We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shrimp Fried Rice with Nuts in a Pineapple”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Opium

Opium
Ranked #472 of 13,608 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $37 - $148
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Shrimp Fried Rice with Nuts in a Pineapple”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

During a recent visit to Rio, we went to Opium with friends. For a hotel restaurant, the food is quite good - a mix of Brazilian and various Asian cuisines, with a final result closer to Brazilian cuisine. We sampled the sushi and, of the entrees, the hands down favorite was the shrimp fried rice with cashews served in a pineapple. A little expensive, but service was okay, and it was a interesting change of pace from traditional Brazilian food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    134
    58
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The only good thing in this terrible hotel”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Although the hotel and service are horrible, this Asian restaurant is actually surprisingly very good

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidafranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
382 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Fusion Fare”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

It's different from the usual Rio restaurants. So go there if you are in the mood for food with an Asian flair. It's brilliant with soft textures and subtle aromas teasing the tastebuds. We tried their sushi and shrimps and loved them both, sipping caipirinhia and looking at the bustling city life from their street level balcony. It's a great place to spend an evening in.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you want "Brasil-Asia" food, this place is for you!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I think there needs to be a new classification of fusion cuisine called "Bras-asian" to categorise the attempts made by Brasilians to create some form of Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai, Indian, Japanese cuisine that bares little resemblance to the original cuisine.

Certainly, it is not a question of access to excellent ingredients; Brasil local produce, vegetables, meats, fish are all excellent quality. And of course, you can get access to imported special ingredients; spices, asian sauces, etc albeit not as easily.

Where it falls apart is in a couple of ways: 1) Trying to all things to all men (combining cuisines from Vietnam, Thailand, China & Japan on the one menu 2) Adapting the tastes to what Brasilians have traditionally eaten and therefore losing authenticity. Very sad.

The Vietamese spring rolls were quite frankly strange in contents; I have never eaten Viet spring rolls containing LETTUCE! And rarely did it contain that abomination of pressed red and white crab meat sticks. Then smother this in sticky sweet sauce. What were you thinking? This is definitely not Vietnamese Spring Rolls as I have known. Strongly recommend the chef visit the web and refresh his memory about the true content of a Vietnamese spring rolls. Either that, or relabel as Brasil Spring Rolls. The only thing in common I could see was the paper thin rice paper. P.S. Remember to add some peanuts on the side of the sauce and or add a honey, vinegar and chilli sauce as an alternative.

We then had the Chicken in Teriyaki sauce, although I think it could have been called Teriyaki with a chicken breast. I almost felt like I was eating chicken desert it was so sweet. Hit to Chef: You dont have to smother your food in Teriyaki unless you are trying to cover something up.

The fish dish also was drowned in a similar sweet sauce. The fish itself was very good though, but again, you feel like the chef is pouring the contents of a Teriyaki sauce bottle over the top of the food, and not really understanding the fundamentals of harmonization in cooking.

Service was ok for peak hour, albeit they seem to be very busy attending to larger groups of people rather than smaller tables for 2.

It is really sad this whole Asian food experience in Rio. Brasilians are losing out to great cuisine as restaurant owners seek to somehow think they can maximum drawing power by offering a smorgasbord of cuisines. My suggestion, and this restuarant is typical of the problem, instead of offering 150+ items on the menu from 5-6 different Asian cuisines(and this restarant was trying to do cuisine from Thai, Vietnam, China, India and Japan ) and doing them badly, try doing 10-20 dishes REALLY well.

What I can say is the restuarent gives you fair warning when you read the website "Departing from the traditional.....". Not sure about the "NEW flavors and ingredients", just strange and poorly harmonized.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_R_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“they ignored us”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

arrived 8.55pm, restaurant almost empty. 9pm we placed order. by 9.45pm we left as we never got served. waitor kept assuring us alll good, but we were starving.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank russavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing