We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveler rating
634
230
59
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
230
59
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel newer hotel amazing hotel nice rooftop barra beach statue of christ room service i highly recommend this hotel restaurant staff safe neighborhood hotel guests night stay early check felt safe beach service sugar loaf conference
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 963 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Not the 5-Star as advertised. When we arrived check-in was slow (and done almost begrudgingly), and I had to ask for information about breakfast and the surrounding area. The room was ok. Everything we needed but the fixtures and fitting were old and tired, the safe barely worked. Despite this, the bed was extremely comfortable and both my husband and I slept really well.

At breakfast the selection was very good and constantly replenished. The coffee was fantastic, one of the best I’ve ever tasted. The hotel was very busy when we stayed and the breakfast room felt very much like a noisy school canteen.

The hotel is right across the road from the beach with a good beach service. There are some good restaurants within about 30-40 minutes walk and the shopping mall is a 50 minutes walk or an uber ride. The neighbourhood is quiet and felt very safe but it is far away from the main sites of Rio. The airport is a good 40 minute drive away.

Our stay wasn’t unpleasant but I wouldn’t come again particularly as the Hyatt just down the road is only £20 extra per night.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Wizzadora70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre E, Windsor Marapendi Team at Windsor Marapendi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear guest, It was a great pleasure to have you staying at Windsor Marapendi!
Thank you for your compliments and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in an early future.

Kindest Regards,
Windsor Marapendi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

Just want to congratulaste the hotel Windsor Marapendi for the excellent conditions and service, especially Phillipe.
The hotel is well located and the room had an excellent view of the beautigul Barra Beach and boardwalk.

Room tip: Remember to go to the 17th floor to enjoy the best view from the terrace.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Crode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre E, Windsor Marapendi Team at Windsor Marapendi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear guest, It was a great pleasure to have you staying at Windsor Marapendi! Thank you for your compliments and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in an early future.
Kindest Regards,
Windsor Marapendi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel.

Well outside Rio but felt safe and pleasant. Excellent facilities.

I would say that checkin and out could be better managed as very time consuming standing in queues.

There is also a weird policy of compulsorily paying a daily rate up front as a deposit per person. This was refunded for us eventually. But we werefortunate that we retained both receipts, as we were advised only one deposit was taken at checkout...

The breakfast was sooooo varied and is honestly the best I ever had (I say that as a seasoned traveller). Hotel was spotless and staff helpful. Ceiling pool was great too.

Of course, being British... tea making facilities would have made the stay perfect ;-)

I would return here as I had a great experience.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank clairabellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre E, Windsor Marapendi Team at Windsor Marapendi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Dear guest!
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Windsor Marapendi de Janeiro! Please be sure your comments are going to be on record in order to provide you a better experience on an early future.

Kindest Regards,
Windsor Marapendi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

We were a group of over 80 doctors from the UK, who had gone to Rio for a medical conference. Most of us had travelled with our families. The hotel has a number of decent well sized conference rooms, which facilitated our scientific sessions comfortably. Following two days of the conference, the travel agent organised trips to various sites of the city. Travelling was organised in luxury coaches with on board guides. Therefore, distances were never any issue.
Both check in and check outs were well organised. Food was delicious with variety of all types of delicacies at lunch and dinner. Breakfast was sumptuous and one has to be patient as it was quite crowded with hotel guests. We found out that the Chief chef is of Swiss origin, who had many culinary skills.
Rooms were decent sized with huge beds and clean modern bathrooms. We don't like showers over the bath tub.
There is a sea beach in front of the hotel, but seemed quite deserted with no real facilities. One evening my wife and I went for for walk along the pavement, which was quite pleasant. The shops and restaurants are quite far from the hotel.
There are a number of sites to visit: Folk museum Cast do Pontal, the towering statue of Christ at Coracovado (please take a rain proof jacket). The schooner trip to the tropical island was wonderful. The two staged ascent to the Sugar loaf mountains was fascinating. We had a great time at the Copacabana beach as well. The weather in October is temperate, but during our visit it rained for 2 days, which was unusual for that time of the year.
A visit to Igassu falls, which is on the border of Brazil and Argentina is a must, as it is absolutely fascinating.

Room tip: You could request for rooms with a sea view
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ForensicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre E, Marapendi Team at Windsor Marapendi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear Mr.Forensic,
Our team really appreciated your comments about your stay with us. It is nice to read such a detailed feedback. It helps us to keep offering each time an unique experience, as it is our goal.
Thanks again for choosing Windsor Marapendi and hope to have you with us in your next visit to Rio.
Team Windsor Marapendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

Very nice physically,modern fairly new hotel. Not a lot in the charm or facilities department, and place feels more like a convention center hotel than anything else (Which I think it actually is).
Room was nice altho not inspired, and Services such as air conditioning worked well as one Would expect in a newer hotel.
Staff was attentive and courteous.
Main drawback of this hotel for anyone wanting to see historical sites near the center of Rio is the location – it's quite far from the center of town, 35 to 40 minute ride in a cab.
Once you're there however you are right across the street From a nice beach,so if you're OK with just staying out there say with a young family, Location could be fine.

Only other negative to mention is that they added an additional $28 charge on our bill before we left, which even they could explain when I called them later about it! Also I either lost or had my wallet stolen there, which they were unable to find (but possible I may have dropped it somewhere in the hotel).

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank A.Nonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre E, Team Marapendi at Windsor Marapendi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

Dear guest,
Our team really appreciated your comments about your stay with us. It is very important for us to become aware of negative practices and experiences of the guests, to develop our services and service improvement.
We hope to have you with us in your next visit to Rio.
Team Windsor Marapendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews