her the following day. Dolores offers beach buggy tours, but we preferred using regular car. By now we were used to the Brazilian prices and know that the charge was very fair. His restaurant recommendations were also spot on – our favourite was the Amazonian cuisine we enjoyed on the Espiritu Santa terrace at sunset.

Santa Teresa felt very safe to walk around both day and night. It felt bohemian rather than unsafe. Taxis to/from the beaches were reasonably priced and the location of Casa Cool Beans was easy to find for the taxis we took back to Santa Teresa.

Highly recommend for exceptional hospitality, wonderful breakfasts, lovely rooms, value for money, all in a relaxing, interesting and safe location in Rio.

Tip: when in Copacabana, pay the admission to the fort and stop at the Café Colombo and enjoy the spectacular views.

Room Tip: Room 4 was a lovely and very large room - a luxury for two people as it could easily sleep 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,359 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#11 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
266 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,245 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
579 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing