We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
53
28
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
53
28
12
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 98 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Well I was here a few days and I must say I really liked it. I was very clean, well managed and the staff were top notch. The girl in the morning was super helpful ,the american kid at night just knew the right places to recommend and the manager was very laidback and fun to talk to..Its a peace of mind in the heart of Lapa, it has everything you want even a pizza joint next door accessible through the hostel (so Im guessing same owners). Only downfall I found was the internet dropping at random points of the night.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank Braxton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaLapaDesignHotel, Gerente de relações públicas at Da Lapa Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Hey,

This pizzeria on the side is alive, is not it? Forgot to say that you have a discount for guests. LOL! Thank you very much for your evaluation and to know that it was well attended by our staff. The internet has already been resolved.
I hope to have your visit here again!

Staff
Da Lapa Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

I was here for two nights and was lucky to be the only person in a 8 bed dorm because the hostel was not fully booked this weekend.
The location is perfect for the night - right in the middle of traditional carioca night clubs and bars.
The interior is quite unique and arty. Wlan worked well and the staff was friendly and helpful. Hostel and Breakfast was good value for money overall.
Only downside related to the location is the distance to the major attractions and beaches and lapa/downtown can be quite a sad place during the day.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank juliak788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaLapaDesignHotel, Gerente de relações públicas at Da Lapa Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Julia

You're right, Lapa is really a neighborhood in the night. In fact this is her label: Bohemia. But as far as distances from other places are concerned, we believe we are at a strategic point to get wherever we are. It has a subway at 9 minutes, bus stop at 500m and taxi service at the door, which will not charge you much to have it on a beach. Maybe I have not been properly informed of how to get around the city, which is worth it. Anyway, I hope you come back to enjoy more of the city.
Thanks!

Staff
Da Lapa Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2015

It is difficult to give a review for this place as it seems it is very much still work in progress. It is not yet complete. Construction noise begins at around 8am which makes for a noisy breakfast experience. The location is between some very lively bars and there is a lack of soundproofing so not great for sleep lovers. You can only pay by card which you are charged an extra 5% for and i was also asked to pay more on checkout due to inflation?? Some staff seem to lack training/knowledge. Some however are polite and very helpful. Rooms are big and spacious with plenty of storage and beds are very comfortable. Wifi is very good. Design of decor is very pleasing on the eye. The floors need finishing perhaps with a nice design of mosiac tile. (currently bare concrete throughout) The lobby lacks atmosphere. Perhaps a small bar area with a television and/or mood music would liven this up and make it more social. There are excellent restaurants in this area (spoiled for choice)

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven8480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaLapaDesignHotel, Gerente de relações públicas at Da Lapa Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Steve,

Too bad you had this displeasure in your payment. The Lapa Design Hotel now has a our management and no longer has this position with guests. By this, we hope to welcome you again to show you a better service.
Thanks for the review.

J.
Staff
Da Lapa Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2015

GREAT location and atmosphere! The neighborhood is filled with bars and traditional "carioca's" night clubs!
Wifi is fast and the staff very friendly!
Since the hotel is brand new, everything is clean, tidy and beautiful...
Will certainly return!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vince_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaLapaDesignHotel, Gerente de relações públicas at Da Lapa Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Ratings like yours are music to our "ears".
Thank you so much for the affection!
And we await your return eagerly.

Staff
Da Lapa Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015

Recently opened hotel so everything is in pristine conditions! Great option for those trying to escape the beaten path and explore the up and coming neighborhood of Lapa. Price was fair, definitely one of the more upscale hostels of the city. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaLapaDesignHotel, Gerente de relações públicas at Da Lapa Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Rafael,

It's been a while since our opening, but we've tried to keep everything impeccable, from the cleanliness, comfort and safety of the guests. I invite you to come back and see how our new management is doing. I am sure you will leave more satisfied yet!
Thank you for your review.

Staff
Da Lapa Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews