We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Giuseppe Grill Leblon
Reserve with
Giuseppe Grill Leblon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 13,740 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leblon
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just ok”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A pretty Leblon restaurant that features steaks. All three if us had the house speciality, a sirloin steak with one side included. I was the only one who had an appetizer, Caesar salad. Dressing was obviously out of a bottle. Two had orange juice. I had a single glass of a nice Argentinian wine.
Steaks were not great, way too much gristle and none of them were served as ordered. All three were almost raw. They were sent back with little effect. Sides were just ok. Baked potato fine. French fries inexpensive frozen ones. Tomato salad lame and very small.
Service was friendly and attentive, easy because the restaurant was not busy.
WORST - the bill $350 Reais ($175 US). Grossly over priced. We would not return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    296
    62
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good eating at Giuseppe”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For any ´bon gourmand´ a visit to this, Giuseppe Restaurant and Grill, is a must. Situated in the district of Leblon not far from where we were staying in Copacabana it offers the most select of fresh fish and special meat cuts which are a joy.

Very popular with locals as well as tourists it is important for you to book a table before venturing out there. The staff all speak English and are most professional. The restaurant carry an extensive list of good wines though rather expensive compared to Europe´s and other South American prices.

On arrival you are cordially greeted and seated and the ´couvert´ includes a variety of breads, black eyed bean salads and dips. For first course there´s a selection of piping hot cheese, meat, seafood pies and chorizos. The meats are juicy and tender and done to your requirement. Good ´ambience´ and an excellent night out. I fully recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“love Love LOVE”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went there during our Rio visit!! Restaurant was excellent, beef was super!! This restaurant offered it own special piranha cut and I strongly recommend it! quite expensive but value is fair!! Good variation of wine selection too :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Hsin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“My husband declared it to be the best steak he has ever had”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were promptly seated and provided an assortment of "munchies" to tide us over. The wine list was extensive but reasonable. After conferring with our server, my husband ordered the Supra Sumos Top Sirloin Cap. It was delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WandaG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you enjoy grills, you'll love this!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Giuseppe Grill is one of those restaurants that's impossible to dislike. Decor is New York warehouse style, staff are attentive, the wine list is HUGE and the menu choice is exquisite. Don't be put off by the name - although the meat selection is vast, and looked fantastic, we both went for fish, of which there is an equally large choice to enjoy. Vegetarians can also be catered for with ease. Nothing is too much trouble and the food was of a very high standard. One additional highlight - there is an exquisite fresh fish display on ice at the side of the restaurant where you can choose your own fish to eat. A nice touch, and visually appetising!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Grand_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe Grill Leblon also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Giuseppe Grill Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing